Customer Reviews for

Boom!: Talking About the Sixties: What Happened, How It Shaped Today, Lessons for Tomorrow

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

'thanks for the memories'

The book was truly a fascinating adventure 'back to the future'. The adventures of the sixties was brought to life and the significant impact that this decade has had and will continue to have for quite some time. It was hard to put the book down and I found myself clo...
The book was truly a fascinating adventure 'back to the future'. The adventures of the sixties was brought to life and the significant impact that this decade has had and will continue to have for quite some time. It was hard to put the book down and I found myself closing my eyes to relive the experiences I encountered.

posted by Anonymous on December 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just ok but not the best

Jordan's Boomers How we changed the world is a much, much better read. It is in fact an exceptional "generational biography" that does not miss much. I understand volume II at 900 pages is ready to be published. Volume I covers 1946-1980. It covers a lot of things that...
Jordan's Boomers How we changed the world is a much, much better read. It is in fact an exceptional "generational biography" that does not miss much. I understand volume II at 900 pages is ready to be published. Volume I covers 1946-1980. It covers a lot of things that are definitely NOT politically correct. A much better guide to my generation..

posted by avidreader5859 on September 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Just ok but not the best

    Jordan's Boomers How we changed the world is a much, much better read. It is in fact an exceptional "generational biography" that does not miss much. I understand volume II at 900 pages is ready to be published. Volume I covers 1946-1980. It covers a lot of things that are definitely NOT politically correct. A much better guide to my generation..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    BOOM

    What a great book!I was born in 1952, so many of the events I did not pay attention to while growing up. It brought back many memories. JFK's assassination brought back tears and where I was when his death was announced. This book is a must read for anyone growing up in the 60's!! This is one book I will read again!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    'thanks for the memories'

    The book was truly a fascinating adventure 'back to the future'. The adventures of the sixties was brought to life and the significant impact that this decade has had and will continue to have for quite some time. It was hard to put the book down and I found myself closing my eyes to relive the experiences I encountered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    A Good Read

    One can read G's reveiw and understand that he does not like the Brokaw look at the subject. However, I would like to say that I thought the book was a fair look at the time period and that Brokaw really tried to bring a broad view to the table. In a lot of ways, the way the material was presented allowed one to reach some individual conclusions - not just take in all of Brokaw's ideas. Isn't that what he was trying to say anyway. I think G's comments celebrate the fact that America is a country where one can still debate even if G doesn't believe that the debate went far enough. I also see in G's review what went wrong in the 60s and what is still wrong - we cannot even speak with each other in a tone that is civil. Again, though, he is entitiled to his opinion. I really liked the part of Brokaw's book dealing with Civil Rights. I have traveled through the South and observed some of the legacies of the movement. My dad was drafted to go to Vietnam and Nixon called the draft off. But he was as good as gone before that. I was 2 and a half. I will always be a fan of the Greatest Generation book. I liked this one too. As a high school teacher, I will share some of these stories with my students.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A great recollection of life in America in the Swinging Sixties


    A great recollection of life in America in the Swinging Sixties!

    Boom is a great recollection of the Vietnam War,the death of President John F.Kennedy,and other events that shaped the Swinging Sixties in America.,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Just ok but not even close to the best

    History is the only field in which the more courses students take the dumber they become. History as it is taught in the U.S. is filled with half truths and lies. Not so, Jordan's "Boomers. How We Changed the World". NOT POLITICALLY CORRECT! Learn the truth about civil rights and what your grandmother really went through to vote: Loss of home, family, income, and sometimes death. Gay rights; where did it all start? Kennedy assassination: three gunmen and four shots. The shot that killed President John Kennedy came from in front of the limo. Vietnam: My Lai, self immolation, hundreds of thousands of people gathering and standing up to the U.S. government. How George Bush Senior helped to set up the world's largest money laundering bank: B.C.C.I. Assassinations and the hula-hoop. U.S. backed coups and the slinky. Is there any gold left in Fort Knox? Not politically correct but it is our history.
    Mid 1970's Saigon falls and the heroin epidemic subsides; coincidence?? The new source of raw opium will be Mexico as "Mexican mud", which replaces "china white". Guess where the major supplier of raw opium will come from next?
    I gave a copy of "Boomers. How We Changed the World" to each of my children and they were amazed what we lived through. After all Jordan's book begins BTV (before TV).
    Boomers. How We Changed the World really speaks out for my generation. Hell it shouts!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    I found the first half of the book to be relatively interesting. Then the book became like a text book. No way Brokaw wrote this book by himself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    A pedestrian memoir

