Customer Reviews for

Born of Illusion

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Anna VanHousen has been assisting in her mother¿s , Marguerite,

Anna VanHousen has been assisting in her mother’s , Marguerite, magic act since she was a child. Marguerite is a medium while Anna wow’s the crowd with slide of hand tricks and escaping hand cuffs. Anna and Marguerite’s relationship is volatile, as Anna gets older it se...
Anna VanHousen has been assisting in her mother’s , Marguerite, magic act since she was a child. Marguerite is a medium while Anna wow’s the crowd with slide of hand tricks and escaping hand cuffs. Anna and Marguerite’s relationship is volatile, as Anna gets older it seems Marguerite is becoming jealous of Anna’s abilities but the true secret is Anna’s abilities are real while Marguerite is a con and illusions.

Anna life takes a drastic change when she meets her landlord’s nephew. It seems all her abilities are enhanced when the Cole, the nephew, is around. Most disturbing is the recurring vision of her mother bound and her struggling to breath being pulled into the depths of water.

This was an interesting story of a young woman finding her place in the world. Even though Anna is truly magically gifted, discovering her inner strength and identity still is a daunting task. I appreciated the relationship she built with the grumpy old man Mr. Darby and her interactions with Houdini. An original stride in the paranormal young adult genre, Born of Illusions provided a fun and entertaining read with an intriguing mystery to boot.

This ARC copy of Born of Illusion was given to me by HarperCollins - Balzer Bray in exchange for a honest review. This Book is set for publication on June 11, 2013.

posted by Sailon on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Born of Illusio

***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

Born of Illusion by Teri Brown
Book One of the Born of Illusion series
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: June 11, 2013
Rating: 3 stars
Source: eARC from Edelweiss

Summary (from Goodreads):

Anna Van Housen is th...
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

Born of Illusion by Teri Brown
Book One of the Born of Illusion series
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: June 11, 2013
Rating: 3 stars
Source: eARC from Edelweiss

Summary (from Goodreads):

Anna Van Housen is thirteen the first time she breaks her mother out of jail. By sixteen she’s street smart and savvy, assisting her mother, the renowned medium Marguerite Van Housen, in her stage show and séances, and easily navigating the underground world of magicians, mediums and mentalists in 1920’s New York City. Handcuffs and sleight of hand illusions have never been much of a challenge for Anna. The real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother, who will stop at nothing to gain her ambition of becoming the most famous medium who ever lived. But when a strange, serious young man moves into the flat downstairs, introducing her to a secret society that studies people with gifts like hers, he threatens to reveal the secrets Anna has fought so hard to keep, forcing her to face the truth about her past. Could the stories her mother has told her really be true? Could she really be the illegitimate daughter of the greatest magician of all?


What I Liked:

It's a known fact that I don't read too much fiction set in the 1900s. I like historical fiction that is set in the 19th century and before, and modern fiction. But fiction in the 20th century... for some reason, it's never really appealed to me. So I was really hesitant to read this book, though I was curious about the magic described in the synopsis.

I wasn't overly impressed with this book, but I still found the idea of the book very interesting. The main character, Anna, has exceptional skills with magic and illusions. But she's more than a girl with magic tricks - she seems to be a medium, who can communicate with spirits and see things in the future. So, as an illusionist working with her mother, she has to be careful with her gift as a medium.

I liked Anna, and I don't think I ever got frustrated with her as a character. It was easy to follow her decisions and thoughts throughout the novel. I don't know much about the 1920's and how young ladies are supposed to act, but I assume the author did a good job with the authenticity of Anna's character.

The romance was kind of silly, in my opinion. There is a "love triangle", but it's pretty obvious from the beginning which guy Anna really likes. I saw right through the secondary love interest, as soon as we meet him.

The plot was not that interesting, in my opinion, but it wasn't hard to finish this book. I was interested and invested enough to make it through the book, especially once I hit the climax. I wanted to know what would happen, but at the the same time, I had an excellent idea of what would happen. And it did happen. Predictable end.


