Customer Reviews for

Born at Midnight (Shadow Falls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 858 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(579)

4 Star

(188)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

Born at Midnight is an addicting read- I did not want to put it down. It pulls me in right at the beginning with a heartbreaking scene, intrigue and a bit of humor about bbqing shorts =)

Kylie is a great main character. She has qualities that I admire- courage, l...
Born at Midnight is an addicting read- I did not want to put it down. It pulls me in right at the beginning with a heartbreaking scene, intrigue and a bit of humor about bbqing shorts =)

Kylie is a great main character. She has qualities that I admire- courage, loyalty. On the other hand, I was able to connect with her, being a bit of a loner, but letting in a select few. I was on edge the whole book, wanting to find the answers to Kylie's questions almost as quickly as she did. I felt emotions with her, about her family troubles, her worry and loyalty to her friends, crushing and fighting the attraction to the hot guys, mystery surrounding the guys in the black suits, and suspicion of what she really is.

I love coming of age, and self-discovery books, and this one fits the bill. I love that the paranormal aspect throws a wrench into it, making already difficult journey even more challenging.

At first it did seem like there were too many characters and names for me to keep up with, but I quickly learned more about them, and each plays their own role. I love it when a book has a secondary cast that is interesting, has their own personalities and actually work to further the plot.

The romance is really well written, my heart was pounding right with her, and I wasn't sure the right choice, it was so well written. The guys were really balanced- not perfect, but close :) And while they were hot, they had deeper qualities as well, respect, protectiveness, and a good heart.

This book ended well, it wrapped up without too much of a cliffie, but def enough that I want my hands on the next one NOW. Too bad I have to wait until October.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on December 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

PlotSpoilersSuck!!

Was going too read this book, but, I feel I have already do to all the PLOT SPOILER reviews on this book!! I wish B&N would due something about these repeat offenders. I see their tags on one book after another, ruining the book for everyone else! Write a proper review....
Was going too read this book, but, I feel I have already do to all the PLOT SPOILER reviews on this book!! I wish B&N would due something about these repeat offenders. I see their tags on one book after another, ruining the book for everyone else! Write a proper review.. NOT a summary.. seriously, you suck!

posted by PuddinPouch on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Good

    I thought that at the beginning it was very boring and i had to drag myself to read the book but then i got to the middle and end and it was awesome i immediatley got the second book!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I devoured this book. Which may have some going why only three s

    I devoured this book. Which may have some going why only three stars? It was a little predictable, I like Della, Miranda, Kylie, Derek, Lucas, etc. The characters are good. Kylie was refreshing as a protagonist. She wasn't whiney or demanding. She didn't cave to the desires of the male leads. She showed a maturity and distance from the usual teen angst in YA novels that was becoming boring. She didn't use her troubles at home as an excuse for her actions. If anything she seemed to accept as the novel progressed that her parents issues weren't something she could resolve and while that bothered her she came out the better for it. I'd suggest that anyone looking for a change of pace from the standard YA female lead mold take a look. They might be pleasantly surprised.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    AMAZING

    Great but talks dialouge is too kiddy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    To tell you the truth this book wasn't all that great. I persona

    To tell you the truth this book wasn't all that great. I personally like the story and the idea but, the writing style lacked. In the beginning Kylie, the main character just decides she likes this Dereck kid. Another boy that Kylie likes is Lucas. I can let that relationship slide because Kylie and Lucas were child hood acquaintances. In the book i felt there was barely any spark or chemistry between Kylie and Dereck and Kylie And Lucas. Another disappointment is that while C.C. Hunter was writing there were unnecessary details that didn't have to be in the book. i would give specific examples but i don't want to spoil the book. However in some scenes in the book she whent through Kylie's Day and it was a really big turnoff. I wouldn't reccommend this book to anybody but I'm giving the book a 3 star review because it had positive aspects to

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The book was ok. The story was interesting, but I just couldn't

    The book was ok. The story was interesting, but I just couldn't get into it. I liked the concept and loved who the ghost turned out to be, but something just kept me from falling in love with the book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    Although it has been many years since I was a young adult, I sti

    Although it has been many years since I was a young adult, I still enjoy YA reads.  This one was pretty average to me.  I did read the entire series so I suppose that says something.  The series was interesting enough.  I have to say, though, that at times, I believed the author may need something for her ADD or... do they make anything for  randomness?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    New YA supernatural premise

    Rather predictable but still not bad YA reading. I would suggest it for older teens due to some of the content

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I enjoyed the different characters in this book. This is the fir

    I enjoyed the different characters in this book. This is the first book I've read that contained so many supernaturals in one book. It was interesting to see how they all interacted and the friendships/enemies that were made. Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy Kylie's storyline with the guys. She just couldn't decide who she liked and it made it hard for me to like her. I really wanted to love this book, but in the end, I just liked it. I am curious to see what happens in the next book, but am not racing to get it like I normally would, so I'm a little disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    How many pages is it?

    How many pages are in this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Book

    Good book but sadly does not give off great details about tje main charactor untill the third book leaves the reader with having to purches all the books in the series to know what is going on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Not to bad, not to great

    The book has an interesting plot and characters, but I feel like both should gave been developed more. To me, the style of writing made the book seem much more awful than it actually was. As a reader I couldn't really become too interested in the love triangle because once again, both characters felt flat to me. If you can tolerate the terrible narration then the book should be a good read for you. I' m just glad I only paid $2.99 for it and not $10.99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Great Read

    I enjoyed this series very much, even at my age of 50! Learning who we are is an every day challenge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Good story though rather predictable

    Quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Could have been better

    I bought this because I loved the concept. So many possibilities!! The way Kylie would describe things, or some of her comments or thoughts really made me laugh and that held true through the entire book. Too bad that was all that kept me reading. I actually started to get bored with the story long before it ended. Maybe at a later date, if I'm desperate, I'll look into book #2.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Very Good Read!

    I loved this book and can't wait for the next! Pretty fast read but only because I couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Good

    The story, writing, plot, and message was good. But the whole thing just seemed fake. And i am very much into this whole thing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3