Customer Reviews for

Borderline (Anna Pigeon Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anna Pigeon Rides Again!

Although I love all of Anna Pigeon's adventures in the various national parks, this one was close to my heart because of the Texas setting. The story is exciting, with as many twists and turns as the Rio Grande itself. The only bone I have to pick with Nevada Barr is ...
Although I love all of Anna Pigeon's adventures in the various national parks, this one was close to my heart because of the Texas setting. The story is exciting, with as many twists and turns as the Rio Grande itself. The only bone I have to pick with Nevada Barr is her lack of research into how Child Protective Services in Texas is set up. The glaring errors in terminology and how the agency works was VERY distracting to me since I actually work for CPS in Texas! But overall, this book on CD definitely kept me entertained as I traveled (across Texas, no less!)and made my trip much more enjoyable.

posted by ColeBC on June 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Barr's "Borderline" IS Borderline Between Good and Banal

I always look forward to a new Navada Barr and another encounter with Ranger Anna Pigeon. In her latest offering, "Borderline," I was disappointed. The book is set on the border between the United States and Mexico and brings together Pigeon, her too-good-to-be-true h...
I always look forward to a new Navada Barr and another encounter with Ranger Anna Pigeon. In her latest offering, "Borderline," I was disappointed. The book is set on the border between the United States and Mexico and brings together Pigeon, her too-good-to-be-true husband, a too-psychotic-to-be-true politician, her too-old-to-be-so-besotted bodyguard and several other characters in a plot that is so outre as to be "offbeat" but not in a good way. Oh yeah, there is also a baby whose birth leads Pigeon to discover a maternal instinct just when she needs her killer instinct most. And I almost forgot the college students who should have gone to Cancun for spring break rather than on a white water rafting trip with Pigeon and her husband. The book raised interesting points about life along the border with Mexico, and the descriptions of the scenery and of the physical suffering of Pigeon and the other characters were, as usual, stunning and excruciating, repectively. This book, however, was not up to Barr's usual standards.

posted by TennesseeHill on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    Anna Pigeon Rides Again!

    Although I love all of Anna Pigeon's adventures in the various national parks, this one was close to my heart because of the Texas setting. The story is exciting, with as many twists and turns as the Rio Grande itself. The only bone I have to pick with Nevada Barr is her lack of research into how Child Protective Services in Texas is set up. The glaring errors in terminology and how the agency works was VERY distracting to me since I actually work for CPS in Texas! But overall, this book on CD definitely kept me entertained as I traveled (across Texas, no less!)and made my trip much more enjoyable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    One of her best

    This was one of the best Anna Pigeon stories. It wasn't as gory as some and it showed a softer side of Anna. This one I had trouble putting down.
    Great setting, brought in some current political issues without forcing an opinion and interesting charachters

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For mystery buffs, good reading with sensational background of our national parks. Believable action sequences are paired with just enough introspection to keep plot moving.

    "Our heroine", Anna Pigeon has developed over the years as she moves from one national park to another. The plot device of her annual moves strikes a slightly unbelievable note, but it sure allows the writer to incorporate the scenery into the action. I would like to visit most of these parks someday instead of just experiencing them vicariously. I will NEVER go white-water rafting (too chicken) and this is the next-best thing. Throwing in murder and general mayhem and the rescue of an emaciated cow makes for an exciting read. Nevada Barr was once a park ranger herself, and uses this first-hand knowledge of the system to provide an authentic framework for her novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Barr's "Borderline" IS Borderline Between Good and Banal

    I always look forward to a new Navada Barr and another encounter with Ranger Anna Pigeon. In her latest offering, "Borderline," I was disappointed. The book is set on the border between the United States and Mexico and brings together Pigeon, her too-good-to-be-true husband, a too-psychotic-to-be-true politician, her too-old-to-be-so-besotted bodyguard and several other characters in a plot that is so outre as to be "offbeat" but not in a good way. Oh yeah, there is also a baby whose birth leads Pigeon to discover a maternal instinct just when she needs her killer instinct most. And I almost forgot the college students who should have gone to Cancun for spring break rather than on a white water rafting trip with Pigeon and her husband. The book raised interesting points about life along the border with Mexico, and the descriptions of the scenery and of the physical suffering of Pigeon and the other characters were, as usual, stunning and excruciating, repectively. This book, however, was not up to Barr's usual standards.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Edge-of-Your-Seat Book by Nevada Barr

