Customer Reviews for

Boot Camp

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I feel like i got tricked

The book is short, six bucks, and only 180 pages! Nook should really telll how many pages a book has before buying

posted by 17166153 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sentence ratio is unsatisfactory

To little transitional complex sentence starters. Glad to see proper semicolon placement though! That made my day!

posted by 8947711 on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I feel like i got tricked

    The book is short, six bucks, and only 180 pages! Nook should really telll how many pages a book has before buying

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Good read

    I really liked this book bcuz every page makes u hungry for the next. I strongly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    WWASP SURVIVOR

    i love reading and find myself drawn to YA novels. However, reading this summary i stopped dead in my tracks because it hits too close to home. I read reviews about it being a great story...but sitting here at the age of 26 and having a great career, son i love, and take life day by day....i am still haunted of the day i was 14 and sent to casa by the sea in mexico for behavior modification or boot camp as many call it. So a good read some may say but it saddens me that so many people dont believe this happens all the time. Im not judging the story because i have not read it and dont know if i will be able to- i just wanted to put some things into perspective. If you dont know about these programs...i suggest you google it. WWASP - NOW THERES SOME READING MATERIAL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Yes i recommend this book its amazing journey you feel the intense feeling of boot camp

    This book is about a teen boy named Garret. he is sent to boot camp for lying, stealing , and being disrespectful to his parents. he goes in that boot camp getting abused beaten up and tortured. he goes through tough fights but some how finds a way to escape. But risking his whole life of being in boot camp he let his friends run off free to help the boot camp head people. At the end he learns that respecting and listening to his parents his the number one most important thing to do.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Sentence ratio is unsatisfactory

    To little transitional complex sentence starters. Glad to see proper semicolon placement though! That made my day!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    highly recommended!!!!

    Garret Durrell- an extremely brilliant 15-year-old- is transported by a professional kidnapper to a "fancy school" better known as Lake Harmony, a facility for the troubled youth where he is stripped out of his city clothes and into his new attire. Little did his parents know about the daily threats that awaited young Garret, he tries to keep from being "brainwashed" under the camps' and his new "fathers'" method of "training", hoping that one day he can be re-united with Sabrina, his teacher and girlfriend; which is the reason why his parents are paying four thousand dollars a month for Garret to be at this camp. During his stay in Lake Harmony, he has endured T.I and its many beatings, threats from his new "father" Joe which seem to be countless, and continual verbal abuse from his peers in his new "family". Will Garret ever learn to behave the way Lake Harmony wants him to? When will Garret snap? Will Garret attempt to escape Lake Harmony?
    I recommend this book for those who are not only willing to find out what happens but who are looking for a book full of excitement. This is the book for you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I read the book Boot Camp by Todd Strasser. I'm a 14 year old girl in the 8th grade. I would recommend this book to everyone, it would be a very good class read.
    The book was placed in upstate New York at a hidden facility called Lake Harmony; it's a boot camp for troubled teens. The author really makes you feel like you're witnessing what cruel actions are happening. The main character is a 15 year old named Garrett. His character is very intelligent, can decide right from wrong, he thinks about his options, and ways around what the officers expect at Lake Harmony.
    The book is mainly telling a teenagers side based on dishonesty, distrust, and the torture he received for standing up for what was right and his beliefs. Todd Strasser is a very good author and I look forward to reading more of his books. He is definitely now a favorite author of mine. You will not regret reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read!!

    A story straight from the headlines!! I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in learning about the real stories behind boot camps and wilderness survival camps. Headlines came when the WASP organization in real life abused children for money. This is a fictional story based on that real life tradegy. Check it:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    A Great Read

    This book was a real thrill seeker for me. It was a great read. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    I recently have read Boot Camp by Todd Strausser and I have to a

    I recently have read Boot Camp by Todd Strausser and I have to admit I honestly was eager to keep reading. Throughout the book it seemed like I was watching a movie while I was reading from how vivid and lively Strausser wrote. I was finding myself somewhat excited to find out what was going to happen next, as well as how I found myself wanted to read which isn’t normally how I am. I truly believe this might be my new favorite book that I would recommend reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Jared

    Walks in.zues cabin?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    James H.

    I hate reading with all my life and yet I had to do a book project for school. My teacher gave me this book to read and I actualy liked it. I guess what im trying to say overall its a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Jason

    Poked his head in "hello"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Sam

    ((A Big cabin with Greek (Duh) columns made of marble. The inside has a statue of Zeus and the ceiling is the sky and changes with the strongest occupants mood...Um Idk what else.))
    She sets her stuff down on a bunk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    ZEUS CABIN

    First child of zeus o fome here chooses how it is built.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Bootcamp

    So far tge book by Htodd strasser Bootcamp is great.I like the book because it gives alot if details and makes you picture something in yiure head no matter what.I also like the book because nothing you expect to happen happens.I am reading
    this book because my brother recommeded it to me I am 41% through the book.This is a must get book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    J

    F

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Great book!

    This book was amazing! I couldn't put the book down. I stayed up all night trying to finish it... lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Brittany miner

    This was a great book and i like the ending of the book as well. It would have bern even better if todd strasser wrote a second book about Garret after he gets out of boot camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4