What I Did Not Like:

I think my biggest problem with this book was that the plot wasn't all that engaging, and I was sort of bored the entire time. I knew that I wasn't going to NOT finish this book, but at the same time, I sort of skimmed parts of this book. I wasn't really sucked into the plot, though I did think it was kind of interesting. It seems like the first part of the book was sort of interesting, but I lost interest as the book went on. Until the climax occurred. But then the end was so predictable.

I hate Anna's mother. Anna spends the entire book saying how much her mother doesn't care about her, or trust her, or doesn't like her, but then in the end... what!? Maybe this is a 1920's thing that I just don't understand. But if you think someone doesn't like you THAT MUCH, I would distance myself from that person. Or at least, NOT put up with their crap all of the time.

And the romance. What?! I feel like the author did a great job of putting together Anna and the secondary interest, but then the author sort of shoved Anna and the primary love interest together. It seemed forced. If I hadn't seen through the secondary love interest's facade from the time he is introduced, I might have been on his side. But the romance just kind of flopped, for me.

And I'm still confused about the whole Houdini-is-your-father angle. Who cares?! What does that have to do with anything?! That didn't seem to be a major plot point, and yet, it's in the summary, and it's mentioned throughout the book. And people freak out when they hear that Anna is (supposedly) Houdini's daughter.

Again. Who cares?! Why does that matter?! Does that make a difference in Anna's life? Is that where she got her medium ability? And do we ever get a proper explanation? No. Anna meets Houdini, Anna's mother is mad, Houdini remembers Anna's mother, but no one actually says anything about the truth of the matter, and why it is such a big deal. UGH.

Basically, I got bored after a while, but the plot was still interesting. The romance was blah, and the end was predictable.


Would I Recommend It:

No. I know that this is a big Harper title, and many people were excited to read this one. But I still don't really recommend it. There are so many books that I need to get through (this being one of them), and I'm glad I was given the opportunity to read this one, but I wish I could have liked this one more.


Rating: 

3 stars. Not the most impressive debut, in my opinion.

posted by Alyssa75 on July 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anna has a secret - she can see the future. It's a secret she's

    Anna has a secret - she can see the future. It's a secret she's carefully guarded and never revealed to anyone, especially not her famous medium mother who only plays at talking to the dead and telling peoples' futures through trickery, research and guesswork. After a transient childhood full of close calls, narrow escapes from the law, and a constant whirlwind of carnivals, stages, seances, and performances across the country, fate (and their new manager) has finally brought Anna and her mother to New York City. They've booked their show at the Newmark Theatre, have starting catering to a more upper-crust clientele, and are living in an actual home for the first time in Anna's life. Despite her growing discomfort with the deceit involved in her mother's seances, she hopes that their current situation will provide them both with some stability, some respectability and some normalcy. But when her occasional psychic visions start occurring with alarming frequency revealing disturbing flashes of herself and her mother in danger, when her repertoire of supernatural gifts begins expanding, and when her handsome and mysterious downstairs neighbor seems to know something about her talents, Anna determines to get to the bottom of what's going on.


    Anna. I loved Anna. Her search for normalcy and her longing to have a family and roots is relatable, even amidst all of the abnormalities that surround her. Careful, cautious, observant, street-savvy, stubborn, resourceful, intuitive, brave, creative and resourceful - all these qualities make Anna a wonderful heroine to read and to root for. Anna's tired of being on the move all the time, of deceiving the grieving and heartbroken, of keeping up the pretense that her mother isn't a fraud. Her mother's insistence on continuing to hold private seances helps put food on their table, but it also holds Anna hostage to a lifestyle she's becoming more and more disenchanted with. A talented magician in her own right, Anna is also tired of being jealously pushed aside, always playing second fiddle to her limelight-loving mother. And yet no matter how complicated their relationship, Anna loves her mother, and has an overwhelming desire to protect her, no matter how frustrated she gets.


