Customer Reviews for

Born at Midnight (Shadow Falls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 852 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(575)

4 Star

(186)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

Born at Midnight is an addicting read- I did not want to put it down. It pulls me in right at the beginning with a heartbreaking scene, intrigue and a bit of humor about bbqing shorts =)

Kylie is a great main character. She has qualities that I admire- courage, l...
Born at Midnight is an addicting read- I did not want to put it down. It pulls me in right at the beginning with a heartbreaking scene, intrigue and a bit of humor about bbqing shorts =)

Kylie is a great main character. She has qualities that I admire- courage, loyalty. On the other hand, I was able to connect with her, being a bit of a loner, but letting in a select few. I was on edge the whole book, wanting to find the answers to Kylie's questions almost as quickly as she did. I felt emotions with her, about her family troubles, her worry and loyalty to her friends, crushing and fighting the attraction to the hot guys, mystery surrounding the guys in the black suits, and suspicion of what she really is.

I love coming of age, and self-discovery books, and this one fits the bill. I love that the paranormal aspect throws a wrench into it, making already difficult journey even more challenging.

At first it did seem like there were too many characters and names for me to keep up with, but I quickly learned more about them, and each plays their own role. I love it when a book has a secondary cast that is interesting, has their own personalities and actually work to further the plot.

The romance is really well written, my heart was pounding right with her, and I wasn't sure the right choice, it was so well written. The guys were really balanced- not perfect, but close :) And while they were hot, they had deeper qualities as well, respect, protectiveness, and a good heart.

This book ended well, it wrapped up without too much of a cliffie, but def enough that I want my hands on the next one NOW. Too bad I have to wait until October.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on December 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

PlotSpoilersSuck!!

Was going too read this book, but, I feel I have already do to all the PLOT SPOILER reviews on this book!! I wish B&N would due something about these repeat offenders. I see their tags on one book after another, ruining the book for everyone else! Write a proper review....
Was going too read this book, but, I feel I have already do to all the PLOT SPOILER reviews on this book!! I wish B&N would due something about these repeat offenders. I see their tags on one book after another, ruining the book for everyone else! Write a proper review.. NOT a summary.. seriously, you suck!

posted by PuddinPouch on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 575 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    Born at Midnight is an addicting read- I did not want to put it down. It pulls me in right at the beginning with a heartbreaking scene, intrigue and a bit of humor about bbqing shorts =)

    Kylie is a great main character. She has qualities that I admire- courage, loyalty. On the other hand, I was able to connect with her, being a bit of a loner, but letting in a select few. I was on edge the whole book, wanting to find the answers to Kylie's questions almost as quickly as she did. I felt emotions with her, about her family troubles, her worry and loyalty to her friends, crushing and fighting the attraction to the hot guys, mystery surrounding the guys in the black suits, and suspicion of what she really is.

    I love coming of age, and self-discovery books, and this one fits the bill. I love that the paranormal aspect throws a wrench into it, making already difficult journey even more challenging.

    At first it did seem like there were too many characters and names for me to keep up with, but I quickly learned more about them, and each plays their own role. I love it when a book has a secondary cast that is interesting, has their own personalities and actually work to further the plot.

    The romance is really well written, my heart was pounding right with her, and I wasn't sure the right choice, it was so well written. The guys were really balanced- not perfect, but close :) And while they were hot, they had deeper qualities as well, respect, protectiveness, and a good heart.

    This book ended well, it wrapped up without too much of a cliffie, but def enough that I want my hands on the next one NOW. Too bad I have to wait until October.

    56 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!! Best book of 2011 so far...

    Okay WOW!!! First of all, the cover is beautiful. I read the description on this book a couple of months ago and knew it was going to be great. But, it surpassed all of my expectations. I absolutely loved this book! The story was superbly written with lovable characters. I loved that not only was it hilarious and had me laughing out loud, but it also takes us on a journey of self discovery. The love triangle only adds to its appeal. This series is definitely going to be pine-worthy and I look forward to see what comes next:)

    31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    A Must Read

    You will love this series. Its hilarious and has its touch of romance. Please do not compare it to Twilight. Its nothing like it.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained the whole

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained the whole day

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Very well written

    great book cant wait for the second one. They should make a movie from this book.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    A must!

