Customer Reviews for

Born at Midnight (Shadow Falls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 868 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(586)

4 Star

(188)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

Born at Midnight is an addicting read- I did not want to put it down. It pulls me in right at the beginning with a heartbreaking scene, intrigue and a bit of humor about bbqing shorts =)

Kylie is a great main character. She has qualities that I admire- courage, l...
Born at Midnight is an addicting read- I did not want to put it down. It pulls me in right at the beginning with a heartbreaking scene, intrigue and a bit of humor about bbqing shorts =)

Kylie is a great main character. She has qualities that I admire- courage, loyalty. On the other hand, I was able to connect with her, being a bit of a loner, but letting in a select few. I was on edge the whole book, wanting to find the answers to Kylie's questions almost as quickly as she did. I felt emotions with her, about her family troubles, her worry and loyalty to her friends, crushing and fighting the attraction to the hot guys, mystery surrounding the guys in the black suits, and suspicion of what she really is.

I love coming of age, and self-discovery books, and this one fits the bill. I love that the paranormal aspect throws a wrench into it, making already difficult journey even more challenging.

At first it did seem like there were too many characters and names for me to keep up with, but I quickly learned more about them, and each plays their own role. I love it when a book has a secondary cast that is interesting, has their own personalities and actually work to further the plot.

The romance is really well written, my heart was pounding right with her, and I wasn't sure the right choice, it was so well written. The guys were really balanced- not perfect, but close :) And while they were hot, they had deeper qualities as well, respect, protectiveness, and a good heart.

This book ended well, it wrapped up without too much of a cliffie, but def enough that I want my hands on the next one NOW. Too bad I have to wait until October.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on December 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

PlotSpoilersSuck!!

Was going too read this book, but, I feel I have already do to all the PLOT SPOILER reviews on this book!! I wish B&N would due something about these repeat offenders. I see their tags on one book after another, ruining the book for everyone else! Write a proper review....
Was going too read this book, but, I feel I have already do to all the PLOT SPOILER reviews on this book!! I wish B&N would due something about these repeat offenders. I see their tags on one book after another, ruining the book for everyone else! Write a proper review.. NOT a summary.. seriously, you suck!

posted by PuddinPouch on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 188 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    loved it

    interesting story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Draws you in

    Read another book by this author and was pleasantly surprised. The only thing that would have made it a 5 star rating would be if I were a teen and reading this. Great story of how we should not judge people by how they look. We should take the time to get to know them before we pass any judgement.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    ?

    What book comes first?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Paranormal Camp

    ylie Galen's shipped off to a special summer camp following being at a party the cops busted. Never mind she wasn't the one doing drugs, she's now on a bus full of delinquents. This is another take on camps for kids with superpowers, but it reads fresh due to the deep point of view of Kylie as she tries to fit in.

    There's a nice array of supernatural beings with stiff competition based upon their ancestry. Since Kylie doesn't know her power or where it may come from, she's on the outskirts from this divergent group. I enjoyed the twists in the story but was let down by the ending although it does lead into the next novel in the series well. So I'll need to read it when it comes out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast read for the summer

    This book was one of the many that i enjoyed, but had a few problems with. I finished it in just a few hours and i really liked it. The characters were great and had depth to them, even some of the minor characters. Pros to this books: Good characters, nice, smooth plot, believeable situations, good descriptions, two hot guys. Cons to the book: I'm a big grammer freak and there were a few problems that bugged me. A few "were"'s where a "was" should be and vice versa. Also, the way that the main character, Kylie, spoke. She would just randomly say "Y'all" when speaking all the time as if she had a southern accent though she spoke normally with every other word. And another thing, she kissed Lucas and really felt something with him, but then two pages later she was all about Derek again. It's like she just totally forgot all about Lucas. It bugged me, especially because i wanted her with Lucas rather than Derek. I didn't like Derek at all, it kind of felt like the author was forcing him to be a good guy in the book. And my last problem was the ending. It was so quick, the climax just came and went in like, three pages. And then of vourse there was the resolution and that felt like it dragged on and on. I kept expecting Lucas and Fredricka to show up again now that they'd been proven innocent but they never did. It was like the author completely forgot about them. THe only answer we got at the end of the book about Lucas was a letter that he wrote to Kylie THAT SHE DIDN'T EVEN READ!! I was so frusturated and mad at this book in the end that i felt like throwing it at the wall but, of course, i couldn't. It was on my nook :P Either way, i'm going to read the next installment to the series, coming out in October. Hopefully it will redeem the end of the first book for me and Lucas will come back. Anyway, if you like paranormal, romance, mystery, and a book that will suck you in, read this. It is a good book, i just had problems with the decisions Kylie made sometimes.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo

