Customer Reviews for

Bootstrapper: From Broke to Badass on a Northern Michigan Farm

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a remarkable memoir. It is a story of survival and self

    This is a remarkable memoir. It is a story of survival and self awareness. I highly recommend this book filled with great humor and stories of valor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Great Read and inspirational for women!

    Great Read and inspirational for women!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was ready for a memoir and there is just something about memoi

    I was ready for a memoir and there is just something about memoirs by everyday people that makes them feel more real and closer to home. Mardi and her husband are in the process of divorcing and, instead of taking the easy way and selling the farm, Mardi decides she wants to hold onto the way of life she envisioned for herself and her sons.


    She wants to keep the farm, teach her sons how to do farm chores that include both growing food in the ground and taking care of animals, and continue on as she always dreamed. But a lot of stuff gets in her way. Animals come and go, they die in accidents, to be used as food and are attacked by other animals. She juggles debts and falls behind and does things over and over to make their meager finances stretch a little further. Having a lot of unexpected squash in a field, she devises recipes to use it for meal after meal. Day old bread, dented cans, eggs from a neighboring farm, all sorts of cuts of meat from a hog they raised to be butchered (belly bacon anyone?) all keep her family fed.


    Through all the ups and down, and there are quite a few roadblocks and downs along her year long journey, Mardi keeps her spirits up, or her "dobbers" as her family saying goes and keeps moving forward. Found firewood, Goodwill shopping sprees, contest winning zucchini for bread gift cards, electric blankets and pecking chickens all come together to make both Mardi and her three sons stronger and more resilient people. Through all the bad that comes at her, Mardi maintains the hope and belief that they will preserver and come through better on the other side.


    I very much enjoyed hearing Mardi's journey from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    This book is a fast-paced, funny, sad read. I read it in two day

    This book is a fast-paced, funny, sad read. I read it in two days. The focus of the story--survive on little but remain calm, offers hope.
    The boys in the story are a highlite in Mardi Jo's daily struggle. I would recommend this book as stocking stuffers for my gal pals who need encouragement and a few laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    The best!

    I love this book. It was funny, enlightening, and heartbreaking. Just how a good life should be. Mardi Jo's writing style is warm, humorous and honest. You will, thoroughly enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Wonderful Book

    I loved this book. Tough woman learned to stand on her own in a difficult time. I felt bad for her, and angry for her during the divorce cycle- but jumped a bit to the happy ending. I recommend this to any other Michiganders to read, specially Michigan women! Glad Ms. Link wrote this book to share her expierences with us readers. Glad she found her soul mate too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Bootstrapper is a fascinating memoir about survival under the mo

    Bootstrapper is a fascinating memoir about survival under the most dire of circumstances. And in the end it is a story of triumph of the human spirit. Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1