Customer Reviews for

Born in Blood: The Lost Secrets of Freemasonry

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Story Deserves Full Disclosure in Today's World

Mr. Robinson's opus lays to rest many of the uninformed diatribes against the Knights Templar and their progeny today, Freemasons. The book's evenhanded treatment of the Muslim opponents, especially the story of Saladin should be taught in schools today. Excellent wor...
Mr. Robinson's opus lays to rest many of the uninformed diatribes against the Knights Templar and their progeny today, Freemasons. The book's evenhanded treatment of the Muslim opponents, especially the story of Saladin should be taught in schools today. Excellent work.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great textbook, way to expensive...

I found this textbook to be very useful but too expensive.. You shouldn't pay for textbooks, I downloaded all my textbooks this semester FREE at LibraryPirate. com

posted by 9099798 on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you are new to masonary or want to know about it, this is the closest to the reality of masonary's origins,history and activities. Though no one knows for sure, Steve's investigaton in to masonary gives a more realistic view.

    I found the invistigative writing following the language of the words used in masonary very interesting in leading the writer in his surch of meanings. This is a reality check in masonary and clears up alot of misunderstandings about the symbols,teachings and secrets.

    I would recomend this as an intoduction to masonary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    A must read for all Brothers looking to the East

    Wow, It all makes sense now. The initiations, obligations, charges and penalties. I never could fully believe that Stonemason guilds required such secrecy and penalty. A must read to anyone interested in Freemasonry. Recommended to me by several Masters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Great reading

    I was very impressed with the amount of research that went into this book. By looking for one connection to the Peasant revolt, the author accidentally stumbled upon what could be the link that Freemasons have long believed 'off the record' to be their true origins. Were their true ancestors the medieval stone mason guilds of Europe or were they born out of the hiding Teplars after the Friday the 13th purge? The author makes a compelling argument. This book will be enjoyed by Masonic brother, anti-Mason, and conspiracy theorist alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    You can't lay this book down!

    In doing research on some the ancient rites of freemasonry I stumbled across this book. I was sure this research was going to tedious and sometimes boring but instead this book has been almost as exciting as a novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    Amazing historical links to the Masonic order

    An excellent book to provoke thought about the real origins of the Masonic order. Written by a non-Mason who set out to write a History book of the earlier centuries, and learned that the more research he did, the more the Masonic Fraternity was instrumental in the developments of society and governments. Provides historical facts that tie the Masonic Fraternity to the Order of Knights Templar. Explains the similarities of the tenets and beliefs of the two Orders, which give more credence to the historical facts that link the two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2001

    Story Deserves Full Disclosure in Today's World

    Mr. Robinson's opus lays to rest many of the uninformed diatribes against the Knights Templar and their progeny today, Freemasons. The book's evenhanded treatment of the Muslim opponents, especially the story of Saladin should be taught in schools today. Excellent work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    Great Book

    A must read for everyone interested in Freemasonry, the Knight Templars, or just history. Mr. Robinson's origins for Freemasonry makes much more sense than the old and tried 'it came from medieval guilds stone masons'. Very unbiased evaluation of two very controversial groups. This book help me in my decision to become a Freemason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2000

    Best book on the Templars/Freemasonry theories

    Very enjoyable reading, well documented historically even if speculative at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    An INCREDIBLE read!

    John Robinson may have found the origins to modern-day Freemasonry. His theories on the Knights Templar creating the 'building blocks' for the rules and ritual used in Masonry today are well thought out and superbly written. As unbiased a book on the subject as I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    A well written historical romance

    Born in blood was very informative about the values, tradition, and foundations of free- masonry. I wouldn't mind reading it again if I had the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1