    Mommy Dearest. And this was perhaps my favorite part of this novel - the complicated relationship Anna has with her mother. A medium, an actress, a diva, the consummate performer, Madam Marguerite Van Housen has never been an ideal mother due to her prevailing love of fame and performing. From a very early age, Anna was the one coming to her mother's rescue, the one checking the marks and learning the local gossip, the practical one behind the scenes keeping their little duo together, forcing her to grow up quickly. Throughout the book, Anna is torn between her love and concern for her mother, and her exhaustion with navigating the emotional minefield of her mother's manipulations, demands, ego, and games, all while being uncertain of the true nature of her mother's feelings for her. I just loved how much focus Brown put on this most complicated female relationship and the resolution of this particular relationship between Anna and her mother.


    "Two boys. And I call them Boy One and Boy Two."1 Speaking of relationships, let's talk romance and boys. Yes, boys plural. I know what you're thinking, but though there are two potential male interests in this story, I never considered this story to be a true love triangle. Boy One is serious, smart, observant, perceptive, protective (while respectful of Anna's independence), and has a rare, but surprising, sense of humor. Boy Two is outgoing, carefree, charming... and talks like he just finished reading The Cat's Meow: 1920s Slang for Dummies. Though it takes Anna a little longer (and rightly so, given her circumstances) it didn't take me long at all to completely fall for one of them and I loved watching the romance between Anna and "Boy Who Wins Her Heart" develop.


    "Are you watching closely?"2 All in all, Born of Illusion proved to be a pretty decent mystery. I guessed the ending long before the big reveal, but it didn't bother me overly much and it was still entertaining to discover just how all the pieces fit together. It was a story that kept moving steadily forward, though I wish it had maintained a higher sense of urgency, especially at the end.


    I also love the historical integration of the all the things that made this novel feel period - the clothes, the atmosphere, the spiritualist culture, the language - while, at the same time, the story also gives off a very modern vibe. Anna lived in an age in which women had just won the vote, in which they were becoming more independent of men and emerging from centuries of patriarchal repression and Teri Brown definitely captures that spirit in her heroine.


    Overall. With a fantastic heroine, fun mystery, fascinating historical setting, and lovely romance, Born of Illusion is the bee's knees.


    1 Dr. Seuss = The cat's pajamas
    2 The Prestige... which I totally watched again after reading this. Next up... The Illusionist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anna VanHousen has been assisting in her mother¿s , Marguerite,

    Anna VanHousen has been assisting in her mother’s , Marguerite, magic act since she was a child. Marguerite is a medium while Anna wow’s the crowd with slide of hand tricks and escaping hand cuffs. Anna and Marguerite’s relationship is volatile, as Anna gets older it seems Marguerite is becoming jealous of Anna’s abilities but the true secret is Anna’s abilities are real while Marguerite is a con and illusions.

    Anna life takes a drastic change when she meets her landlord’s nephew. It seems all her abilities are enhanced when the Cole, the nephew, is around. Most disturbing is the recurring vision of her mother bound and her struggling to breath being pulled into the depths of water.

    This was an interesting story of a young woman finding her place in the world. Even though Anna is truly magically gifted, discovering her inner strength and identity still is a daunting task. I appreciated the relationship she built with the grumpy old man Mr. Darby and her interactions with Houdini. An original stride in the paranormal young adult genre, Born of Illusions provided a fun and entertaining read with an intriguing mystery to boot.

    This ARC copy of Born of Illusion was given to me by HarperCollins - Balzer Bray in exchange for a honest review. This Book is set for publication on June 11, 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Good read

    This book is really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    I had SO much fun reading Born of Illusion, and I loved the litt

    I had SO much fun reading Born of Illusion, and I loved the little details which make this book stand out from the crowd of newly-released YA. Between a super cool setting, bizarre character dynamics, and a little bit of real-life magic thrown in, this book has a lot going for it. Also, I think the cover is very fitting for the book and really stands out to me because of how well it was designed even if it isn't the most unique book cover I've seen.