    Really good read! Cannot wait for the next book. Well written, great characters. A must read for anyone interested in paranormal ya books.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved it.

    i loved Born at Midnight by C.C Hunter. it was very well written, and i loved the two guys -well three including Trey- that battled for Kylie's heart. C.C. Hunter is a very talented writer, even though there were some repeats... i cannot wait for the next book! i also really loved how all the paranormals were all tied in this story... although, i do wish that there were mermaids.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Anonymous

    Pulled me into the book i can picture everything . Captivated me just like The Hunger Games did. I stumbled upon tis book looking for a good novel that i could really get into a great teen novel. I love the whole supernatural setting.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Wonderful!!!

    I have read all the books for this series including the bonus one! I have already preordered "Taken At Dusk" and they NEED to make these books into movies! If they dont ever even consider it, i would be totally heartbroken! But the real point is that you need to reaf this book and if ya liked it all the other books in the series. Please read and post a comment saying you aggre that they should make it into a movie!!!! Idf they ever do i swear it, i would never ever EVER regreat it!! Remember to rate five/5 stars!!!!!! Dont forget<3

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read

    Kylie Galen has had a lot of crap tossed in her lap lately. Her parents are getting a divorce for who the heck knows why. Her boyfriend broke up with her because she wouldn't put out. And her grandmother died because . . . well, older people do that. But now, Kylie's acquired a stalker and she hasn't a clue what he wants or how to get rid of him . . . and she really wants to get rid of him because apparently she's the only one who sees him. Thinking she may be losing it, her parents send her off to see a psychologist who gets Kylie sent to Shadow Falls Camp. Kylie and her parents think it's a camp for troubled teens.

    They thought wrong.

    Kylie's surrounded by vampires, werewolves, fairies, witches and shape-shifters. And if she believes what they tell her, she's one of them. They're just not sure exactly how she fits in. As Kylie struggles to cope with the realization that these creatures even exist, and the fact that she might not be human, she's got two hot guys, a werewolf and a half-fairy vying for her attention. And they can just keep vying. Kylie's determined that before she lets her heart loose on love, she needs to unearth the truth. What does the ghost want? Who can and can't she trust? And most of all . . . What is she?

    Kylie gets innocently caught up in some questionable situations upon her parents sudden divorce and gets sent away to a delinquents (aka "freak") camp for the summer . . . or so she thinks. Yet, when fellow campers begin asking "What she is?" instead of "Who?" and magic/blood become something she shockingly learns to deal with on a daily basis--Kylie beings to examine her meaning behind the word "freak" and becomes worried she may just be one herself. Throughout the challenge of discovering her past in hopes of identifying just what her supernatural status is, Kylie becomes awakened by her new hidden talents (i.e. sensing/seeing ghosts, etc.) and easily gets infatuated with two extremely different guys: 1. Derek, a sweet-tempted half-fairy who was one of her first friends at camp and 2. Lucas, a darker older werewolf who Kylie actually has a history with. Thus, with so many things in Kylie's life crumbling, can Shadow Falls Camp actually become a bitter-sweet surprise?

    At first, this story came off as a bit too juvenile for my taste, but as the plot progressed and Kylie's adventures in camp became more complex -- I found myself becoming more and more intrigued. The whole story timeline accelerates quickly, happening within the span of only a few weeks, thus it becomes easy to get caught up in the overall tale. Kylie has a lot of troubles because of friends back home, friends in camp, family, etc. that the story never goes dull, but it can become a bit too much at times. The romance in the book is all over with many of the side-characters (young and old) heating up the pages while Kylie herself gets captivated by two guys -- so yummy relationships throughout. All in all, this was a surprising read that I found myself jumping right into Book #2 as soon as I finished Book #1 -- plus Book #3 comes out this April, yayy.

    Likes: If you're a fan of paranormal/supernatural characters--this is a fun read that pretty much covers them all!

