Customer Reviews for

Born of Ashes

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Fabulous!

    This series has been great and I do believe this one maybe my favorite so far. Fiona's plight was horrendous and Ms. Roane presented it well. Meaning, she didn't drag her situation out or rush it either, (ie. her recovery/grieving). Jean-Pierre was perfect too! Can't wait for the other warriors stories!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    This is a great series. However, this story of Jean-Pierre and

    This is a great series. However, this story of Jean-Pierre and Fiona was very difficult for me to achieve true character attachment. All the other stories you felt the connection. I'm reading Leto's and Grace's story now and it is GOOD. I only wish that Roane would have a leading lady that was truly petite...like me! There are many men that are attracted to very small ladies...not Amazons. Please don't discriminate, and put some leading ladies that are petite..we need love too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Fabulous series

    This story was not quite as steamy as the others, but the plot and story just flowed and I feel was very necessaryt to set the stage for the next book in the series featuring Thorne, finally.
    I cant wsit for Obsidian Flame to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Very sweet

    Fiona and jean pierre were perfect for each other. But i cant get enough of endelle!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    I read in paperback

    The female lead is whiny and annoying. All she does is weep. Repetive writing style. The worlds are cool though and their abilities but i found myself skipping pages. I think the author needs to concentrate more on the two characters rather than the plot. I feel like there is no fight to the relationship just quick acceptance and i really hate that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Awesome series!!!!

    Awesome series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Could not get into it.

    Could not finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    In the Ascension Series, Caris Roane is creating something that

    In the Ascension Series, Caris Roane is creating something that just gets better with each book. It astounds me that someone can take snippets of modern culture, add a bit of legend and lore and then create this wonderful world. The Ascension Series is about more than a world in the throes of change, about more a world fighting to survive. It is about about fighting evil and yet not always knowing if what you are doing is working. It’s about the bad guys looking better than the good guys, politics, corruption, bureaucrats and how far people will go to fight evil.

    Born of Ashes is the fourth book in this series and yes it is the best so far. It seems Ms Roane is riding a wave and it is no where near hitting the shore. I hope it has yet to peak. In Born of Ashes we return to Second Earth and the battle against Greaves, Fiona having been rescued from her status as the oldest blood slave, living or dead, is committed to finding all of Rith’s slave holdings and destroying them. She has no time for such things as the Breh-Hedden, which to her mind was just another form of enslavement. No choice, forced attraction, undeniable and unreal. The problem is she is crazy about Jean-Pierre, the Warrior who has been assigned as her guardian and who just happens to be her Breh-Hedden.

    Jean-Pierre, the sexiest of the Warriors (IMHO) is actually quite young in the grand scheme of things and has only been a Warrior for a couple of centuries and retains much of his first Earth Issues. Namely having been falsely betrayed by his wife, the love of his mortal life, to the French Revolution. He doesn’t trust in love and he certainly doesn’t want the Breh-Hedden. Assigned to be her guardian by the ever interesting Endelle, he has been wearing himself out fighting Death Vamps and protecting Fiona, who has been making things very difficult for him. Limited personal times by way of twice monthly torture, ok dates..

    As they fight their attraction Greaves and company are beginning to play out the fight in the poll of public opinion. While Endelle is a PR nightmare, Greaves has it all figured out. Greaves, while Rith close at hand, publicly declares him public enemy Number One even going so far as to offer a reward. We also meet Casimer, a fourth ascender who has been cast out.The upper dimension like to think of the lower ones as penal colonies..

    While Fiona and Jean-Pierre resolve their conflicts and learn to work together they discover that Fiona is an Obsidian Flame. As the Obsidian Flame she is part of a triad and the fight to learn her powers and gather the rest of the triad is a race. Greaves and company want to destroy any power that might help Endelle. Secret 6th level ascenders are sending vague messages that at first look to hurt Endelle’s chances. Oh and just to make things interesting. Fiona connects with a mysterious seer who plays a huge part in this story and I am sure in future ones.

    Revenge, mayhem, obsession, love, friendship are the main themes in this book and that is just with the good guys. It is a compelling, fascinating, intriguing and multi layered wonder of words. With each page comes a new twist, with each solution comes a new problem. People that are supposed to be serving good, those that are not considered evil, have agendas, power, control and then comes family. I like that this book really speaks on family connections.

    There is so much to see and read in this book it virtually surrounds the senses while all that power is being displayed and control is fought over, the delightful decadence of some of the scenes sent shivers up my spine. Sensual lovemaking scenes.where desire and need collide.Powerful individuals who maintain control of their worlds learn to let go and let love.

    Do I recommend this book? In case you wonder? Oh yeah Ms Roane has set her bar high..

    Shauni

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Well I can only speak on what I am able to read the series is awesome

    I can't read this until Jan so I can give a review on it.

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2