    This was a very disappointing book considering the source material and the authority of the author. The 'interviews' come across as agenda ridden and some of the more interesting generational players are given relatively short shrift. A better title would be 'Me! How Tom Brokaw was involved in every moment with every person that mattered during the 1960s.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    '...there comes a time when the operation of the machine becomes so odious, makes you so sick at heart, that you can't take part, you can't even passively take part and you've got to put your bodies upon the gears and upon the wheels, upon all the apparatus, and you've got to make it stop, And you've got to indicate to the people who run it, the people who own it, that unless you're free the machine will be prevented from working at all.' I'm fairly sure that Tom Brokaw didn't mean anyone any harm...the point, after all, is to sell books and keep the natives from getting restless again...but it's fascinating to see how the actual 'lessons' from the decade of the sixties have been turned inside-out and/or ignored 'the word 'free' comes to mind--free speech, free love, free concerts, free medical clinic, etc.' and have been replaced by a fanciful, nonsensical bunch of fake 'lessons' that can be pawned off as 'authoritative' because Tom Brokaw's old and everyone knows his name. What is this? The fifties? Come on, guys, this mishmash of pompous, wistful, wishful pontificating is silly, badly-written, revisionist balderdash. It's gonna sell books, yes, but it's no more an accurate reflection of the sixties than GONE WITH THE WIND was an accurate reflection of the Civil War. If anything, this book is the antithesis of what happened in the sixties. Tom Brokaw was born on Maggie's Farm he spent his whole life on Maggie's Farm and he's gonna die 'comfortably' on Maggie's Farm. Sure, he dressed up in 'bellbottom trousers' every now and again and mingled with the riffraff, but the only thing he was ever allowed to report or was ever capable of reporting was what the rest of the folks back on the farm wanted to hear...and now that he's retired he's doing the same thing all over again...and the same old people back on Maggie's same old farm are eating it up all over again. Ay, yi, yi. Everywhere there's lots of piggies Living piggy lives You can see them out for dinner With their piggy wives Clutching forks and knives to eat their bacon. Tom Brokaw and I are the same age we both have a ninety-year-old mother, a cool family and lots of grandchildren we both grew up in the Midwest, had buddies who went to Vietnam, lived in San Francisco during the sixties and both wrote books that were personal reflections. I knew what questions to ask. He didn't. He made a lot of money telling people what he thinks they want to hear it cost me a lot of money to tell people the truth whether they wanna hear it or not. My book is free. His isn't. He spent forty years learning how to schmooze with the 'right' people I spent forty years learning how to write. When I ask myself who I would rather be, the answer is resoundingly me. G.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    People of the 60's

    Very interesting account of the different types of people who made the 6p's so interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    To below

    Sure

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    To death twins

    Can i be in it i will post my bio at next part

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Mark to below

    Already nakes and my di.ck is 50 in long eat it its hard core

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Jake

    Sure i do im jake and im gay

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Any guys who wanna f*ck

    I like sex...i have an open p u s s y hard b o o b s and a mouth ready for suckin

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Jake

    I like girls.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Janitor

    Thank you, sir. 'She walks out'

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Evilspy

    Givesher 100ed 100s

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Thanks for the memories!

    I graduated from high school in Ohio in 1968. I remember most of the 60's as a strobe light show...flashes of bits and pieces, and I have been at a loss to try to describe much of what I saw and felt as I lived through those times. I also remember my days at Kent State during May of 1970 the same way. Mr.Brokaw's weaving of the fabric of this period enabled me to roam through the cobwebs of my mind to find my own memories of this period that I thought I had neatly tucked away. It did bog down some in the second half of the book; however, I found the second half to be interesting in drawing lines from the events from the 60's to the events and the possible thought patterns of the current time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2