Customer Reviews for

The Borgia Betrayal

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Jess

    Hi I-ohhh....you ok?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Herb

    Herb blinked, silent. He finally opened his mouth. "It's not like I have another choice, right?" He didn't mean to put as much bitterness as he did into his voice. "I'm sorry," he said, softer, almost a whisper. "It's just easier right now to stay away from you." The words hurt him, but he knew the truth. "I'll see you later.." Herb turned and stuff his hands into his pockets, walking away from the river and into the trees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intrigue and History

    Wow! I hadn't read the book before this (Poison), but that didn't impair my enjoyment of this novel one bit...It's an interesting look at what is, quite possibly, the strangest/most controversial family in Europe's history.

    The main character is just as intriguing as the family itself...So much to say and so easy to give away bits of the plot, I'll just say that if you enjoy suspense and historical fiction, or even have the slightest bit of love for anything Borgia-related, then pick up a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Loved it

    This is a fantastic series full of action, adventure, and the perfect amount of romance. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great does not do justice

    Following Poison, another great book of historical fiction, this work shows what historical fiction should be about - great characters, wit, and great research, Cannot wait for the third book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Great Sequel

    I loved this book. I hope there is a 3rd coming. This book is for readers who enjoy a deep plot without too many characters to make it confusing or meaningless. I love historical fiction and this book has enough realistic events to keep the story real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Just as good as the first book!

    I really enjoyed reading both this book and the first book in the series, "Poison". I borrowed the first book, Poison, from the library and liked it so much that I took a chance and bought The Borgia Betrayal in paperback to add to my library collection and I do not regret it. After reading Poison I was interested in seeing how the relationships of Francesca with Rocco, Cesar and David continued to develop and I hope to learn even more with the next book in the series. I won't say anything else because I don't want to spoil anything. This is one series that is very refreshing for me because when I start to read the book I honestly have no idea which direction the story is going to take or what is going to happen. The writing style is a little slower than a lot of the books I have been reading lately (paranormal/vamps/werewolves) and I found that I was getting used to reading fast paced books that jump from one event to another fairly quickly. The difference for me was like going from watching an action movie to watching Pride and Prejudice, both movies are good but the vibes are different. Even though this book for me was a little slower in comparison, I appreciate the fact that it forced me to slow down and be drawn into the story. The sexual references are a tad more descriptive in this book when compared to Poison (I think there were only one or two mentioned in Poison, there is probably around 4 or so in Borgia Betrayal), but the descriptions are very short and not too detailed, something like a paragraph in length. I wouldn't compare it to a romance novel by any means but you will know what is going on and how it happened. So, if your like me and need a change of pace or if you already enjoy this genre then don't hesitate to try out the Poisoner Mysteries Series. I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The sequel to Poison continues the deadly fascinating escapades of Francesca at the beginning of the Renaissance

    In 1493 Alexander VI has sat on Saint Peter's chair for a year though there are plenty of adversaries and rivals who want him removed preferably dispatched to hell. His employee Francesca the Poisoner continues her vigil to keep the formerly named Rodrigo Borgia alive as the Pope. Francesca owes it to her late murdered father.

    However, her killing rivals have left her suffering nightmares and visits from ghoulish phantoms of those she has murdered. Her only solace is her affair with her boss' son Cesare. Alexander's other son Juan protects the priest who Francesca owes a death debt to.

    The sequel to Poison continues the deadly fascinating escapades of Francesca at the beginning of the Renaissance as her life is totally intertwined with the Borgia family. Although attempts to use fifteenth century dialect adds a sense of time and place, the speech patterns feels forced and slows down the pace. Still fascinatingly feisty Francesca is a great character as she poisons the enemies of her employer, her lover and herself though she waits impatiently to provide her form of justice to the priest and perhaps to his host.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1