    Nevada Barr returns with another exciting Anna Pigeon mystery. This book was compelling from beginning to end and was less graphic than the previous four books in the series. The premise was interesting, if not original. The writing was tight and kept me turning pages late into the night. I hope she keeps writing more like this one because it was a great escape. Definitely worth your time to read it if you like a well-written story that hooks you from the first page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Borderline(Anna Pigeon Series #15)

    I have read all of the Anna Pigeon series and this one is not one of her best. I would have liked the background of the the characters other than Anna developed a bit more. I always like the settings of the books and learning about National Parks and I couldn't get the feel for this Park because the main characters weren't as connected to the Park or at least they didn't seem to be. It was worth the read however and I always enjoy a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Dark but Good

    While this is the darkest story about Anna Pigeon I have read, it was still a really good read. It is about time Anna showed the kind of emotional and psychological weaknesses that normal people would experience after close brushes with death. In the previous books, she was robotic in her ho-hum attitude after taking a life or having come so close to death. I like it. Anna is human after all. Stephanie Clanahan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Windclan borders

    Leader: none yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Jack

    * hops out of a tree with a bow in Links face * bye bye Link * whosh the arrow shot her in the face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Rain

    Hey link!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    FORESt

    Jsk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Typical great Nevada Barr

    After reading her books since she started, I continue to be impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Easy read. Good mystery.

    Anna was presented as always - strong willed, resourceful and cunning, when needed. The addition of infant care shows a side of Anna not seen in her previous adventures. Not a great book but a fun entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Sorry...this was a very poor read for me.

    This was the first book I have read by this author and I have to say I will not read another. I picked this one because I have been to Big Bend many times and thought this might be an interesting read. It was not. There are just too many good authors "out there" with excellent books. I went from this book to reading Laura Hildebrands "Unbroken" and then "The Killer of Little Shephards" and was blown away by both books. "Borderline" was not even borderline in good writing or reading...
    .............deward O benton

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    More Upbeat for a Change

    I am a big fan of Nevada Barr, but the last few books have seen Anna Pigeon sinker deeper into darkness. This "Deliverance" type story of a raft trip seems to finally be delivering a note of hope for Anna to overcome her inner turmoil, which is most welcome. As always the setting is spectacular, the story compelling and the writing masterful. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    A Great Anytime Read

    I love Nevada Barr mysteries because they never let you down, and this one is no exception. As ususal Anna Pigeon, a national park ranger and one of Barr's re-occurring detectives, is in one of our country's great national parks where she gets involved in a murder that she must solve. Barr's descriptions of the national park locations and their unique attractions really add to the color of the books. I have visited some of the parks and enjoyed the parks even more looking for the sites of the books and the other park attractions I've read about in her books. In addition, Barr's choice of supporting characters and their development is always interesting. I find many of the characters are the type of people I know in my life. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an exciting read. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!!

    I enjoy Nevada Barr's insight into the works of the National Park System. This work had all the elements of the intricacies of the national system of border problems. It was also a good interplay of personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    A little dark

    I found this book slightly depressing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Texas setting

    Interesting setting along the Rio Grande and in Big Ben National Park. Hard at first to link all the characters together, but it makes sense by the time you're a third of the way into the book. Texas characters are not favorably characterized, the mayor of Houston and her entourage, in particular. Some interesting reflection of border tensions and racial stereotyping in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing... one of the very few books I won't finish

    First of all, this is the first book i'v read by nevada barr. when i bought it i bought it off of where it says "other people who bought this book also bought this..." when I was buying another book. I read the description and thought I would try a new author. I didn't realize that I was stepping into the 15th book of a series. that kinda ruined it for me. this also isn't the "type" of book I would normally read. well basically i didn't find this book appealing once i started it. it was REALLY slow to start getting anywhere. I would realize that I had read several paragraphs and wasn't even paying attention and then had to go back and reread them. Once things started getting interesting (and I use that word loosly) they got, how to put this correctly, disturbing. I didn't find it very nice that I was reading about Anna performing a c-section on a dead woman (with all the goary details) at night right before I went to sleep. I guess I'm just disappointed in this book, it sounded so promising. Oh well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4