Customer Reviews for

Born Of Fire

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Loved Born of Fire!

Another fantastic book written by the amazing author Heather McCorkle. If you want to be taken into a magical world then read this book. Her writing voice is amazing. I recommend thi book along with her books. by the way I love the cover!

posted by Artistadonna on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

24 pages dont waste money

This is not a story. Merely an introduction. Writing skill is minimal. 99 cents is way more than it is worth.

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Loved Born of Fire!

    Another fantastic book written by the amazing author Heather McCorkle.
    If you want to be taken into a magical world then read this book. Her writing voice is amazing.
    I recommend thi book along with her books. by the way I love the cover!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    (I won a copy of this book! Thanks to Giselle at Xpresso reads,

    (I won a copy of this book! Thanks to Giselle at Xpresso reads, and Heather McCorkal!)
    This book is a short story split into two halves. The first half tells the story of Shannon and Kevan, a pair of warrior druids from Ireland. Shannon is heavily pregnant, and Kevan is worried that someone wants to harm the baby, as there is a prophecy surrounding him. Shannon and Kevan pack their car and try to leave before they are found, but are chased and run off the road, and then killed, as Shannon is giving birth to the baby – Aidan.

    The second half of the story is set 16 years later, and gives an insight into Aidan’s life following his parent’s death. Aidan’s life is anything but ideal, as he suffers at the hands of his adoptive father.

    This short story is just a little taste of Aidan’s story, which is continued in ‘The secret of spruce knoll’. The opening story about his parent’s death is intense and moving, and makes you want to know more about Aidan and the prophecy surrounding him.
    I don’t usually like short stories, but I think that this is probably a nice start and worth reading if you are interested in the series.
    7 out of 10.
    (Book length: 411 Kindle Locations)

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I read this short before finishing the Secret of Spruce Knoll, t

    I read this short before finishing the Secret of Spruce Knoll, the novel that started the Channeler series. And all I can say is WOW! I am so thrilled about the story. And I can't wait to jump into the series. The characters are intriguing, the plot fast moving. Great start. Can't wait for more.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    24 pages dont waste money

    This is not a story. Merely an introduction. Writing skill is minimal. 99 cents is way more than it is worth.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I picked up this little beauty for free and I'm SO glad I did!

    I picked up this little beauty for free and I'm SO glad I did!

    Blurb from Goodreads:
    The story of the night Aiden was born has never been told, until now. Fleeing the Hunters, Kevan and Shannon O'Reilly find their way to Spruce Knoll Colorado, assuming they'll be safe in America. Their unborn son is special, even for a druid, or a channeler as the American's like to call their kind. But why the Hunters, people who are sworn to keep their kind safe, are after them is a mystery. All they know is that if they don't outrun them they'll be killed.
    Trouble has followed them to Spruce Knoll and just when it seems it may be too late, they discover the true reason why.

    I just finished To Ride a Puca last week and loved it. So I thought I would throw myself into this novella last night to get a taste of what the other Channeler novels are like and, WOW, I am so glad I did. I loved this short look into the channelers! It totally made me want to pick up the next one in the series. There was just not enough to this novella and it has me biting at the bit to see what happens next!

    The cover to this little beauty is AMAZING! I knew the story of the knot from Puca, so when I picked this up, I completely understood why it would be on the cover. I am still interested to know what exactly the knot signifies.

    The introduction of Adien and his birth was great. Although, I am sure had I not read To Ride A Puca, I would not have understood so well what was happening as far as their powers were concerned. I am in love with the fantasy theme of these books!

    Thanks for peaking my interest even more, Ms. McCorkle! Your writing is awesome and I can't wait to find out more about Aiden!!!

    5 out of 5 Stars

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    3.5 stars This is the prequel to the Channeler series. It is th

    3.5 stars

    This is the prequel to the Channeler series. It is the story of the events surrounding Aiden's birth. Born of Fire is very short and is intended only as an introduction into the series, not as a stand-alone novella at all. 

    It is just long enough to pique a reader's interest and leaves you hanging at the end, wondering what the hell happens next?

    For readers looking for a stand-alone story, move on because this will only piss you off. 

    For readers looking to discover a new series, this is a beginning; the pre-events; a small peek; a minute taste. If that's the case, you should definitely check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Need to have whole series!!!

    Amazing author. I read the full book before this one and this made a whole lot of sense out of the whole scenario. But my mind is blown, this is AMAZING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    ??????????

    How short is it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    It wa okay

    I wish she had made it a lot longer though from wat i read out of this book it was decent but i wont be reading the other books tht she has put out. Sorry guys i jist wish it was a little longer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Inte Amazing but short...

    I absolutely loved the first chapter. The second was good too but ended at the brisk of my interest. Good quick read though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Very short...

    A good start for an amazing adventure..

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Recommended reading based on Genre - Fantasy Fiction

    Picked up as future read.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1