Customer Reviews for

Born Confused

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    totally me!

    Anybody want to figure me out this is the book to read I mean it's me from start to finish (well not the ending but you get the picture). I mean I am so totally an ABCD (American born confused desi) that it's not even funny. the parents are even exactly like mine! my mother is constantly complaining about my weight and my father is always telling me I can do better. and even though I'm engaged to someone of a different race their still trying to get me married off to someone of my own culture. Anyway good read and if you're indian (asian indian that is) and you were born in the U.S. and you need to find out exactly who you are and what you are this is the book to read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    the things you need to know about this book (good and bad):

    1.) as ignorant americans,it gives you an insight to other cultures 2.)it starts off tad bit slow, but does pick up 3.) may get you into trouble because you will be staying up late to read this 4.)gives you hope (eventhough that sounds cheesy) 5.)tells you what a real drag queen looks like DRAG QUEEN POWA!!! 6.)will blow your mind 7.) no includes a dull moment 8.) some of the terms may be hard to read (in which case..learn to read) 9.) everyone and anyone will have something in common with a character 10) proves that we're all human BAN RACIAL LABELS!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Confuzzled

    Please post here if you know where Lilywolf is! I she is in a Clan, please also mention where that Clan is located. Thanks, and may StarClan light your path. ~Confuzzled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Nightcrystal

    Lilywolf is in horseclan, at cat dance result one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I received ARC to provide an honest review of this book. This

    I received ARC to provide an honest review of this book.

    This is a solid coming of age book; growing up, fitting in and finding yourself. Nothing new there except the focus in this book is an Indian family. We follow Dimple Lala through her journey of not being Indian or American enough. Like most teens, she is pulled in several directions at once but this story is told with humor and an interesting twist. Although the book is rather long, it is a fast read that will keep you entertained. There is something that everyone in any culture can relate to in this story and it should be a must read for teens, if it isn’t already. I know that I have suggested this book to my friends with teens and pre-teens so that hopefully they will realize they are not alone in how they feel. I wish that I could have read this book when I was their ages, but better late than never.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Endearing Coming of Age Tale

    Growing up is difficult enough, but try it while being part of a family with strong ethnic beliefs and practices while trying to fit into the American culture! Dimple doesn't feel like an American, but she doesn't feel like an Indian either, in fact, she doesn’t seem to fit in anywhere! Sweet and sometimes overly naïve, Dimple measures herself against her best friend, Gwyn, the epitome of what Dimple thinks is the American ideal, fair, thin and tall, beautiful and bubbly, the polar opposite to her dark, short and full-figured self. A camera buff, Dimple falls into the role of Gwyn’s foil, her personal groupie and fangirl as she is swallowed up in all that is Gwyn. Struggling between being what her traditional parents want and what she wants, Dimple fights with insecurity magnified by feeling different, all while being desperate to find the real Dimple.

    Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier is a wonderful tool for learning about those who make up the melting pot that is the United States. Filled with humorous moments, dramatic moments and some truly painful glimpses of being a teen, Dimple’s tale goes beyond race, beyond culture and straight to your heart. Watching Dimple begin to blossom in her own right is like watching the first flowers of spring break through the last of the frozen snow as she learns to appreciate the wealth of knowledge from both of her countries.
    Highly recommended for high school reading!


    I received this ARC edition from Push in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Re-Issue of a Solid Middle Grade Book I would like to thank NetG

    Re-Issue of a Solid Middle Grade Book
    I would like to thank NetGalley and Push for granting me the opportunity to read ebook in exchange for an honest review. Though I received this e-book for free that in no way impacts my review. I give this book 3.5 stars, but only 3 stars in review (as only whole numbers are accepted) until I see if the typographical errors are corrected in the finished copy from Push.


    <blockquote>Tanuja Desai Hidier's fantastically acclaimed cross-cultural debut comes to PUSH!

    Dimple Lala doesn't know what to think. Her parents are from India, and she's spent her whole life resisting their traditions. Then suddenly she gets to high school and everything Indian is trendy. To make matters worse, her parents arrange for her to meet a &quot;suitable boy.&quot; Of course it doesn't go well -- until Dimple goes to a club and finds him spinning a magical web . Suddenly the suitable boy is suitable because of his sheer unsuitability. Complications ensue. This is a funny, thoughtful story about finding your heart, finding your culture, and finding your place in America.</blockquote>



    What I like About This Story:

    This is a lovely story about figuring out who you are, or at least the first solid steps, since we continually evolve throughout our lives. Dimple's best friend is her opposite in most ways. Gwyn is tall, thin, with blond hair and blue eyes. She is the American ideal. And to top it off she has the personality to match, outgoing, bubbly, open, engaging, effervescent. In short Dimple thinks Gwyn is incandescent, the bees-knees, the sunshine under which she flourishes. Dimple considers herself to be a wallflower, as she never seems to know what to say, or what to wear for that matter. It doesn't help her already stunted self-esteem that she has womanly curves. Not slightly curves, but all-out hourglass curves. And when she looks around she sees white girls that are tall and thin, thin, thin. So she is constantly comparing herself to Gwyn and others like her and coming up short, so to speak. She doesn't feel like an American, but she doesn't feel like an Indian either, so she feels as if there is no place she fits.

