Customer Reviews for

Boomerang: Travels in the New Third World

Average Rating 3.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

With the elections coming up this is a must. AND it's a good story.

Economics is a very intimidating, as well as, confusing subject. Most of us avoided it in school. Now it's time to catch up. Economics being ignored is ruining our lives. Boomerang will catch you without being talked down to making you feel like you are back in school. ...
Economics is a very intimidating, as well as, confusing subject. Most of us avoided it in school. Now it's time to catch up. Economics being ignored is ruining our lives. Boomerang will catch you without being talked down to making you feel like you are back in school.

Boomerang fills in the story behind the headlines. Mr. Lewis makes it palatable and fascinating.

What you don't know will cause you more hard these days than finding out.

posted by Studiothyme on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Don't Waste Your Money...

All five chapters can be found on the Vanity Fair website: I. Wall Street on the Tundra (Google: 'Wall Street on the Tundra') II. And They Invented Math (Google: 'Beware of Greeks Bearing Bonds') III. Ireland's Original Sin (Google: 'When Irish Eyes are Crying') IV. The...
All five chapters can be found on the Vanity Fair website: I. Wall Street on the Tundra (Google: 'Wall Street on the Tundra') II. And They Invented Math (Google: 'Beware of Greeks Bearing Bonds') III. Ireland's Original Sin (Google: 'When Irish Eyes are Crying') IV. The Secret Lives of Germans (Google: 'It's the Economy, Dummkopf!') V. To Fat to Fly: (Google: 'California and Bust')

posted by chelseasdad on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Don't Waste Your Money...

    All five chapters can be found on the Vanity Fair website: I. Wall Street on the Tundra (Google: 'Wall Street on the Tundra') II. And They Invented Math (Google: 'Beware of Greeks Bearing Bonds') III. Ireland's Original Sin (Google: 'When Irish Eyes are Crying') IV. The Secret Lives of Germans (Google: 'It's the Economy, Dummkopf!') V. To Fat to Fly: (Google: 'California and Bust')

    34 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    With the elections coming up this is a must. AND it's a good story.

    Economics is a very intimidating, as well as, confusing subject. Most of us avoided it in school. Now it's time to catch up. Economics being ignored is ruining our lives. Boomerang will catch you without being talked down to making you feel like you are back in school.

    Boomerang fills in the story behind the headlines. Mr. Lewis makes it palatable and fascinating.

    What you don't know will cause you more hard these days than finding out.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Excellent, Must Read

    I just finished Micheal Lewis' highly readable, informative book, Boomerang. On every page I wanted to call Mr. Lewis a liar as I knew that money managers, banks and government officials could not really be that stupid. Sadly, Mr. Lewis proves that they were really that stupid. I feel that the underlying message of this book is that we all have to wake up and be more accountable to ourselves and others. We cannot keep taking from the pot forever. One day the bill becomes due.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Crap

    Fifty pages of what you were expecting padded by one hundred pages of filler. A piece not worthy of past achievements.

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Lewis Does It Agian

    As a sports fan and economists Michael Lewis is easily one of my favorite writers. So, I'm sure my opinion is a tad biased. Still, this book is a great read. I saw one reviewer mention that you have to have a graduate degree in business or economics to comprehend the material, but I have to disagree. Lewis puts complicated stuff into an easy to read (and entertaining) format. DON'T read if your easily discomforted about the current (2008-2012+) economic situation because the book is a look at the seedy underbelly of the problems in the world.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Do not waste your money

    Has some insights, but not nothing you could not have gotten from watching tv. Drags on way too long and i found myself skipping lots of pages to get to the heart of what each chapter is about. Once there, the material was lightweight. It should have a $0.99 price tag on it.......and perhaps even that is too much. Save your money.....this is not worth reading.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Decent enough

    Good for the less knowledgeable reader. Happy i read it. Cost is high considering. I would agree that it had more entertainment with facts rather than facts with entertainment. Usually though you get too many facts or opinions and that can make the reading ponderous. So i gave it more stars because it made me want to read more rather that less.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    If this was a high school textbook...

    If this was a high school textbook I think students may actually find economics, civics and history fun and interesting. There is a lot of really good material in this book on topics still in the news today. This is highly engaging, especially the story of his visit to the Greek monastery where he portrays the people he encountered in a sympathetic light while maintaining true to the subject matter. His words show that there are lots of different motives and causes for the things happening and illustrate that what we see on the news is a little flat by comparison. It would be too easy to try to paint a lot of characters in the financial deals as bad and he manages to steer clear of that. Instead these people on all sides are given to us to examine through their own words in most cases and we can see how many times the systemic problems are more of a contributor to the pain than the personal ones.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This is an excellent book. It is very informative, contains many facts and reflects many very true amd humerous qualities of European characteristics.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Bah

    Tries so hard to be clever that he totally plotzes in germany and onnly talks about feces disappointingly a bummer

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Has me asking so what

    By the time I read this it was all old news and the outcome is still in debate as europe is not yet out of the woods. Its a good accurate and interesting read but leaves you asking zo what? The final chapter about the US situation is the best part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Good writing

    Michael Lewis is one of those writers who writes clearly about even the most confusing subjects.

    Always worth a look.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Couldn't put the book down

    Enlightening and entertaining when i wasn't terrified

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    I knew many facts that the author quoted on the book, but the wa

    I knew many facts that the author quoted on the book, but the way it put it, and by countries, the reader can come (specially generous politicians) to the conclucion: the culture of give up easy to the demand of irrational unions. I think Unions are fine, but somebody has to teach them what is chaos when society do not control itself its spending. The Clifornia case is exemplary. I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Great read

    This is a good book but reading it just gets me angry at all the greedy people who were trying to make so much money they screwed it up for everyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Not good book

    I cant believe he did thtat ..



    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Wierd summary

    Looks like bad book because of summary but i could be wrong

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Disappointed in Missouri

    Nice stories with not much in recommendations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    book review

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Very interesting

    Great book on the crisis we are going through today. Hope to see another one with the results

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6