Customer Reviews for

Born of Night (League Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 482 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(316)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I was skeptical

I am a huge fan of the Dark Hunter novels and so when I saw this on the shelf I thought "hell, it's sherrilyn...can't be bad." But I read the back when I got home and just wasn't feeling it. It sat on my baby bookshelf for about 2 weeks. All I can say is that I was an i...
I am a huge fan of the Dark Hunter novels and so when I saw this on the shelf I thought "hell, it's sherrilyn...can't be bad." But I read the back when I got home and just wasn't feeling it. It sat on my baby bookshelf for about 2 weeks. All I can say is that I was an idiot. At this point in time if someone asked me what I liked more the Leauge or the Hunters...I would lean more toward the League. It's just freaking insane how she does it, the details, the emotions, the plot (Which is great throughout all 3 of the novels...I read the other 2 in a day.) So if your a fan of the her writing do it...and don't let it sit because your afraid a bad series would ruin your favorite author...because this one is fabulous. :)

posted by Opals4Ophelia on December 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Love it! Can wait for the next book

this book was really good i couldn't put it down and i dont want to say too much other then sherrilyn kenyon knows how to deliver a story cant wait for the next book and you will shed some tears while you read this. enjoy!

posted by juray123 on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    I was skeptical

    I am a huge fan of the Dark Hunter novels and so when I saw this on the shelf I thought "hell, it's sherrilyn...can't be bad." But I read the back when I got home and just wasn't feeling it. It sat on my baby bookshelf for about 2 weeks. All I can say is that I was an idiot. At this point in time if someone asked me what I liked more the Leauge or the Hunters...I would lean more toward the League. It's just freaking insane how she does it, the details, the emotions, the plot (Which is great throughout all 3 of the novels...I read the other 2 in a day.) So if your a fan of the her writing do it...and don't let it sit because your afraid a bad series would ruin your favorite author...because this one is fabulous. :)

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it! Can wait for the next book

    this book was really good i couldn't put it down and i dont want to say too much other then sherrilyn kenyon knows how to deliver a story cant wait for the next book and you will shed some tears while you read this. enjoy!

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    LOVED IT

    I love this author. I don't think I have read anything from Ms. Kenyon/Ms. McKinley that I did not like. Will always read her material. Loved the book, loved the creative universe that was created. Loved the hero especially when he stated that his bones ached every morning and tired easily. The heroine had a bad attitude at first, but then she started to grow on me. Loved the characters and their supporting parties. Also recommened the Dark-Hunter, Were-Hunter, and Dream Hunter series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    contains spoilers...

    First of all I love this author and yes this was a good book, HOWEVER, now that I've said that I have to say I was a bit disappointed. Nykyrian was strangely like Acheron hmmmm. All the way down to the illagitamate daughter he didn't know about. Which that part annoyed me the most and made me want to put the book down entirely. Now normally its not a big deal to me, but why did she even HAVE to throw that in there? There was no place for it and it wasn't even NEEDED! I thought the whole story flip flopped alot oh i love her but she could never love me and then oh he doesn't love me he left me, but I'll love him forever. The two characters were never on the same page, but both blatantly liked each other with a few minor drawbacks. I don't know maybe it's just me. I loved the concept of the whole world, but I think it could have been a little better. I'll still get the next book in hopes it will be redeeming.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    Loved this book!!!!

    The characters and the story held my attention and I couldn't put the book down. I love Sherrilyn Kenyon's books and this moved to the top of my favorite book list. I can hardly wait for the next book to come out next month.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    couldn't get into it...

    couldn't get into it...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    Another great series...

    This was a great book. I was concerned about starting a new Kenyon series but in no time I was hooked. As always Kenyon's writing is visually stimulating her creative writing is capturing. The charactors are charming. I was so glad that I purchased all three books at once and was only sad when there was no fourth for me to move on to. I loved it...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    Kenyon continues to deliver.

