Customer Reviews for

Born Confused

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    totally me!

    Anybody want to figure me out this is the book to read I mean it's me from start to finish (well not the ending but you get the picture). I mean I am so totally an ABCD (American born confused desi) that it's not even funny. the parents are even exactly like mine! my mother is constantly complaining about my weight and my father is always telling me I can do better. and even though I'm engaged to someone of a different race their still trying to get me married off to someone of my own culture. Anyway good read and if you're indian (asian indian that is) and you were born in the U.S. and you need to find out exactly who you are and what you are this is the book to read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    the things you need to know about this book (good and bad):

    1.) as ignorant americans,it gives you an insight to other cultures 2.)it starts off tad bit slow, but does pick up 3.) may get you into trouble because you will be staying up late to read this 4.)gives you hope (eventhough that sounds cheesy) 5.)tells you what a real drag queen looks like DRAG QUEEN POWA!!! 6.)will blow your mind 7.) no includes a dull moment 8.) some of the terms may be hard to read (in which case..learn to read) 9.) everyone and anyone will have something in common with a character 10) proves that we're all human BAN RACIAL LABELS!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I received ARC to provide an honest review of this book. This

    I received ARC to provide an honest review of this book.

    This is a solid coming of age book; growing up, fitting in and finding yourself. Nothing new there except the focus in this book is an Indian family. We follow Dimple Lala through her journey of not being Indian or American enough. Like most teens, she is pulled in several directions at once but this story is told with humor and an interesting twist. Although the book is rather long, it is a fast read that will keep you entertained. There is something that everyone in any culture can relate to in this story and it should be a must read for teens, if it isn’t already. I know that I have suggested this book to my friends with teens and pre-teens so that hopefully they will realize they are not alone in how they feel. I wish that I could have read this book when I was their ages, but better late than never.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Molly

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Kova

    'Crazy girl' res 4 ^~^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Lunas

    I gtgtb. Goodnight. =_=

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Brooke

    Hahaa good name!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Hopeheart

    She gave her friend a higg.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Hollyleaf

    Meow

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Dovetail

    Dovetail padded into the den, her thick fur hung at her skinny form raggedly. She sighed and sat away from every.one "everyone hates me" she muttered looking at her paws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Fy

    "Pfh......"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Fernre

    Iidii kmamye. She hisseback in Russian. She padded back to the clan and to result twenty four.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    I was completly immersed in this book! I felt like I knew the charcters and the story was very well written. It was sad, funny, and clever. It had a very good moral. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautuiful, hilarious, well-written book

    I loved reading this book. It had so much depth and substance that anyone can relate to it. Dimple Lala is a teenage girl confused about her culture and who she is as a person. She feels she isnt Indian enough or American enough. She learns through her photography and her family that she just needs to be herself and that she defines the person she is, not her heritage. From her cousin, her best friend Gwyn, the "suitable boy", to her crazy parents, everyone has great influence on Dimple. i promise you will fly through this 500 page book. i didnt want it to end, but it left me feeling satisfied.

    This book was written in an interesting way. and it was sooo funny. lol i couldnt stop laughing. i think i even laughed out loud on the train one morning, and u know what, i didnt care what anyone else though. at one point i cried too. its just that incredible. you have to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    Can't think of enough good words!

    No matter what you're looking for in this book, you'll find it. Beautiful language, relatable story, amazing characters . . . I adore this book. It's fascinating; I could never read it too many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great for everyone!

    I really loved this book. It was serious but at the same time very funny. It's good for anyone who has ever felt unsure about who they were. Even if you haven't, it's still a great read. It's one of those books that really makes you feel close to the characters. While reading it I found myself upset about her problems. You can't go wrong with a book like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    For anyone that is from a diffent culture but just wants to be American.

    This book was so amazing, it just braks your heart then patches it back together. It involves just about every subject that comes to my mind- love, jealousy, gays, supposedly 'Bff's'. It's just an amazing book you will fly through it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    The 1st reason that i got this book was that it just looked interesting. It took me awhile to read but once i started i could not stop. This book has everythin, love, jealousy, culture, and an insight to life. The characters are so vivid and real. I love this book and recommend it to everyone. I read this book in the 8th grade and the experiences that the character had in this book helped me transfer from junior high to highschool because even though this book is fictional it has showed me that everything will always turn out alright. And that my parents are always going to embaress me but i love them anyways (you have to read the book to find out why!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    BEST FLIPPING BOOK EVER

    this book was so amazing. so true so everyone can relate. JUST READ IT AND YOU WILL UNDERSTAND

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4