    Reasons to Read:




    1. An intriguing New York in the 1920's setting:




    This was probably my favourite aspect of the book: I adored this setting. You get jazz era prohibition, and we're just past the turn of the century when all sorts of ideas and things are all shiny and new (which we especially get to see regarding technology). And Teri Brown gives it enough attention, by including (brief) descriptions of clothing, scenes, and even the lifestyle in general.




    2. Contemplative exploration of various relationships:




    Born of Illusion was heavily character-driven to me, best evidenced through the various relationships and character dynamics found in this book. Anna's relationship with her mother was the most intriguing to me, because it isn't your typical mother-daughter relationship but it's also very present in the plot and one of the main motivations for Anna's decision-making. Anna also manages to make a number of new friends, all of whom are vastly different from Anna but it's touching to see how friendships can come about in unexpected ways.




    3. Magic that's more than an illusion:




    I loved that there was this struggle for Anna between pretending that the tricks and illusions she does with her mother are real for their customers, while at the same time hiding her genuine "magical" abilities from those around her. It just made for such an interesting dichotomy between these two types of magic, and made the story more believable for me as a reader.




    It took me some time to warm up to most of the secondary characters, because they felt very one-dimensional to me at first. This was definitely the type of book that takes a little bit longer to solidify its development, but once it did I was remarkably impressed with how thoughtful the plot was in Born of Illusion. I'm really looking forward to the sequel, Born of Deception. 




    ARC received from HarperCollins Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Born of Illusion is a wonderfully delicious swirl of historical

    Born of Illusion is a wonderfully delicious swirl of historical fiction and magic.

    Anna Van Housen can sense feelings and see the future. She's lived an unpredictable life in which she has traveled from place to place and has helped her mother escape imprisonment multiple times. Not to mention, she and her mother break the law quite regularly.

    Stories with magicians really intrigue me and Born of Illusion is everything I wanted in that department. Miss Brown not only showed us the magic everyone else saw but also everything the Van Housen women had to do behind the scenes. We were able to see their every secret. None of the magic was lost in those revelations though and the magic tricks and illusions were just as wonderful. Some of my favorite parts were the séances. They weren't dark but they were just creepy enough for you to really enjoy them.

    The historical time period Miss Brown chose was perfect for the job. It added just the right amount of that old world feel mixed with the excitement and uncertainty the new technology and way of life the 1920s brought. I could not have asked for a better setting.

    The love story left a little something to be desired. Anna and Cole are both perfect for each other but it wasn't as developed as I would have liked. (You can see my full run down on their relationship here.)

    My only other complaint is the ending. Everything builds and builds until Anna finally confronts the antagonist but then you missed everything because she goes unconscious. It left things very anti-climatic for me.

    With that said, I'm curious to see what Miss Brown will be doing with the next book. She left things pretty tied up, leaving a few loose ends and just enough room for another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a cool way to teach us kids about the history of secret soc

    What a cool way to teach us kids about the history of secret societies coming from the real live secret societies from the 1800′s. This is a very exciting book that makes you want to jump inside and wish you could be Anna.
    “I wish we had met under different circumstances. That I didn’t have to try to explain.”
    Anna has some incredible powers as a magician and illusionist and just might possibly be the unknown daughter of the very famous magician, Harry Houdini. Anna lives among the New York City underground during the 1920′s and was only thirteen when she really put her magic to the test for the first time, when she broke her mom out of jail. But, her mom is all about making it big as a medium and if she knew Anna had these talents would use her like a freak show to benefit from it.

    When a strange man notices that Anna has talent, he takes her to a secret society where she is forced to expose herself and starts wondering if all those crazy stories her mom told her are real. Could she really be the daughter of Houdini?

    This book is the start to a new series that will feature a special kid and a new secret society in every book. It’s packed with adventure and so much action that I know you will like it as much as I did!
    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review* 
    *You can view the original review at Musing with Crayolakym and San Francisco & Sacramento City Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1