BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Boom!: Talking About the Sixties: What Happened, How It Shaped Today, Lessons for Tomorrow

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Good Read

One can read G's reveiw and understand that he does not like the Brokaw look at the subject. However, I would like to say that I thought the book was a fair look at the time period and that Brokaw really tried to bring a broad view to the table. In a lot of ways, the ...
One can read G's reveiw and understand that he does not like the Brokaw look at the subject. However, I would like to say that I thought the book was a fair look at the time period and that Brokaw really tried to bring a broad view to the table. In a lot of ways, the way the material was presented allowed one to reach some individual conclusions - not just take in all of Brokaw's ideas. Isn't that what he was trying to say anyway. I think G's comments celebrate the fact that America is a country where one can still debate even if G doesn't believe that the debate went far enough. I also see in G's review what went wrong in the 60s and what is still wrong - we cannot even speak with each other in a tone that is civil. Again, though, he is entitiled to his opinion. I really liked the part of Brokaw's book dealing with Civil Rights. I have traveled through the South and observed some of the legacies of the movement. My dad was drafted to go to Vietnam and Nixon called the draft off. But he was as good as gone before that. I was 2 and a half. I will always be a fan of the Greatest Generation book. I liked this one too. As a high school teacher, I will share some of these stories with my students.

posted by Anonymous on January 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

BOOM

What a great book!I was born in 1952, so many of the events I did not pay attention to while growing up. It brought back many memories. JFK's assassination brought back tears and where I was when his death was announced. This book is a must read for anyone growing up...
What a great book!I was born in 1952, so many of the events I did not pay attention to while growing up. It brought back many memories. JFK's assassination brought back tears and where I was when his death was announced. This book is a must read for anyone growing up in the 60's!! This is one book I will read again!!!

posted by 968655 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    BOOM

    What a great book!I was born in 1952, so many of the events I did not pay attention to while growing up. It brought back many memories. JFK's assassination brought back tears and where I was when his death was announced. This book is a must read for anyone growing up in the 60's!! This is one book I will read again!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    'thanks for the memories'

    The book was truly a fascinating adventure 'back to the future'. The adventures of the sixties was brought to life and the significant impact that this decade has had and will continue to have for quite some time. It was hard to put the book down and I found myself closing my eyes to relive the experiences I encountered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    A Good Read

    One can read G's reveiw and understand that he does not like the Brokaw look at the subject. However, I would like to say that I thought the book was a fair look at the time period and that Brokaw really tried to bring a broad view to the table. In a lot of ways, the way the material was presented allowed one to reach some individual conclusions - not just take in all of Brokaw's ideas. Isn't that what he was trying to say anyway. I think G's comments celebrate the fact that America is a country where one can still debate even if G doesn't believe that the debate went far enough. I also see in G's review what went wrong in the 60s and what is still wrong - we cannot even speak with each other in a tone that is civil. Again, though, he is entitiled to his opinion. I really liked the part of Brokaw's book dealing with Civil Rights. I have traveled through the South and observed some of the legacies of the movement. My dad was drafted to go to Vietnam and Nixon called the draft off. But he was as good as gone before that. I was 2 and a half. I will always be a fan of the Greatest Generation book. I liked this one too. As a high school teacher, I will share some of these stories with my students.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    To below

    Sure

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    To death twins

    Can i be in it i will post my bio at next part

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Mark to below

    Already nakes and my di.ck is 50 in long eat it its hard core

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Jake

    Sure i do im jake and im gay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Any guys who wanna f*ck

    I like sex...i have an open p u s s y hard b o o b s and a mouth ready for suckin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Jake

    I like girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Janitor

    Thank you, sir. 'She walks out'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Evilspy

    Givesher 100ed 100s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Just ok but not even close to the best

    History is the only field in which the more courses students take the dumber they become. History as it is taught in the U.S. is filled with half truths and lies. Not so, Jordan's "Boomers. How We Changed the World". NOT POLITICALLY CORRECT! Learn the truth about civil rights and what your grandmother really went through to vote: Loss of home, family, income, and sometimes death. Gay rights; where did it all start? Kennedy assassination: three gunmen and four shots. The shot that killed President John Kennedy came from in front of the limo. Vietnam: My Lai, self immolation, hundreds of thousands of people gathering and standing up to the U.S. government. How George Bush Senior helped to set up the world's largest money laundering bank: B.C.C.I. Assassinations and the hula-hoop. U.S. backed coups and the slinky. Is there any gold left in Fort Knox? Not politically correct but it is our history.
    Mid 1970's Saigon falls and the heroin epidemic subsides; coincidence?? The new source of raw opium will be Mexico as "Mexican mud", which replaces "china white". Guess where the major supplier of raw opium will come from next?
    I gave a copy of "Boomers. How We Changed the World" to each of my children and they were amazed what we lived through. After all Jordan's book begins BTV (before TV).
    Boomers. How We Changed the World really speaks out for my generation. Hell it shouts!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Just ok but not the best

    Jordan's Boomers How we changed the world is a much, much better read. It is in fact an exceptional "generational biography" that does not miss much. I understand volume II at 900 pages is ready to be published. Volume I covers 1946-1980. It covers a lot of things that are definitely NOT politically correct. A much better guide to my generation..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Thanks for the memories!

    I graduated from high school in Ohio in 1968. I remember most of the 60's as a strobe light show...flashes of bits and pieces, and I have been at a loss to try to describe much of what I saw and felt as I lived through those times. I also remember my days at Kent State during May of 1970 the same way. Mr.Brokaw's weaving of the fabric of this period enabled me to roam through the cobwebs of my mind to find my own memories of this period that I thought I had neatly tucked away. It did bog down some in the second half of the book; however, I found the second half to be interesting in drawing lines from the events from the 60's to the events and the possible thought patterns of the current time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    A Must-read for Boomers!

    If you were a young adult in the 60's this book is a step back in time. Brokaw examines many aspects of events, people, and philosophies that evolved from that time and influenced our culture today. He is mostly objective but does on occasion reflect his more liberal 'from-the-60's' roots and viewpoint. This was exceedingly well-researched; the writing style flows smoothly and keeps reader interest. It is definitely a must-read for Boomers and anyone who wants to understand that decade's tremendous influence on American society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    I found the first half of the book to be relatively interesting. Then the book became like a text book. No way Brokaw wrote this book by himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    The Sixties--an alternative approach

    I enjoyed reading the book, especially the portion concerning man's first voyage around the moon in 1968. As Tom Brokaw describes, that event represented the ultimate triumph for that year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    A pedestrian memoir

    This was a very disappointing book considering the source material and the authority of the author. The 'interviews' come across as agenda ridden and some of the more interesting generational players are given relatively short shrift. A better title would be 'Me! How Tom Brokaw was involved in every moment with every person that mattered during the 1960s.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    'An odd and sprawling compendium...'

    I found this book disappointing. It is a collection of anecdotes and vignettes that tiptoes across a very large part of our history without ever stopping for very long to tell us anything of substance. The author's interviews with some of the major figures of the period tend not to shed much of any light at all on what happened. The book did not tell me anything new about the decade. I fear that if a younger generation of readers comes to rely on this work for their picture of what the sixties were like, they will come away with a very shallow understanding of the decade. I hoped for much more from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2