Customer Reviews for

Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Loved this!

    Was given this book as a gift, as it is not one I would have typically chosen myself - and I'm so glad I read it!
    Excellent storyline and expertly written. I grew to love the characters and I never wanted to put this book down.
    This is book 1 of a trilogy and I'm bummed I have to wait to start the next book.
    Never heard of this author before but she sure has my attention now.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read!

    I decided to read Born Wicked at the insistence of a fellow blogger. I am SO glad I let her talk me into reading the book. I love novels about witches, and this one was just fantastic.

    The story centers around a young girl named Cate, and her two sisters, who are witches. Witches are absolutely forbidden by the Brotherhood. When caught, most are either put to death, sentenced to a prison ship, or put into an institution. Because of this, Cate must keep herself and her sister’s safe at all cost, and from everyone.

    Poor Cate; she had so many responsibilities and at such a young age. I definitely sympathized with the choices that she was forced to make, and with such heavy burdens heaped on her shoulders. But I found her to be a very strong character, and I really enjoyed reading about her. I found the sisters, Maura and Tess to be quite likeable as well, although Maura not quite as much as Tess. Tess was awesome!

    Cate has two love interests in the story; Paul and Finn. I adore the relationship between Finn and Cate. Finn was such a very interesting character; I thought that he and Cate made such a great pair. I loved that he was willing to do whatever he had to do to keep Cate safe. I love Finn! Paul on the other hand, seemed a bit sneaky to me. I know he had to be up to something, but I couldn’t put my finger on what.

    The Brotherhood sounds like an absolutely horrible association. Just reading about them gave me the creeps, and I held my breath hoping that they wouldn’t catch on to the girl’s secrets. The Sisterhood, which is an affiliation with the Brotherhood, didn’t sound much better either.

    The storyline for the book was highly addictive, and the pacing was absolutely perfect. My attention was held throughout the book, and I finished most of it in a few hours time. I absolutely loved the historical setting for the story. The world building was wonderful, I could clearly imagine myself having tea parties and hanging out in Cate’s special garden.

    Overall, this book is definitely worth the read. I am SO glad that my awesome blogger friend, Kathy, insisted that I read the book as soon as possible. I am officially hooked on this series, and cannot wait to get my hands on the next book.

    Happy Reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    AMAZING! soomething unexpectecd. it was the first time that i re

    AMAZING! soomething unexpectecd. it was the first time that i read a book where the story line was in the olden days. i love the whoe concept of the book. i cant wait to read whats next!!!!!
    BUY IT(:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome new witch series on the horizon!

    What an amazing plot with great characters and smooth writing! Never a dull moment, full of life, love, magic, sadness and disappointment. Beautiful setting and such an interesting story! You will not want to put this book down once you get to know the witch sisters. I can't wait to find out what happens next!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!

    I picked up this book anticipating it. I was so excited to read something fresh and new. It gave me exactly what I wanted .The feel of history flowing through my fingers as I turned each page.

    What I loved most about this book is the plot line. I love historical books. Falling into the shoes of Cate and seeing everything she is, is wonderful. I loved the description of the town, the minor characters and the history that is going on at the moment. The plot pacing is perfect as the reader follows along with the sisters, discovering dark secrets hidden from them.

    I really adored the love interest. It was sweet and pure. With this love, the reader gets to see it form right before your eyes. I love watching two people fall in love. And with the obstacles facing both of them it just makes me want to root them on!

    Now, the ending! UGH!!! Such a good and shocking ending. I mean wow! I did not see that coming since she had already made up her mind, but WOW! Yeah, my mouth dropped open on that tidbit.

    Overall, Born Wicked is an entertaining, magical, surprising novel. Born Wicked tantalize it's readers with well written dialogue. A worthy novel from start to finish, Born Wicked is impressive.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    I can officially say that I am in love with this series! I have

    I can officially say that I am in love with this series! I have always loved witches in stories, and this one is by far one of the best! I loved the setting, the story, and the characters. A nice, simple, yet complex storyline that kept me engaged to the very end. You can imagine my relief finding out that this was part of a trilogy in which the final book was released recently. I was in tears by the end of this book, which doesn't happen to me very often. I would recommend anyone a fan of witches or any kind of paranormal/supernatural fan to read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    Easily my favorite paranormal ever.  Amazing alternate history p

    Easily my favorite paranormal ever.  Amazing alternate history perfect for fans of romance, adventure, and magic.  Give it a shot.  You will not be dissapointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    I actually read this book for a book club at my library! I sugge

    I actually read this book for a book club at my library! I suggested it since Jessica would be at a local bookstore a few weeks later. I loved Born Wicked and devoured it over my spring break! I was a little (okay very) confused about when the book takes place, but it makes more sense over time. There were characters I loved and characters I wanted to murder... It was super fun meeting the author and hope to see her again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    I LOVED this book. I had a very hard time putting it down. My bi

    I LOVED this book. I had a very hard time putting it down. My biggest disappointment? That the next book in this series won't be out until next year! I absolutely loved the style of writing and the characters are likable and REAL (even if it is a different time period). I found a few of the twists and turns predictable, but I truly didn't care because I enjoyed reading it so much. I'm very much looking forward to the next book (and the next!). It's set in an alternative time period in New England and my brain had a tough time wrapping around where I was or when I was...but then I would get sucked into the story again and I would not care.

