Customer Reviews for

Bookends

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Humerus & Touching all in one Novel!

    Jane Green has touched my heart with every novel that she writes. She is by far my favorite author. Green gives her readers exactly what they want, whether it be tears of joy or pain we are sucked in from cover to cover. "Bookends" has many lovable characters, whom we can all feel close too. From the 'Ironic' Cath to the lovable Si we feel true pleasure in wishing we all could form lasting friendships such as these. This novel not only makes you value your friends even more, but it brings in a reality that not everything is as it seems. Some things are just too good to be true, and others are surely not what you could ever have expected. If your a fan of Green's novels or any chick lit "Bookends" is a MUST read.

    Again, 2 thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book is one of the best and addicting books I have ever read. Jane Green makes the characters so inviting and realistic that you feel as though they are friends you hqve had forever. A definite must read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Jemima j, pick it up!

    Ive read most of her books and than i picked up jemima j wem goin to the beach, it had to be my absolute favorite.... funny but had life lessons as well... def recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    fun

    Just a fun easy read ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Not my favorite jane green read, but still a good one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Read and Reread.

    I picked this up in an airport several years ago, finished it before the flight landed, and was completely satisfied. Sort of made me feel warm and calmly happy. Haven't read it in years, and thought I'd give it another shot. Absolute winner again. I think it made me feel even better the second time around. I've dabbled in some other Jane Green 'Straight Talking, Babyville, etc.' but was less impressed. This one's a winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    Boring.

    I liked 'Babyville', so I figured I'd try another Jane Green book. This one was disappointing. It was very slow moving and didn't appear to have any point. The event that drove a wedge in their friendship during the early years seemed petty and lame, and not something that would affect the rest of their lives. That set the tone for the rest of the book, where the characters made huge assumptions (usually wrong) and didn't really do anything but live their average, boring lives. Not something that makes for an interesting novel. I'm about to start 'Swapping Lives' and hope to god it's better than the snooze fest I just forced myself to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Boring!

    This book was extremely boring. The only character that was even mildly interesting was Lucy. Did not like Cath at all. Si was ok but did not like the little twist at the end with his story. All in all, a big disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was my first Jane Green book and I have read it more times than I can count. It was an absolute page-turner. The characters are the kinds you get facinated with and it was a book I couldn't put down. One of my favorites, I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    my favorite

    This is my favorite book from Jane Green. I felt like the characters were real because they dealt with real issues. Definitely one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    I didn't get me

    I had a hard time getting into this book. Not sure if it was because I couldn't relate to any characters or what. I read up to the 4th chapter and was just plain board.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was my second book by Jane Green I read and like the first, it was a quick read. Though it was a little slow in the beginning, I still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    best of Jane Green I've read yet

    Although it has been quite a few years since I read Jemima J and Mr. Maybe, I can honestly say that Bookends was the best of all of Green's material I have read. Bookends was a good book to get lost in -- a great overnight or weekend read. It pairs the idea of light and airy with more serious tones to keep the reader on his or her toes while enjoying the plotline as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    fun read

    This book was fun, the characters were well drawn, the story kept me interested throughout. This would be a great book to take to the beach and get lost in it. I will read all of Jane Green's novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    hmm.

    my teacher recommended me this book alongside a few others. i read the book while on a trip to chicago this summer. i didnt really like it. i loved some characters and others i couldnt convince myself to like. everything seemed a bit out of the ordinary and sometimes even predicatble. it was an easy read but not one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Excellent Book!

    I loved this book. This was my first Jane Green book and I couldn't put it down. As soon as I read it, I went out and got Jemma J, excellent as well. Easy reading-could finish it in a few days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    couldnt put it down!

    this was the first book of hers that i have read and i could not put it down! i cant wait to get my hands on the rest of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    'Bookends' is just the start...

    I thought Bookends was terrific. I loved all of the characters, and wish there would be another book with them. After reading Bookends, I had to run to the Library and get another Jane Green book to read. She's comparable to Meauve Binchy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    A good easy read

    While I enjoyed this book I have read better. I did in fact fall in love with the honesty of the narrator and i felt as though everything that happened to her was happening to me. I would reconmend this to someone looking for a nice weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Try it, you might like it...

    I purchased this book because I have read (and loved) three of Jane Greens other books (Babyville, Jemima J, and Mr. Maybe). It took me a long time to get into the book. I kept reading a page or two at a time, then put it down and pick something else up, etc... All the while thinking in my head 'this is definitely a 2 star book'. But the last 100 - 150 pages of the book really shined through for me, and I have to say that Green has pulled out another 5 star winner. I wish she would have gotten to the point of the story sooner, but once she was there it was an excellent read with a fantastic conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5