Customer Reviews for

Born in the U.S.A.

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Listener Comment

    I owned the cassette tape and would not have purchased the CD if I didn't tdhink it was terrific.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the best by the boss

    this is one of the best springsteen cds ever.i should know cause i have it my self the title track rocks and the other tracks are a powerful performance. if your a boss fan this 20 year old cd is a must have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bruce classic for all the wrong reasons!!!

    BITUSA deserves the praise it gets, but for the wrong reasons. It's not the fact that this album is a heck of a rock and roll album. It's not the fact that the lyrics are meaningful. It's the fact that the lyrics are meaningful AND it rocks. From the modern-day blues protest song ("Born in the U.S.A.") to the reflective folk-rocker ("My Hometown", and everything in between, Springsteen delivers a poetic and rockin' album. Also to classify this as an "arena rock" album would be merely technical. It's folk, blues, jazz, and country with a foundation of arena rock. Read this review, listen to the album, and then tell me that I'm over-analyzing. Get this album, but get it for the right reasons!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Will there ever be enough to get of this guy?

    Though some of Bruce's pieces have morphed into something else over the years (and that's ok), coming from the same generation I find listening to this album allows me the opportunity to reflect on earlier years for the good and the bad through Bruce's youthful enthusiasm for life experiences. Listening to the "Born in the U.S.A." cut I recalled the criticism given as he had not served in Viet Nam yet wrote the lyrics in the first person. I too did not serve but yet I was able to identify with the feeling that surrounded the country because of the decisions made for those times and it reminds me of the sacrifices made that should never be forgotten. Kudos to Bruce for the artistry along with the E Street Band for this musical monument. The common thread here is when Bruce presents himself as a somewhat unsettled soul searching for inner peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BORN IN THE USA

    If there was room for more stars, I'd give this CD a whole bunch more. This album is just perfect. I don't think there's a bad or uninteresting song on it. After listening to this, you'll understand why Bruce and the band went on a world tour for it that went all the way into October 1985, and almost all their stops where stadiums. RFK Stadium, Giants Stadium, Three Rivers Stadium, Veterans Stadium, the L.A. Coliseum, whew! (gotta fit all those fans somewhere, right?) Great CD, you'll really love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must Have

    The greatest album of the 80's (beating out THRILLER),and one of the greatest of all-time.I've heard,and have BORN TO RUN,and no song on that album besides Born to Run has near the power and passion as every song on this album,I can even relate to a lot of the songs on this record,this is a living anthem of life in America,get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I can't even begin to descibe how much I love this cd!!!

    This is one of the greatest cds ever known to man! The reasons why? The songs are timeless, and full of meaning, passion, and energy! You feel a wide range of emotion when you listen to this (though not quite as wide as the 1975/85 album offers). From desire (Cover Me, I'm on Fire, Dancing in the Dark) to heartbreak (Downbound Train) to songs that can be construed as either sheer rockers (which they are!) or for what the downcast lyrics say (Born in the USA, Bobby Jean, I'm Goin' Down) to songs that give you small-town pride and rejuvinate memories of younger times (Darlington County, Working on the Highway, No Surrender, Glory Days, My Hometown). I can't think of ANYTHING I dislike about any of the songs! The ones that are on ''Greatest Hits'' go without saying as hits, and some of the others (Downbound Train, I'm Goin' Down) provide me with fond memories of such great times in my past. Springsteen is great that way! His songs can be applied to everyday people's lives in so many ways, or at least provide a backdrop for fond memories. This is an essential classic for any music or Springsteen fan! I can't count how many times I've listened to it already, or how many I will in the future, and that is just wonderful! I loved this cd! Chances are, if you have blood in your veins, you will too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMERICAN MADE

    THIS IS ''THE BOSS'S'' MOST SUCCESSFUL ALBUM TO DATE. IT'S GOT EVERYTHING, AND THEN SOME. THIS ALBUM SPAWNED 7 TOP 10 SINGLES, AND COULD HAVE EASILY SPAWNED ALL 12 TRACKS. YOU WILL BE HARD PRESSED TO FIND A MORE FUN, GOOD TIME ROCK&ROLL ALBUM THAN THIS ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece

    This is simply one of the greatest rock albums ever. If you've never heard at least one of the tracks off this album, you just don't know music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1