Customer Reviews for

Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Why Stand Up was my life's work

    I am always pleased when I find an author that reads his own work. In BORN STANDING UP, that is the case. Who better to tell the story than the person who wrote it! When Mr. Martin was doing stand up, I was not a big fan of his. His humor and mind didn¿t match. Yet, in reading his story, I understand where his humor came from and why. He tells us how he got started in stand up and how it developed. He tells us the story of his life right from his childhood up to today. He takes us through the learning years where his act was just beginning to the act that everyone wanted to see. He tells the listener how he became estranged from his own family and how he managed to get back together with them again. In other words, he takes us full circle through his life. He even tells us about his writing talent of which I was not aware. All in all, BORN STANDING UP is a great listen. Even if you are not a fan of Steve Martin, you can¿t help but become enthralled with his life and why and how he got where he is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is a must read for any fan of comedy, Steve Martin, or someone who wants an insiders perspective on what it takes to 'nake it' in show business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    My Thermos

    This book really changed the way I look at comedy. I appreciate Mr. Martin's personal stories and lessons learned. A great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Fantastic

    Loved it. Finished it the day I got it, in just a few hours. Thought it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Great history lesson about standup

    Anyone who enjoys comedy should read this book, short easy read and gives you an insight how difficult stand up really is. Very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    An inside glimpse...

    To tell the truth, I bought this book because 1) I like Steve Martin's sense of humor, and 2) it was on the sale table after the holiday. I couldn't put the book down, finished it in one day. It's not a book about how to be a stand up comedian, although you'll understand how Steve got into the businesses. It's a very well written book about life, about families that love but can't express love, about finding oneself by examining your own life. You can actually sense Steve's self-discovery as the book unfolds. Take a break from reading self-help books and read this book. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Is your kid in the arts??

    ....a book every parent of a child in the arts should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    A classic just like the writer

    I must say that I enjoy reading books from people who actually wrote the books, not ghostwriters. I find that these type of books are the most true to life books you will find, and this book is just that. As you read through this book, Martin relives his early childhood life with his family and his early roots that would eventually lead to him being arguably one of the greatest comedic talents of all-time. I especially love this book because the tone of the book has a feel that Martin himself is actually talking to you and wrote this book with his famous humor in mind. I would definetely reccomend any one who is a fan of his to read this book, it is an easy read and once you turn the first page you will not be able to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    There are really only a few comic geniuses in the world. Robin Williams is one, and of course, Steve Martin. Has it really been that long since we first saw him on television, with that arrow through his head? The book intrigued me for so many reason, the least of which wasn't the fact that I'm a fan. But also because I got some answers that I've always wanted: how he grew up, what kind of relationship he had with his parents, how he 'figured out' his routine---all that and more. If you want a very insightful book about one of the world's greatest talents, look no more. This is one 'Wiiilllld and crazzzy book!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    Good not Great

    Steve Martin writes well and he tells a story that is both interesting and coherent... but it's another comic's tale of life as a comic having a dark side, that it didn't fulfill him personally. His storytelling sounds honest but not an overall happy story, which he makes clear from the start. Be advised that the book ends shortly after 'The Jerk' was released it is about his evolution into 'and out of' stand-up comedy which he clearly does not miss. He is a bright man and thankfully he made better movies than Robin Williams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have been a fan of Steve Martin's since the mid-70's when he'd be the last guest on the Tonight Show standing there with an arrow through his head. I saw him live 3 times back then before he became a huge star. I remember him taking us outside the club to finish up his act so it was really cool to hear him describe how that came to be. In addition to the stroll down memory lane it was very interesting to read about his relationships with family and friends. I highly recommend this for anyone who is at least a little bit of a Steve Martin fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Steve Martin Perfect

    Steve Martin is perfect, fun, creative, understanding, joyus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    I'M GOING TO DISNEYLAND!

    Not really, especially after reading this great book. I've always thought of Martin as just a genius who stands up and makes our lives a lot better. Turns out he's one heck of a writer. With the same humor you'll find in works like Sedaris (Naked) or McCrae (Katzenjammer), you'll be on the floor with this one. But lest you think it's all laughs, this is some deep personal history here and Martin should be applauded for his honesty. I hope there's more of him to come in movies, stand-up and books. He seems to be a genius at everything he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Still life with Banjo

    Five solid stars for this tell almost all book with black and white photos and a great story of an artistic chldhood. If you're a fan, this is a must

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6