Customer Reviews for

Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Good fun Read

    Steve is a very complex individual, with his past relationship with his Father, his ability to create humor, his writing, his musical ability and art appreciation. This book lets you feel like you are a friend. When in public I'm sure Mr. Martin has to always "be on". The public expects this image. I felt like I got to know the real person away from that image just trying to entertain. I would recommend this book to anyone that wanted to get to know Steve Martin a very fun book to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    One funny book, from a wild and crazy guy! This autobiography c

    One funny book, from a wild and crazy guy! This autobiography covers from his childhood that formed him up until the height of his stand up career. It contains some interesting stories about life on the road when he was well known but not famous. If you are hoping for some info on the Saturday Night Live Years, they are not there but you will feel you don't need it once you reach the end.<br />
    <br />
    Review by Curt Wiser Author of BOX CUTTER KILLER.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    Great Book!

    This is the best book I have read in a long time. I love reading about celebrities that had it rough in the beginning and worked so hard to get where they are now. It is awesome to know that he went from living in a van to being famous. I have always loved him and now I love him alot more. He thought so many times about giving up and having a normal life but he didnt, he went for what he wanted and succeeded. I would recommend this book to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    A couple years ago I had seen something about this book and beca

    A couple years ago I had seen something about this book and became interested. I've always been a fan of Steve Martin and thought it'd be neat to learn about his life. At the time of renting this, I wasn't sure if I'd actually read it or not, because I hadn't voluntarily read a book since elementary school. But I started to read it and immediately got sucked into it. Which led me to read many more autobiographies.

    Steve Martin is one of the funniest comedians and this book is incredible. He discusses his ups and downs in life, as well as what it took for him to become who he is today. Along the journey of reading, you pick up advice about what you can do in your life to become who you want to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    An insightful look at a great actor and comedian. This book she

    An insightful look at a great actor and comedian.
    This book sheds light on one of the best-loved and most talented comedians of our time. Steve Martin gives fascinating glimpses into his background, career and personal life. He tells his story in a funny, entertaining manner and also shares humorous anecdotes as well as some very emotional memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Overnight success...

    ...is NOT what Steve Martin is writing about.

    His talents and philosphy evolved, He was dedicated and hard-working for years, honing his routine. And, not all his bits were understood.

    This is a memoir about his career and NOT an expose on his personal life--if anything, you'll become aware of how private an individual he is. (And, funny (stupid) things his fans did emulating him). If you lived through this period and know Steve's routines you'll enjoy reading this book. He lets you in on how some of his most famous bits came about, what other comics were doing at the time and what made him give up stand-up.

    I'm a big fan, I remember his appearance on the Smother's Brothers as a young writer (A day without sunshine is like....night); the article in Rolling Stone; his performance in Dallas, Texas. I memorized all the routines on his album and thought of him as cutting edge. This is a reminder of how pervasive his popularity was at the height of his career and how he changed comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    I enjoyed it

    You have to read it for what it is: the story of how Steve Martin began--and ended--his stand-up career. Amusing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Incomplete

    Steve lists lovers like trophys, mentions exs, nothing truly personal revealed. A fragmented tome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Wasnt crazy about it

    meh.. it was just okay...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great book

    What a wonderful look into Steve Martin's life. He's always made me laugh and now I feel like I know him so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    rare insights

    For those that want a serious laugh(and I mean not a gut buster but a hard gut checking laugh) then read this book!!!! You will find a candid (free from resaervation ,disguise,or reservation) then this is the book for you! Remember that the greater part of comedy is truly "Tragedy"! This book will deliver nakedness of soul mostly unsought.( If you think I mean it in the litral sense put your clothes back on he"s not gonna have sex with you!)A fine and candid read. ( No sugar intended!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Outstanding

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. Steve Martin is the man!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Genius on his feet

    Pure delight, every word. I'm just a year older than Steve, and have traveled in the periphery of his high school buddies' circles (John McEuen and others). The stories are touching, it's not a name-dropping book, it's just the recollections of a very funny mind in a very nice man who has lived a very extraordinary career. Try to catch him on tour with his banjo - it's even better than his standups, 'cause now you get standup and great bluegrass. Go Grammy, Steve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Very Insightful Autobiography of one of the most original stand-up comedians

    The story of Steve Martin's humble beginnings and early career were both insightful and enjoyable. I always loved Steve Martin as a stand-up comedian. His act and his early television specials were so original and cutting edge that they stood out from what everyone else was doing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Liked It

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book and was especially impressed by the effort required to develop his routines. My only disappointment (-1 star) was that the book seemed to end rather abruptly; I had to re-read the ending before acknowledging that it had, in fact, left me hanging. Perhaps a sequel is out there somewhere. I listened to Steve's "Let's Get Small" album shortly after reading the book and enjoyed the album much more than before.<BR/><BR/>I should also confess to enjoying his book, "Shop Girl" and his play, "Picasso at the Lapin Agile." Both are 5 stars on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!

    One of the best books i've read in a long time. I enjoyed every facet of this book. I felt like I was witnessing everything alongside Steve Martin. I laughed. I cried. I will be reading it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A regular's guy's quest to be a wild, crazy, *funny* guy

    Few stars as big as Steve Martin come off as a regular guy. So if Martin's carefully crafted "regular guyness" has no bearing on his true persona -- well, you won't learn otherwise from this disarming memoir of his growth from dorky teenage magician to arena-filling stand up superstar. Plain-spoken and unsentimental about his arduous path to the top (it's shocking to learn how many times he had to appear on Johnny Carson's Tonight Show before it made a difference in his comedy bookings), he writes frankly about his rocky search for comic originality and, finally, about his willingness to set aside his sky-high stand-up career when he begins to feel it getting stale. Martin also doesn't shy from addressing his father's mean-spirited disinclination to acknowledge his son's success -- but overall his book is a shamelessly entertaining look at one man's single-minded struggle for comic fame before comedy clubs were common ... or comedy on cable (not to mention cable itself) even existed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Couldn't Put it Down

    it was one of the best books that i have read in years. it keeps you so interested that you dont want to put it down. Steve Martin is truly a genius. This is a most read for any steve martin fan or fan of comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Why Stand Up was my life's work

    I am always pleased when I find an author that reads his own work. In BORN STANDING UP, that is the case. Who better to tell the story than the person who wrote it! When Mr. Martin was doing stand up, I was not a big fan of his. His humor and mind didn¿t match. Yet, in reading his story, I understand where his humor came from and why. He tells us how he got started in stand up and how it developed. He tells us the story of his life right from his childhood up to today. He takes us through the learning years where his act was just beginning to the act that everyone wanted to see. He tells the listener how he became estranged from his own family and how he managed to get back together with them again. In other words, he takes us full circle through his life. He even tells us about his writing talent of which I was not aware. All in all, BORN STANDING UP is a great listen. Even if you are not a fan of Steve Martin, you can¿t help but become enthralled with his life and why and how he got where he is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is a must read for any fan of comedy, Steve Martin, or someone who wants an insiders perspective on what it takes to 'nake it' in show business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5