BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Born Blue

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    Gritty Look At Realistic Issues

    Nolan creates Janie, a character that lives day to day without knowing where she will be next. Her voice is her salvation in a world of sex, drugs, and rock and roll. The language and content is definitely for older teens, and her dialect is something to get used to...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    I love this book. I would definitely recommend this. Fast and gr

    I love this book. I would definitely recommend this. Fast and gripping read. I found it to have a few inappropriate parts and story line. Overall one of my favorite books. One of the books you wish had a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Born blue

    This is the best book i have read i love the meaning of the book and how true it is. I read this book when i was in high school and as an adult now i still love reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Wonderful story

    Born Blue was a book about a girl overcoming many obstacles. Her mother had abandoned her because drugs were more important to her. Janie was passed around from one foster home to another. She eventually changed her name to Leshaya, because Janie was a white girl's name, this reminded her of her mother. Leshaya had a passion for singing. Her ispirations were Odetta and Aretha. She never felt wanted or loved by anyone. Leshaya was doing drugs and got pregnant. She did fall back in the shadow of her mother because of her drug use and abandoning her child. This was the one person that she never wanted to be like. It was pretty much inevitable because of her rough childhood. She has never had people to giude her and show her right from wrong. At the end of the book, Leshaya sees her mother on her death bed. She finds out about her mother's past, and that she wasn't an addict all her life. Finding her mom again, and learning something about her was a way that gave her a little part of herself back. Many people would be able to relate to this story, who have gone through a lot in their life. It's not just about loneliness or finding yourself, but also about the passions you have that keep you going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    Born Blue

    In Born Blue, Han Nolan takes us on an adventure of a little girl name Janie who grows up to be Leshaya, a young lady with big dreams. The story begins with Janie 7, living with her music lover best friend Harmon in a foster home with Patsy and Pete near Mobile, Alabama. She almost drowns at the age of four because of her mother's negligence. Her mother, Mama Linda, is a heroin addict. Janie receives a sweet social worker name Doris, who goes to church. Janie and Harmon loved the tapes of blue and jazz female artists like Etta James and Billie Holiday. Etta James was Janie's absolute favorite. She loved and wanted to be her when she was older. When she went to church with Doris, she was able found her voice. And after Harmon got adopted, singing became her passion, the only thing no one could ever take from her.

    Mama Linda kidnaps her from the Patsy and Pete's when Janie was seven. Mama Linda traded her off to Mitch and Shell, a drug dealing couple, for as much heroin as she wanted. When she was with Mitch and Shell in Birmingham was when she took on the name of Leshaya. And then after that, a series of events happened that took her on a eye opening heart felt journey. Her drug-dealing guardians gave her a nice home and a pretty good education. But they got arrested. She then steals money from the home and runs away to Tuscaloosa to reunite with Harmon. Harmon and his adoptive parents take her in. But things go bad with them and she steals some of their prize possessions. Then she falls in love with a band member and loses her virginity to a stranger and get pregnant. Haves the baby and then pushes the baby on Harmon. Then she runs away again and lives with a songwriter/guitarist and records an album. Things don't turn out good again and she runs away. But back to Mama Linda, who is now dying of AIDS. That's when she starts to become more humble and more thoughtful of what had happened in both her's and her's mother life. Then she tries to go back and 'save' her daughter from the cycle of her and her mother's history. But she leaves her with Harmon, thinking that her life would be better with him instead of her.

    I liked this book for many reasons. As a young adult, it's nice to read about other young adult's experiences. I recommend this book to readers of the age 14 and older. Even though the book was fiction, it told a story with painful events but still quite enjoyable at the end. Many lesson were taught in this book, such as hanging around the wrong crowds, breaking away and learning from the past, burning bridges, trust, and love. I think most of it all helped with finding herself. At the end she was able to put her daughter's best interest first and find her own personal identity. She learned that in the past she brunt many bridges with people. She hurt people who cared about her the most and used them. She hung out with the wrong crowds and became a heroin addict herself. But she became meek after staying with her mother and when she passed and made a decision to leave her daughter. Then was when she was able to move on and strive to become the famous singer she was born to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    i liked it

    I really liked it but it was hard to get use to the slang or the accent she used...the girl was actually really rude in my eyes but it was great to see her percpective...it was very different than most of the books i've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    EYE OPENING!

    It made me appreciate my family and friends more. This is my first Han Nolan read, and I definitley plan on reading his others. The only reason I did not give the book 5 stars is because of the way it ended. (If you read it, you know what I'm talking about.) But it truly is a blunt, spit in your face, tell it like it REALLY is kind of book. It does not 'sugar coat' a thing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    A Great Story !!!

    Janie,the daughter of a heroine addict,was placed into a foster home after her mother left her unattended at the beach and she nearly drowned. Until the age of six she lives in the foster home she calls ¿The stinky Place¿. Her best friend Harmon is addopted from the home leaving her by herself. I recommend this book to any one who likes story about tragedy and triumph. It is a great book. Once you pick it up you wont be able to put it down. If you want to find out what happens to Janie you need to get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    nice book

    i like books that talk about true things... such as drugs, teens having hard times, and making mistakes but having it all fit together somewhere down the line... and this is how that book is... its very inspiring! and kinda sad at the end...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    Born Blue Makes A Girl See How Good She Really Has It.

    I recently read Born Blue, by Han Nolan, and I am so glad I did. I don't usually read books that are about the bad things in life, but this one isn't all that bad, it just makes you think. I didn't want to put the book down! I just wanted to finish it. I did get a little confused about the way Leshaya talks, but the author added voice throughout the book that way. I loved this book! I read it in a time when I was mad at my mom, and realized that my mom isn't all that bad, and that some people have it worse then I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1