    I read this book a few months ago and I'm *still* thinking about it. I was definitely drawn in just like I was for The Hunger Games, Twilight and Harry Potter. I'm looking forward to many more books from this author.

    If you enjoy young adult fiction, you would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Awsome!

    Like i luv how they made the storyline like old fashioned,but it had this modern interest 2 it, like u can tell the three sisters luv eachother, but hav sisterly rivarly with like supernal , powers so id' ll like 2 see how thats going 2 affect the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Amazing

    It has suspense, romance, a bit of action, and witches!!!!!" AMAZINGNESS!!!!! A MUST READ!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved this book! I loved the characters and I loved

    I absolutely loved this book! I loved the characters and I loved how well developed they were. The setting was really interesting to read about, and it was terrible how women were treated. The way the magic was told about was wonderful, and all the things they could do was amazing. I loved the style of writing and how a lot was explained, even though it was told entirely in Cate's point-of-view. I read a measly 3½ books over my 8-day vacation, and this one only took me 1 day to read, which is impressive considering it took me just over two days to read The Hunger Games.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You had me at witches. I have always been drawn to anything witc

    You had me at witches. I have always been drawn to anything witchy and Born Wicked satisfies. Then when you add in a hot, nerdy boy, some catty girlfriends with a historical setting, you get awesome.




    Cate Cahill is the oldest of 3 sisters. She seems a bit uptight. There were parts of this book where I literally said out loud, "Really? Just chill out!" But if I had a deadly secret hanging over my head, I might be a little uptight too. Her sole responsibility is to look after her sisters and keep them safe. She does everything in her power to protect them but nothing works out the way it's supposed to. Cate finds herself falling in love with the one person she shouldn't fall for. Oh, Finn. I do have a soft spot for nerdy boys and Finn fits this category. I so badly want Cate & Finn to end up together!




    The first several chapters seem to drag a bit for me. I was so excited to read this and then I was like... come on! But the more I read, the more I realized I couldn't put it down. My husband left one afternoon to run some errands and I swear it seemed like 10 minutes later he was walking through the door again. I hadn't even changed positions! It's that good!




    I was SO frustrated with the ending. I even pouted a little. I complete understand the reasons for the outcome but it doesn't mean I have to like it. I'm just thankful there are more books coming. This means there are plenty of chances to turn things around! 




    Definitely read Born Wicked if you love witches. Definitely read Born Wicked if you don't love witches. Just Read It! Like, yesterday.




    And can I just point out how gorgeous that cover is?! Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read for fans of Witches!!

    I've had Born Wicked sitting on my shelf for a month or so now and have been dying to read it. I'm glad I found the time because it was amazing! Jessica Spotswood created a society that is reminiscent of the Salem Witch Trials, but has its own unique twist.

    Cate Cahill and her two sisters have been hiding their magic from their father and the community. After their mother's death, Cate has only ventured outside her home when need be. Confining her and her sisters to their home and garden, she needs to find a boy who will ask for her hand in marriage or be forced to join the sisterhood. With only a few months to go, Cate has to become a lady and keep her sister's antics in check without drawing too much attention.

    I adore Cate. Her mother asked her to keep her sisters safe, and she hasn't let her down yet. Cate is protective of her sisters and would do anything to ensure that they come to no harm, even give up her own happiness. Her younger sisters, Maura and Tess, don't control their magic well and flaunt it around their home, putting them all in danger if anyone were to stop by. Cate is put in the position of scolding them, becoming a hypocrite when it happens to her.

    There were a few things I liked and one thing I am not too happy about. I loved that Cate wasn't stupid. She knows what's at stake and does everything she can to keep those around her from finding out the truth. Unlike Maura, she isn't naive. She can tell when she is being lied to. I also liked that the sisters acted like true sisters. They got in fights and kept secrets. The only thing I didn't like was the ending. I was extremely disappointed and I'm not sure if I would have chosen the same thing Cate did.

    Overall, I loved Born Wicked. The ending devastated me and I can't wait to read book two, Star Cursed. I would highly recommend this book if you are interest in the Salem Witch Trials or witches in general!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    This was a wonderful start to this series! And I'm dying for the

    This was a wonderful start to this series! And I'm dying for the next book in the series also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Love this book!

    I read the description of the book, and since I already loved the show Charmed I figured I would like this as well. This is a great book! It is well written and has a good story line. It takes place in New England a few hundred years back. The vocabulary is with the current time. Every once and a while I find myself looking up a word or two. I really like this book and the main characters. I cant wait to read the next one. I would def recommend this, if you are a fan of Charmed or not!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Love this book.

    I am a fan of the show Charmed, so i figured this would be a good story for me. I really like this book. Interesting characters, and read written. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Luvd it!!... :)

    I jus finished reading this book and i really enjoyed it!! It was good from start to finish!!...its been awhile since i read a book that sucked me in at page 1...i really wish book 2 was out already!!!!.... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    love this book cant wait for the next one!!!!!!!!!!

    love this book cant wait for the next one!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Great book! Loved every page! I eagerly await the next one!

    Great book! Loved every page! I eagerly await the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3