    Kylie gets caught with alcohol and sent off to Shadow Falls Camp. She's expecting three months of nerdy kids and a boring camp. What she finds is a camp of freaks . . . real freaks like vampires, fairies, witches, werewolves, and shapeshifters. The camp is really a training ground where the kids can learn to master their powers. Kylie is sure there's been a mistake. Her only hope is to finish out her sentence and make it home alive. But things get complicated when two very different boys come into her life - and even more complicated when Kylie discovers she may, indeed, be right where she belongs. BORN AT MIDNIGHT captivated me from the beginning and kept me reading through to the end. This glimpse into the dark side of a strange and mysterious camp kept me reading. I wanted to put it down because my eyes were tired, but I couldn't bring myself to do it. I've added this to my re-read list and look forward to another visit to Shadow Falls Camp.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    Ok, first I will not say that this is the greatest piece of fict

    Ok, first I will not say that this is the greatest piece of fiction out there. But, I will not say that it is terrible, either. I really enjoyed what I have read so far, which is books 1-4. It was a "light" read for me, not too in depth or complicated. Now Kylie was getting on my nerves with the whole "What am I?" thing over and over and over again, but oh well. No book is 100% perfect, and everyone knows it. Even the masterpieces out there have SOMETHING that people don't like, so with that said, I will continue on with this series, because I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    4/5 stars

    4/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    AMAZING!!!!

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this series! Feels a little more grown up then your other young adult fantasy books! Love the characters and the story line! You will not put it down and will rush to buy the next book in the series!! I have already recommended to several friends! LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    I hope this will be good

    I just bought this and i hope it will be good it kinda sounds (by reading the summary) like a short story i wrote

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Good

    I loved this book i got it because it sounded interesting an was on sale so i thought why not. I would totally pay more for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kylie is sent to a summer camp after being arrested. She thinks

    Kylie is sent to a summer camp after being arrested. She thinks it’s a camp for troubled teens but it doesn’t take her long to realize that that is not the case at all. This is a summer camp for supernaturals and even though she doesn’t think she belongs there, her night terrors and the “stalker” that no one else sees are proof that she’s right where she needs to be.

    I liked that even though this story focuses on Kylie, we get background information on a handful of other characters as well. So I found myself getting attached to more than just the main character. She has two quirky roommates, one is a vampire, and the other is a witch who seems to have a pet toad, but is later revealed as a spell gone wrong on a sleazy man. There’s a cute guy who instantly takes an interest in Kylie and a bad boy who is of course also interested in her. However, I feel like he gets first dibs since he’s a neighbor from her childhood. Yes, this has the makings of your typical eye-rolling love triangle but I really enjoyed it.

    I’m a huge fan of the title and series name. Too many times the series is named after the first book. However, the title comes from the fact that all supernaturals are born at midnight and Shadow Falls is the name of the camp where Kylie realizes that she’s not who she thought she was and will ultimately come into the supernatural that she’s meant to be.

    And can I just take a second to applaud the author for not turning this book into a clique teen story. There is no “popular girl” who makes Kylie’s life hell. There really aren’t any cliques either. I liked that all the kids were there to not only learn about who they are but to get to know about other supes as well.

    I’m most definitely going to be keeping up with this series. We still don’t know what Kylie is but I have a feeling that we will find out in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I loved this book so much. It's very witty and funny. My only pr

    I loved this book so much. It's very witty and funny. My only problem with this book is the main character can get on my nerves but not very much. I love almost all the characters in this book though because they are all realistic and intriguing. I love the slight edge of scary the book has. I also like that it's not the kind of clean where you wonder if the author thinks you are 8 but it's not overwhelming. Again it's very realistic. Minus the supernatural camp of course.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Is there going to be a movie?

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Terrible

    This book is so terribly written i could have EASILY done it. And im 17! AND im only about 30 pages in! Couldnt she have gotten a little more creative? Everyone talks like robots! Ignore the good reviews, you will be dissapointed. But hey atleast its cheap right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Ananymous

    I love this book only problem is I don't have enough money for the rest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    Good read...loved this series

    Good read...loved this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Really cool

    Read the whole series, twice!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An Exciting Addition to the YA Genera In the sea of teenage par

    An Exciting Addition to the YA Genera

    In the sea of teenage paranormal romance books that have surfaced in the wake of the Twilight craze I have discovered that finding something worth reading is a rare catch indeed; even more so when I am hoping it will play to an adult audience as well as the intended YA crowd. Bearing this observation in mind, I am always a bit apprehensive when trying out an unknown author or series in this newly vast field, and even more delighted when I hit upon one that I consider well worth reading. It is just this kind of a book that I discovered in Ms. Hunter’s Born at Midnight, one that stood apart from some of its more shallow brethren and demonstrated a depth that took it beyond just your average teenage read.

    Born at Midnight explores the trials and tribulations of a coming of age story while deftly weaving in paranormal elements to complement our protagonist’s journey. Capitalizing on the feeling that many teens have of being different, and the want to be both special and accepted, this story is an intriguing journey through self-discovery, the importance of friendship and of believing in yourself, set against an exciting back drop of mystery and the supernatural.

    I give this book a pleased four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Mysterious

    Cool book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 188 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10