Customer Reviews for

Born & Bred

Average Rating 3
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

F

I thought it was a grand book. Well written, the characters are interesting and charming. I am looking forward to the next book in the trilogy.

posted by lindianajones on December 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

It was....

After reading the first few pages I decided to stop reading. There were too many cuss words and hard too follow.

posted by 16966721 on December 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    It was....

    After reading the first few pages I decided to stop reading. There were too many cuss words and hard too follow.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    270 pages

    This 270 page book is in Ireland, around the Belfast area. The editing is pretty good. This book is filled with the Irish mafia, drug abuse, drug sales, extreme violence, alcholism, child abuse, proverty, preists and the Cathlic faith. Almost every sentence has a curse word, of which f#%k is the favorite. Prostitution is a subject of choice and sport of habit. The Irish brougue and slang are written into the conversations, making them hard to follow. There is a huge cast of characters. This is a very dark and bloody book. It is rooster lit. I made myself finish this book. I wanted to stop at page 54. I was really angry, when I discovered this dull, boring and poorly written book was a cliffhanger. It just stops. To make matters worse, the author writes a few words at the end, which seem to mock the reader with the ending. I will not be reading other books by this author, because quite frankly my dear, I don't give a damn.

    AD

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2015

    Well-written, well-edited, rather dark story of Irish heritage...

    Subject matter may be disturbing to some readers, with violence, drugs, and sexual matters that color the story with dark hues. The author adds an interesting perspective of some of the ancestors who have already died into the story, though, which actually brightens and gives some hope.

    I'm not sure yet whether I'll continue the story in the sequels... There is enough darkness in real life...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2015

    Wonderful story!

    A nice tale of coming of age 40 years ago in Dublin. Being of Irish decent, I was more than a little interested in the outcome of the characterscters. Murphy was able to paint a picture of the years during the Troubles. I truly cared about the young hero.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Re born and bred

    Ok story and interesting Irish history,so I gave it 3 stars. I just dont get the people who downgrade a book because they have a language hangup. What is there is appropriate to the story and not excessive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    F

    I thought it was a grand book. Well written, the characters are interesting and charming.

    I am looking forward to the next book in the trilogy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Un-necessary Foul Language

    Started to read it, but the "F" bomb interfered with the story by page 10. No obvious reason why the F## had to be used in the context of the text.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    I was afraid this story would have the usual stereotyping of the

    I was afraid this story would have the usual stereotyping of the Irish culture. .  .there is some, but it rings true and is not gratuitous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2015

    The beginning of the book was too violent and illogical for me.

    The beginning of the book was too violent and illogical for me.  I dreaded sitting down to read it, but I persevered and did enjoy the ending.
    The technique of putting flashbacks in the middle of the action made it a little hard to get into the book, but I didn't really mind it and
    found it an interesting way to tell the story.  I didn't really like any of the characters and many of their actions made no sense to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    OK

    If you like biographies, you'll like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Loved It

    Great characters and interesting story. I am looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Interesting but slow read

    The character development was good but it just took too long to get to the point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    good story jmm44

    Tells of how this young man got involved with drugs & booze without actually "looking" for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Book ok, but offered too many times as free friday

    The book is ok, variations on a theme read many times before. Unfortunately, BN, in keeping with this thought, has offered this book as free friday option 2 weeks in a row.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    Reeert

    Ukiiuyyttreq

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2