Customer Reviews for

Boomsday

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    Offbeat political humor

    Up to Christopher Buckley's usual gold standard! The book was entertaining and employed a great cast of characters that were well fleshed out and easily imaginable. And Mr. Buckley was bang on with the finger poking of the boomer generation as well as the nod to the generation following us boomers. It does hit very close to home as to our current political mess of characters and the general loss of fiscal responsibility, lack of adherence to the constitutional rights we all possess, and back alley deals and money grubbing that's the soup du jour of the American political system today. The political satire was a pleasant and entertaining read for boomers and other generations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny and ominous

    This is not a politically correct story, but is it ever funny. As I read the various storylines, it seemed to me that much of this is coming true. Read up on "voluntary transitioning" in this book if you were born between 1946 and 1964!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Buckley Smokes Previous Books

    An extremely poignant and appropriate plot considering the Baby Boomers are feeding off of the potential wealth of a younger generation. If you're a fan of Christopher Buckley, you'll truly enjoy the read, although the ending came and went in the blink of an eye.

    For more reviews follow my blog at http://gregorywells.livejournal.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Boomsday: A New Solution (English 9 Till)

    I¿ve recently read Boomsday by Christopher Buckley for an English assignment. Being a student in high school, I¿ve learned quite a few things and experienced a new perspective a certain event of politics. However, in order to fully grasp this book, a prerequisite is needed. A general knowledge of what Social Security is and how it affects the economy of U.S. is rudiment to understand this book with ease. I¿m only a freshman in high school so I had a little confusion with the topic at first. My problem was that I did not understand Social Security well enough to recognize what the main character was fighting for (the main point of the story). On the contrary, the more I read in the book, I finally began to comprehend the meaning and get a general picture of what Social Security was. Basically, if you want more of a easy time with this book (and you are not familiar with what Social Security), you should go look up a few things about Social Security including what it is, how it affects us, and also why it is a problem.<BR/>This book has a new perspective for a solution of the domino-effect of Social Security. The main character offers an utterly radical answer to this problem that ultimately brings controversy in the book and also to the readers. I think that even though the solution is most unlikely and irrational it does, however, bring this topic to a debate¿which is the stated purpose of the book. Hopefully, if more young adults are watching closely to the news or even reading this book, they will be exposed to this future problem and learn more about it. Though many ¿conservatives¿ do not like this book (for how the novel displays them, Boomers, and politicians) it can arouse a deeper afterthought on how our economy will play out in the later years.<BR/>Ignoring the political side of the Boomsday, a hilarious storyline also takes place while intertwining the spunky (and if I may add¿quite contradictory) characters with the deeper plot. Every chapter is filled with details of the crazy life of Cassandra (the main character) and very witty conversations. From Yale to a minefield, I actually ¿LOL¿D¿ (laughed out loud) at some pages. The words that Mr. Buckley uses are quite intriguing and often make me take out a dictionary (yes, the vocabulary is somewhat difficult). <BR/>The cons of this book, however, are that some chapters are quite inappropriate for younger audiences as it suggests ¿sexual themes.¿ There is an ongoing relationship between the main character and a politician that often goes a little too far (although it is probably very common in a real life situation). Also, since I don¿t really get sarcasm, this book was a little hard for me to understand at certain times because most of the story was ¿satire.¿<BR/>Overall, I would rate this book a four star over five because it really was interesting for me to find out about Social Security and how it would affect us in the future. I think I would recommend this to my peers because, seriously, I don¿t think they would want such as catastrophic problem to just explode without knowing much about it. Although not for the serious rightist or conservatives, if you want a funny book but while pertaining to a serious topic, then this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    Fast Fun Read

    This was a funny, satarical journey with an incredibly ingenous idea on 'Voluntary Transitioning'. I really found the characters to be fully drawn out and the plot to be really quite topical considering the economic mess we're currently experiencing. Of course, having lived near DC in the 70's some things NEVER change with regards to the political machine and Buckley certainly gives you the picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1