    Kenyon books seem to fall within the category of "can't put down until I finish it". I have been an avid fan for a long time and have purchased every book of hers that I can get my hands on. I tried to purchase this series of books in their original publications but they were out of print. Frankly, I'm glad. Once she had completed her re-write, it was a done deal and all three books were ordered in advance. She was right, the characters came to life stronger than before. It was worth waiting for. The male leads in the first two books shared a history a little too close to Acheron but not enough to blemish the completed story. For anyone who follows the genre, her books are a must read. Wild, bold, troubled and irristible male leads who seem to find females who blend into the perfect mate as well as being as formidable as the men, no matter the circumstances, allow the readers to lose themselves in not only the love but the conflicts. Have read all three in the League series and lust for more. There are too many interesting and needful characters to be left hanging in mid-space. Look forward to the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Princess Kiara has once again been kidnapped, only it looks like she may not survive it this time. The last thing she expects is to be saved by the infamous Nemesis, an assassin reputed to be cold and ruthless and the only assassin to have ever quit The League, the corrupt organisation that governs the universe, and continue breathing. Nemesis has vowed to protect the innocent now that the League no longer has him on a leash, but the feelings he has for Kiara are far from innocent and she soothes him in a way his tortured past has never experienced.

    Until I read Born of Night I have never been a fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon, I find her tendency to inflict torturous pasts on nearly every single character she has ever written a little disturbing and melodramatic. However, for some reason if her poor characters are floating around in space apparently I will enjoy it.

    I confess I do love a romance sci-fi, all those alien wibbling their bits about, love it! But Born of Night wasn’t my typical corny sci fi romance, it has started to build an interesting universe with characters and races I can’t wait to hear more about and with a ruthless and corrupt organisation, The League, that I can’t wait to see be torn down.

    As for the romance, it was all sweet and sexy, Nykiarrian and Kiara were a lovely couple, who both needed one another. As typical with a book penned by Sherrilyn Kenyon, both characters had their horrific pasts to contend, especially Nyk, but although I have read that kind of thing before, I still enjoyed reading as love conquered all! As for Nyk, he has made it straight in to my harem, something about that long blonde hair and green eyes rawr *claws air*.

    This is basically Dark Hunters in Space, but instead of paranormal warriors and gods we have aliens and space ships, now I am not a fan of the former, but I love the latter. I highly recommend giving this book a try even if you don’t normally read sci-fi, if you enjoy romance, especially of the Sherrilyn Kenyon variety, then you will love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    Disappointing!

    I thought I had read normally everything Sherrilyn Kenyon/Kinley MacGregor has published. I felt that this book was clearly her first attempt at writing (as she stated) and does not reflect the talent that she has evolved to. Her characters are normally very witty, in a suitably sarcastic way, but in this book they felt stilted and lacking chemistry. Normally I can't put one of her books down. With this book, I found it hard to keep on reading. The writing seemed improved in the last quarter of the book making it more enjoyable but overall I was very disappointed in the quality.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    Very good book with an interesting but torturous past for the he

    Very good book with an interesting but torturous past for the hero.  I really enjoyed the interactions between Nyk and Kiara and their love story was heartwarming. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Very Good

    Even though the League Series seems to have the same themes as the DH series, I really enjoyed this. Nykyrian is my fave and he and Kiara are great together. I loved the theme of family between the characters even though they are different "species".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Fun Sci-Fi!

    I enjoyed this book, enjoyed the plot and the action but it was a bit dramatic when it came to the feelings the two main characters had for each other. It is a young adult novel, but because it has sex scenes, not for the too young!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Stereotypical

    Okay, but not impressed - wouldn't have spent money on it. Stereotypical; won't be reading the rest of this series. Her other series is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Astounding

    I have reread this book a thousand times. It never gets old. I just fall more in love with this world every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Pretty good.

    Overall it was a great book but,it had many simple spelling errors that left me wondering if she even had an editor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Good read

    Thoroughly enjoyed this read. The characters had me fully engrossed into thier lives and this world the author has created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Kiss your...

    Kiss your hand three times then post this three times then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Extremely depressing

    There was a great story line but not for the Romance category. The guy was completely tortured/abused his whole life lusting after a chick that couldn't comprehend. She, of course, was TSTL (too stupid to live) as a hit was placed on her, and she refused to listen. He constantly saved her a great peril to himself. She was not a strong character and seemed to cause more problems than healing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25