    Dislikes: Kylie can have only so much drama on her plate at one time before she gets spread pretty thin and then, due to becoming overwhelmed, avoids or cuts short different parts of the story that the reader would wish to have e

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Awesome book

    This book is the best book ever. It pulls u into the story. It is like i was actually there. I felt kylie's feeling and how hard it was for her to have to people she was into.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Born at Midnight review

    This book is one of the few books i could not put down. This book only took me two days to read, and only that long because i have to sleep. At the end of every chapter i told myself that i would only read one more chapter, but i alwaysbroke that promise because the end of every chapter ended at a cliff hanger. After reading this book i quickly read the next two books in the series and it just keeps getting better. Its going tobe hard to wait for october for the next booktocome out. If you have any ounce of interestin paranormal, and self discovery, i would recommend this series. (There is a love triangle though for those people who dont care for them) but i believe this series should be at the top of your summer reading list :)
    I love how the books were written, C.C. Hunter made it real easy to get lostin the story and thats one thing i look fr in an author and good book :) this book is worth reading.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    LOVED IT

    I have read so many paranormal romance books and this is so far the best!Once you start resding you don't wanna stop!It keeps you guessing till the next book!Born at midnight is filled with surprises and thrillers and it definitely spells out ROMANCE! If you want to read an exhilirating book,then Born at midnight is the perfect choice!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    I have read the whole series and I'm waiting on the next one already pre-ordered.

    This is a good read and I would sugest to my friends. At first I thought it was going too much like Harry Potter but it proved me wrong. This was real page turner kept interest until the very end and on to next. I'm waiting for next book in the series with batted breathe!!!!!!!! Read this book you will not be disapointed!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Im hooked on Shadow Falls

    When i bought this book i didnt realize that it was actually a young adult novel, the description had sounded quite interesting as it involved vampires, werewolves, fairies, witches and shape shifters, very similar to my favorite TV series, True Blood. Well i dont think it mattered a bit who this book was originally targeted for, if you like the supernatural then you will love this book. It is well written and no where did i ever think this book wasnt for adults. I have already purchased the second book in the series and cannot wait to see what Kylie Galen figures out next about her life and what she truly is. Cannot recommend this book enough, all True Blood fans get ready for an twisting tale of the supernatural with all the same non-humans as the series, awesome!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    AMAZING

    i have never really been into books about supernaturals and things like vapmires. But WOW this has pulled me into this genre!! Before i only like romance but now I already have the 2nd book and have the 3rd pre-orderd!! check this one out ;)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Love not like

    I can't say i liked it becaues.... I loved it!!!!!
    I can't say this is favorite book because that would be like saying who my favorite kid is or who do i like better my brother or sister.

    This is not the same as twilight.
    Its even better than twilight and to those hoe bag people who say other wise than your A) on drugs and having a crazy reaction to the drug your on B) one of those crazy fans that comepair things in there life to the books or movies of twilight like if you see a pasty or pail ( same thing) You would think that they were a vampier or if you saw a dog that was on a lesh you would think it was a were-wolf or C) your just a luny bin type of person that or you like drinking just a little too much.

    P.S. If you are any of those things might want to go to a Mentail hospitle and have fun with that!


    WHAT IS THIS BOOK ABOUT ?????
    This book is about kaylie a girl who's parents just got devorced and was caught at a party with alcohol so she is sent to a camp for the summer for quote on quote " trobled teens". What she thinks is going to be the worst summer of her life might just be ONE of the best. She makes friends with a bada** vamp or vampire other wise known as and a whitch who happen to be her roomates. She also meets derek a hot green eyed (with gold flakes) fae who has the power to read emotions and with just a touch calm a person who is on the brink of freking out in not a good sichuation and than there is Lucus a certian blue eyed were-wolf who in my mind is taylor Lotner hot maybe even better Lucus way more funny then him also he knew kaylie since they were kids and protected her from bullies I mean how sweet is that.

    NOW GET THE BOOK
    I AM SERIOUS AS YOU CAN SEE I AM USEING CAPITLE LETTERS

    I dare you to get this book right now if you haven't allready that's right I just dared you to get this book so don't be a pussey and get it.

    There is nothing eles to say if didn't get the book your loss not mine all I have to say is haha because your missing out on the best book seires EVER



    P.S. Hope you like the book
    Thanks for reading




    -B



    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great book!

    This book is one of the best books ever! I loved this series! I could not put it down the whole time and never wanted it to end! This is a must read for anyone who likes mystery, romance, humor or anyone who likes vampires, werewovles, witches, shapeshifters or frendship! C.C. Hunter is a wonderful author! It pulls you in from the first page!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Phenomonal

    This is the best book i have ever read it has everything from romance rsuspense to happy moments credit to cc hunter!!!! Amazing!!! Love you cc!:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    A must read series!

    Bought a book in the series only to get a chapter into it and realize that it must be a series because i was so lost! Bought all the books in the series and had all 4 read in a week! Absolutely loved them! Now very anxiously awaiting the 5th and final book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 575 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29