    Dimple is sweet and wholesome. Her character is so naive that it's to the point of almost being too over the top. But she has a good heart. Once her blinders start coming off she becomes an even more enjoyable character. It takes her looking outside her own messy feelings to get the beginning of a grasp on the similarities between all people, regardless of ethnicity, body type, skin/hair/eye color - underneath we all have a heart, a pair of lungs, muscles, teeth, bones, etc. Even Dimple's cousin and parents show insecurities that sail right over her oblivious head. 

    On the surface Gwyn is a good foil for Dimple, demonstrating that no matter what your exterior looks like you can still feel you are never _fill in the blank_ enough. Yet each girl is so wrapped up in their own internal insecurities they are blind to the fact that everyone else is going through the same thing at some level. Neither girl recognizes that they are envious of one another. Eventually things come to a head and the two girls finally let out some of their frustration, anger, and accumulated slights that they attribute to the other. This serves to illustrate how bad it is to keep your feelings bottled up, yet it also shows that you will survive airing things out with the party causing them, even if it means risking permanent damage to the relationship.

    Karsh, Kavita, and Zara Thustra (who can resist a character named after part of the title of a Friedrich Neitzchie book?), are all great characters. Each help Dimple find herself in one manner or another. And each is also flawed to some degree, some more than others.

    A series of events happen that make Dimple finally look around, really pay attention to the world and people in her sphere. This in turn leads to a cascade of mini-epiphanies almost daily, and with each one another piece of her life falls into a more comfortable relationship with the rest of her. Suddenly she discovers connections where she'd never before noticed them, opening up her eyes to her own personal growth as well as the growth of those around her. Growth and changes that are not solely limited to her age group either.


    What Didn't Work For Me:

    While I loved Dimple's devotion to Gwyn, I felt that the relationship was very unbalanced. It frequently felt as if Gwyn was simply taking advantage of Dimple - &quot;borrowing&quot; and of her clothes that she liked, doing the same with Dimple's jewelry, even going so far as to try to appropriate her very culture and 'be more Indian.' It often seemed that is was all about Gwyn, and she only contacted Dimple when she needed something. Though this behavior is explained, somewhat, that still didn't seem to justify her treatment of such a loyal friend.

    Conversely I wanted Dimple to wake up and smell the coffee. It astounded me how she let Gwyn walk all over her. If she did get frustrated she stuffed it down deep and went right back to basking in the glow that was Gwyn. Dimple was clearly partly to blame for Gwyn's treatment of her.

    Although Karsh was wonderful I was a wee bit disappointed that the story was set up so that Dimple's happiness hinged on &quot;getting her man.&quot; That's not to say she didn't grow by leaps and bounds in other ways, but giving another person so much power over her happiness seemed to defeat the purpose.

    My final pet peeve was two-fold: the frequent use of non-English words that were  not explained or made clear by the context they were used in, and the tremendous amount of typos. One can only hope the typos are restricted to the ebook and not the print version. Plus, this is an advance release copy, so hopefully all the typographical errors will be cleaned up before the release of the final product.


    Overall Impression:

    A wonderful, meaningful story about coming to terms with growing up. The fact that the lessons weren't restricted to just one age group or ethnicity was a very nice bonus, as it helped demonstrate that we all struggle with many of the same

    issues. They may not be exactly the same, but odds of finding someone who isn't going through the same thing, or went through it, are slim to none. There are some sections where Ms. Tanuja Desai Hidier crafted some remarkable phrases, creating absolutely vivid images that made the entire book come to life. One such example is as follows -

    <blockquote>History wasn't that easy a thing to learn, seemed to be what I was learning. It wasn't a static story about dead people. It was a revolving door fraught with ghosts still straining to tell their version and turn your head, multifaceted and blinding as a cut diamond.</blockquote>


    All in all I found this to be a great teaching book, without feeling like you are being preached to or deliberately taught any lessons. I would certainly recommend this book for high school libraries (not middle school due to some discussions about sex, as well as underage drinking and an incident of drug use).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Molly

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Boo

    Come on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Kova

    'Crazy girl' res 4 ^~^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Lunas

    I gtgtb. Goodnight. =_=

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Brooke

    Hahaa good name!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Disywhisper

    What an ugly hairless kit

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    S

    Snaketail screeches as a kit slides into the moss. He is hairless.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Hopeheart

    She gave her friend a higg.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Hollyleaf

    Meow

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Dovetail

    Dovetail padded into the den, her thick fur hung at her skinny form raggedly. She sighed and sat away from every.one "everyone hates me" she muttered looking at her paws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Fy

    "Pfh......"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Fernre

    Iidii kmamye. She hisseback in Russian. She padded back to the clan and to result twenty four.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6