Customer Reviews for

Born of Night (League Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 487 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I was skeptical

I am a huge fan of the Dark Hunter novels and so when I saw this on the shelf I thought "hell, it's sherrilyn...can't be bad." But I read the back when I got home and just wasn't feeling it. It sat on my baby bookshelf for about 2 weeks. All I can say is that I was an i...
I am a huge fan of the Dark Hunter novels and so when I saw this on the shelf I thought "hell, it's sherrilyn...can't be bad." But I read the back when I got home and just wasn't feeling it. It sat on my baby bookshelf for about 2 weeks. All I can say is that I was an idiot. At this point in time if someone asked me what I liked more the Leauge or the Hunters...I would lean more toward the League. It's just freaking insane how she does it, the details, the emotions, the plot (Which is great throughout all 3 of the novels...I read the other 2 in a day.) So if your a fan of the her writing do it...and don't let it sit because your afraid a bad series would ruin your favorite author...because this one is fabulous. :)

posted by Opals4Ophelia on December 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Love it! Can wait for the next book

this book was really good i couldn't put it down and i dont want to say too much other then sherrilyn kenyon knows how to deliver a story cant wait for the next book and you will shed some tears while you read this. enjoy!

posted by juray123 on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    contains spoilers...

    First of all I love this author and yes this was a good book, HOWEVER, now that I've said that I have to say I was a bit disappointed. Nykyrian was strangely like Acheron hmmmm. All the way down to the illagitamate daughter he didn't know about. Which that part annoyed me the most and made me want to put the book down entirely. Now normally its not a big deal to me, but why did she even HAVE to throw that in there? There was no place for it and it wasn't even NEEDED! I thought the whole story flip flopped alot oh i love her but she could never love me and then oh he doesn't love me he left me, but I'll love him forever. The two characters were never on the same page, but both blatantly liked each other with a few minor drawbacks. I don't know maybe it's just me. I loved the concept of the whole world, but I think it could have been a little better. I'll still get the next book in hopes it will be redeeming.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice Read

    Even though Sherrilyn Kenyon is on my "Disliked" author's list, i really enjoyed this book... mostly. I enjoyed Syn's character. He had me laughing some of the time but the romance between the two main characters were predictable. Born of Fire, the 2nd book of the series, was also a good book mainly because it was Syn's story. However, ill recommend you dont waste your time on Born of Ice, the 3rd book, because i thought the characters and plot were mediocre. The first two books in this series are a good read and you'll find yourself either laughing out loud or crying from the Nemises's past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    Typical Kenyon fare

    if you've enjoyed her past books, you'll probably like this one too but it follows the same formulaic path of nearly every other book she has published.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    Disappointing

    I realize that this is one of the first book she wrote, however, I agree with another reviewer...sounds alot like Ash's story (Dark Hunter Series). I could not warm up to the heroine...she was too stupid to live! I get that she was suppose to be very naive; but it was ridiculous the way she acted & reacted. I would have liked a stronger heroine for Nyk. Hopefull in the next book with Syn as the hero we can have a strong heroine. I will definately look for the next in the series, however, I do not believe this one is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    Disappointing

    I loved her dark-hunter series, and was expecting allot with this book to her new series. But i was disappointed. It was long and slow to form. allot of conversations that i felt didn't need including, she could have summed it up in another way. the relationship was slow to form, and it wasn't stable. i think she could have done better with it. I think she also made the female to stupid. someone who is a trained assassin who is smart and knows people, in life he wouldn't be interested in her. she asks stupid questions, and is very nosy.

    Over all i wouldn't recommend this book unless you are really bored. it has a good plot, but the characters don't seem original and authentic. I felt like i couldn't relate to them in any way. I believe she was to focused on centering on the futuristic details then on the detials of the relationship and the people involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3