BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Borgias: Two Novels in One Volume

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I just finished reading The Borgias by Jean Plaidy. In truth, Jean Plaidy is Victoria Holt, and honestly I would never have read this book had I known that. However, I have read other Plaidy books and enjoyed them. This is the sad story of Lucrezia Borgia, the Borgia daughter who was ruled over by Pope Alexander (Borgia) and her brothers (particularly the brutal Cesare Borgia). Poor Lucrezia, how she got her bad reputation is anyone's guess. She is portrayed as a fragile beauty who inspires men to treason and murder. She is almost a spectator to her own life-falling in love and then losing her lovers to death either by the hand of her jealous brother Cesare or her wicked father. I finished this book in 3 days, which is a testament to the writing and story plot. Lucrezia's tragic life is told with feeling and empathy and there were parts where I cried. I highly recommend this if you like Plaidy's other stories and are intrigued by the goings on in the Borgia family.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Great Read

    If you enjoy a good story of intrigue, incest, murder and mayhem mixed with history this book is for you. You get two books about one of the most notorious families in both world history and the history of the Papacy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Historical Fiction Lovers - Highly Recommend

    I could not put this book down. It was a fascinating read about the characters I had heard of, but knew little about. So much intrigue and betrayal. Jean Plaidy kept the plots simple and easy to follow. I would definitely read this author's books again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Carrie to jaz

    Can i be rachel? Please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Jaz

    Hi, everyone! Welcome to Camp Half-Blood! I will be Chiron as of now(I may step down if my life is too hectic, on account of which we would have a vote on who would be next Chiron), but we need campers, saytrs, nymphs, and Rachel, of course. I will advertise for all of the above things, as well as gods, in the next few days. But first, I have a few basic rules.
    1.) No godmodding. Doing so will result in your being kicked out of camp.
    2.) Please don't make up prophecies or come to camp being fatally wounded for attention. Once in a while is okay, drama is good once in a while, but don't be an attention hog.
    3.) No swearing or cussing. Even with the <_> cheat or whatever it is. Swearing tends to make many people uncomfortable.
    4.) Once we have enough campers, we will have a vote on two leaders. Anyone can nominate anyone, and it is perfectly fine to remain anonymous. For characters such as Chiron or Rachel, if someone chooses not to play that character anymore, we will have another vote with the same rules as above. However, no one needs to play that part even if they win the vote.
    5.) Once you join, please write a bio in the second result.
    6.) Powers are fine, but only ones related to your godly parentage. Nothing completely over-the-top unless it relates to that parent. Once I saw a bio of someone who said they could summon the blessing of Ares at will, which, of course, is impossible. Don't be that guy.
    7.) No daughters or sons of Titans, please, and no people claiming to be full-fledged gods named Julia or anything like that unless one of the camp leaders gives you permission.
    8.) Only a camp leader, Chiron, or someone given permission can accept someone as a full-fledged camper.
    9.) You MUST USE GOOD GRAMMAR. I can't stress this enough. This is accepted: So-and-so looked at the stars; I looked at the stars. Not this: *walks in* Hey guys!
    10.) Use your name in your post, please. Some people don't have headlines.
    11.) I have to have another rule about powers now. You can't use magic, not unless you're a child of Hecate, but even then it would only be a little. Teleporting is not a demigod power. There is shadow travel, but only creatures of the Underworld can do that, and it drains them. You can't just say, "I shadow-travel in front of him and punch him." Summoning skeletons drains Nico. Please be realistic. There are no exceptions. Poseidon's children control water. Apollo kids are healers. Athena kids are strategists. That's it. No extras.
    12.) No. Patrons. I'm getting tired of saying this. You have one parent. You only have the powers given to you by that parent. No "My dad is Hephaestus but my patrons are Nike and Khione" or anything like that. No exceptions.
    13.) If your character violates any of these rules, please change your bio.
    14.) I reserve the right as camp leader to dismiss any camper who does not follow these rules.
    ~Jasmine
    **Chiron**

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    CAMP AT

    RELICS ALL RESES

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Tracy

    She carried Willow in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    To Chiron ONLY

    May i please be a god? I heard that u were looking for some gods. If so, I would prefer to be either Poseidon or Hades.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Andrew

    Good it was probly something i ate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Skylar

    She nodded your free to go. *she walked out humming the song she just sang*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    My crush is.........

    Tink...i love her ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    My crush is............ .........

    King and Seth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    CAMP AT

    RELICS ALL RES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Jasmine

    Hi everyone! Welcome to Camp Half-Blood! I will be Chiron as of now. I may step down if my life is too hetic, on account of which we would have a vote on who would be next Chiron, but we need campers, satyrs, nymphs, and Rachel; of course, I will advertise for all of the above, as well as gods, in the next few days. But first, here are a few basic rules. 1.) No godmodding. Doing so will result in your being kicked out of camp. 2.) Please don't come to camp being fatally wounded for attention. Once in a while is okay; drama is good once in a whild, but don't be an attention hog. 3.) No swearing or cussing. Even with the chat or whatever it is. Swearing tends to make some people uncomfortable. 4.) Once we have enough campers, we will have a vote on two leaders. Anyone can nominate anyone, and it is perfectly fine to remain anonymous. For characters such as Chiron and Rachel, if someone chooses not to play that character anymore, we will have another vote with the same rules as above. However, no one needs to play that part even if they win the vote. 5.) Once you join, please write a bio in the second result. 6.) Powers are fine, but only ones related to your godly parentage. Nothing completely over the top unless it relates to that parent. Once I saw a bio of someone who said they could summon the blessing of Ares at will, which, of course, is impossible. Don't be that person. 7.) No daughters or sons of Titans, please, and no people claiming to be fully-fledged gods named Julia or anything like that unless one of the camp leaders gives you permission.8.) Only a camp leader, Chiron, or someone given permission can accept someone as a full-fledged camper. 9.) That's it, really. Have fun! ~Jasmine**Chiron**

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1