Customer Reviews for

Born in Death (In Death Series #23)

Average Rating 4.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great read

    Always a great read keeps you captivated beginning to end following Eve and Roarke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Awesome!

    I started reading this series after I found out they are by Nora Roberts, and they did not disappoint! Every book in the series is great and no less than you would exect from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Fabulous

    I love all the In Death books, but this one was amazing. the end had me crying. it was a mystery but it had so many wonderful moments. please don't miss this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun. Exciting. Though I loved the mystery it took the backseat

    Fun. Exciting.

    Though I loved the mystery it took the backseat in this novel to the story. This book revolved around friendship. It was very emotional – well, for an Eve book – and quite relaxing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    I love it

    Best book I ever read !!! ; )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    An entertaining book!

    Loved this book! In certain scenes I laughed so hard I actually had tears in my eyes. That may seem strange for a murder mystery, but you'll just have to read the book to see for yourself. I like the way the author leads up to the subplot of Mavis' delivery in earlier books. Love Rourke!!!

    A must read if you have read earlier novels in this series or even if you haven't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    The In Death Series Wont Let You Down

    Born in Death, like all others in this series, provides for absolute escapism. The main and second string characters will not disappoint. Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her husband Rourke are smoldering. The Lieutenant and Detective Peabody are funny. And the story is a page turner. While one may raise an eyebrow at how some of the clues and people are tied together during the book, it is easy to overlook because the story reads like what you expect from the series. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    BEST EVER

    This is one of Nora Roberts/JD Robbs best suspense novels I have read. I am an avid reader and fan of Nora Roberts and as J.D. Robb. She stickes to her main character very well. Too many authors bring in and focus on too many main characters in the plot and a reader gets lost and has to think, "Oh yeah, that's the one the book is really about."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't stop reading!!!

    This is my first J.D.Robb, and certainly not my last. I took this book with me on vacation in the Caribbean, and I was unable to put it down. Relaxing under the palm trees was a perfect place for enjoying the plot. I loved the futuristic side of the novel.
    I am already a big fan.
    Can't wait for my next J.D.Robb.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great one!

    All the "In Death" series are great, and this one is no exception! I love Eve's attitude and her outlook on children and childbirth. Her loyalty to Mavis is amazing. Even though you learn more about all the characters, the actual case adds excitement and a good plot to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fast, even for Eve Dallas

    Between solving murders of employees at a very high-profile firm, attending birthing classes, Mavis impending delivery, and the realization that she's supposed to throw the baby shower for Mavis; the disappearance of Mavis' friend Tandy resulting in what she knows is an almost impossible to keep promise; Eve's going to need all the real coffee she can get! Eve and her entire staff are hopping, Roarke manages to keep up and the rest of us are out of breath trying to keep pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Great character involvement, good blended plot.

    I really enjoyed this installment in the In Death series. It brought out a lot of the character's emotions and details. The long awaited birth of Mavis's baby and Eve and Roarke's involvement was wonderful. It seems like Eve's resistance to having a baby may have been softened a little! One of the best so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    The "...IN DEATH" series, without a doubt, is one of the best. The perfect mix of mystery, psychological thriller, and romance, each book in this series always offers up a reading delight. <BR/><BR/>Once again, Eve Dallas is faced with solving a horrific crime. This time, as often happens with Dallas, the death of a young account executive and her financial manager fiance brings her own strong emotions into the mix. Since she's already dealing with the imminent arrival of Mavis's baby, the fact that she and Roarke are to serve as birthing coaches, and not to mention the baby shower she must throw for her friend before that happens, Eve's nerves are already stretched thin. <BR/><BR/>When Mavis's pregnant friend, Tandy, goes missing, Dallas now finds herself working two cases simultaneously. The two start off on different paths, but by the end of the investigation she might find that they have a lot in common--including new life and new death. <BR/><BR/>When questions of ethics are thrown into the mix by Whitney and his superiors, the crap hits the fan, and Eve and Roarke must put aside pride and anger to deal with their relationship, while still working on justice for the murder victims. <BR/><BR/>BORN IN DEATH is another winner in this series. As always, I raced through the book in record time, and was sad to be finished with the story when it ended. I can't wait for the next release, and hope to be able to see Eve and Roarke finally get that vacation they both deserve. And, if I get to read about them running naked on the sand under a bright sun, I probably won't complain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Nora, did it again.

    Have been reading the death books and the characters and interactions are getting better and better. Can't wait for the next one.... Big fan...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    Edge of my chair, for plot and subplot

    For one who has been following this series, the excitement of the subplot keeps the reader on tinder hooks just as much as the primary plot. Either could be written alone but the artistic weave greatly improves both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Fabulous

    Absolutely fabulous!! Comical, fast-paced and sexy. Thanks Ms. Robb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Great Book!

    I loved the characters in this one. Intersting mystery. The story moved well and I enjoyed every minute of it. I can't wait for the next one. It will be hard to beat this one though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Yet another winner for Nora Roberts

    Nora Roberts writing as J.D. Robb has done it again with another fantastic tale of mystery. Her characters that we have come to love are here in full force with Eve and Roarke leading the team. Ms. Roberts has definitely wrote yet another winning story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Wonderful!

    Another wonderful 'in death' book from JD Robb. This had both mystery and laughs with Dallas looking for killer(s) and finally having to take the coaching class for the baby that her friend Mavies is having. You will laugh out load at Dallas' reaction to situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5