Customer Reviews for

Bookends

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Humerus & Touching all in one Novel!

    Jane Green has touched my heart with every novel that she writes. She is by far my favorite author. Green gives her readers exactly what they want, whether it be tears of joy or pain we are sucked in from cover to cover. "Bookends" has many lovable characters, whom we can all feel close too. From the 'Ironic' Cath to the lovable Si we feel true pleasure in wishing we all could form lasting friendships such as these. This novel not only makes you value your friends even more, but it brings in a reality that not everything is as it seems. Some things are just too good to be true, and others are surely not what you could ever have expected. If your a fan of Green's novels or any chick lit "Bookends" is a MUST read.

    Again, 2 thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book is one of the best and addicting books I have ever read. Jane Green makes the characters so inviting and realistic that you feel as though they are friends you hqve had forever. A definite must read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    fun

    Just a fun easy read ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Read and Reread.

    I picked this up in an airport several years ago, finished it before the flight landed, and was completely satisfied. Sort of made me feel warm and calmly happy. Haven't read it in years, and thought I'd give it another shot. Absolute winner again. I think it made me feel even better the second time around. I've dabbled in some other Jane Green 'Straight Talking, Babyville, etc.' but was less impressed. This one's a winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was my first Jane Green book and I have read it more times than I can count. It was an absolute page-turner. The characters are the kinds you get facinated with and it was a book I couldn't put down. One of my favorites, I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    fun read

    This book was fun, the characters were well drawn, the story kept me interested throughout. This would be a great book to take to the beach and get lost in it. I will read all of Jane Green's novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Excellent Book!

    I loved this book. This was my first Jane Green book and I couldn't put it down. As soon as I read it, I went out and got Jemma J, excellent as well. Easy reading-could finish it in a few days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    couldnt put it down!

    this was the first book of hers that i have read and i could not put it down! i cant wait to get my hands on the rest of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Try it, you might like it...

    I purchased this book because I have read (and loved) three of Jane Greens other books (Babyville, Jemima J, and Mr. Maybe). It took me a long time to get into the book. I kept reading a page or two at a time, then put it down and pick something else up, etc... All the while thinking in my head 'this is definitely a 2 star book'. But the last 100 - 150 pages of the book really shined through for me, and I have to say that Green has pulled out another 5 star winner. I wish she would have gotten to the point of the story sooner, but once she was there it was an excellent read with a fantastic conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    beyond words...

    It's hard to tell you just how great this book is. The characters, the situations, the emotion...i laughed, and I cried, and I laughed some more, and then I cried some more. Wonderful book. If all of Jane's books are this wonderful then I'm in for a treat. Marvelous book, a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Just Incredibble !

    The first time I read Jemima J...I thought Jane Green was awesome !! and after her other books..I thought even better...and now 'Bookends' has it all. Love, caring, friendship, and pain...it's just another amazing book by a great author !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Great Read

    While I agree that Bookends is not as good as the author's earlier works, I still found this book to be very engaging and worthwhile. Jane Green is still the Queen of British Chick Lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Great Surprise!!

    When I came across this book, I had not heard of Jane Green but it sounded like a good read so I bought it. What a great choice! This book was wonderful and I could not put it down. It was great to read a book focusing on friendships and fulfillment of a dream. Very refreshing! I just bought all of Jane Green's other books - can't wait to read them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    Fun,Interesting,heartbreaking

    I finished it in 2 days and i absolutely loved it. The twists were amusing and at times heart wrenching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    SO GOOD

    I loved this book! Jane Green gave us another pleasant surprise of a novel! I read Jemima J and decided I had to pick up Bookends when it came out on paperback. I laughed, cried, yelled all along with Cath, Si, Josh, Portia, and Lucy. A lovable cast of characters and an amazing story. I think everyone should read this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    The best Jane Green I've read so far...

    This book is great. You will not go to sleep until you read the whole book. I love all of Jane Green's books, but I think that I love this one the most-- although Jemima J is still one of my all time faves. If you like Brit Chick books, you will love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Fantastic!

    I have read most of Jane Green's books, and must admit, 'Bookends' isn't nearly as funny as 'Mr. Maybe' and 'Jemima J', however it is just as engrossing. She has such a wonderful way of writing in the first person, and tells such wonderful stories. She's great at intertwining people's lives together, and writing in such a way that you can truly imagine the characters talking and telling you the story. This story was wonderful, and a little sad, but I couldn't put it down (as usual with her books.) I hightly recommend it to anyone who loves a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    Not Just a Book, "A Masterpiece"

    One of my most favorite books that I could never put down, is here. I loved "Bookends" by Jane Green. I was able to read an advanced copy and after I zoomed through it I wanted everyone I knew to read it, but they had to wait until it did come out... The book not only had romance and laughter, the characters were loveable. Si had me cracking up with his remarks about Barbra Walters, was it? Anyways, if you are looking for a terrific read that you won't be able to put down,read Bookends!!! I have her other two books, and I am just starting them...so far she is a kick @ss author!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    Each book gets better!

    Having read all of Jane Green's books (including ones not published in the US) I find this one to be her best. Her (Green's) character development explodes in this novel, really bringing each character to life. I am a HUGH fan of this genre and this is a fantastic read, my favorite so far!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    great for everyone

    i loved the book, its was great. i recommend it to everyone who likes a book with suspense and romance. i couldn't put the book down, i was done it in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2