Customer Reviews for

Born of Silence (League Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I was excited to get this book. I thought, "Finally! Darl

I was excited to get this book. I thought, "Finally! Darling's story." Little did I know that Darling's story was going to be one of the absolute toughest books I've ever read.

Sherrilyn Kenyon has a gift in writing characters and storylines that absolutel...
I was excited to get this book. I thought, "Finally! Darling's story." Little did I know that Darling's story was going to be one of the absolute toughest books I've ever read.

Sherrilyn Kenyon has a gift in writing characters and storylines that absolutely rip you to shreds before you see the light at the end of the tunnel and know there's a happily ever after. With Darling's story, it's about a man who is forced to live a lie to help protect a family he feels doesn't care one iota about him. A man who finds the one person who makes him feel like he's the man he's supposed to be only to have that person devastate him in the worst way possible. Finally, a man who must learn that what you see at face value isn't what the people who matter most use to judge you.

Darling had a very hard, very cruel life. Forced to grow up when he father was assassinated by his uncle, Darling did what he had to in order to protect his mother, brothers and sister. They all, in their own way, resented Darling for what he did or the lies he was forced to live, but only because of their impact on them...not necessarily what it meant Darling gave up for them.

Luckily for Darling, the one thing he was ever grateful to his uncle for was hiring Nykarian Quikades to protect him. The moment Nykarian discovered what was happening behind closed doors to Darling, he brought him under his wing and he joined the Sentella as a founding member. Under the identity of Kere, he became an outlaw and protector of those like his alter ego. It was while fighting the good fight with the Resistence battling his uncle's rule that Darling met the woman that would bring him the greatest pleasure and the ultimate pain of betrayal, Zarya - leader of the Resistance. He loved her and wanted to marry her, but he hoped the truth about his identity (something he hoped to reveal to her after his attempt to win his freedom from his uncle) wouldn't cause her to leave him.

I didn't think Zarya would ever be redeemed, in my eyes, after what happened to Darling. As Darling fought for his life and then begged for his death, it was Zarya laughter on the other side of a door that was his ultimate undoing. It was Zarya lack of follow up on what her people were doing with their prisoner, that caused the biggest issue for me. If maybe she had bothered to ask what they were doing she may have found the person she spent five months trying to locate and negated all the truly horrible, horrible, horrible (I can't say it enough...horrible) things that Darling had to endure. While Zarya doesn't deserve all of the blame in what happened, she does hold a lion share of it just because she never stopped to ask what was happening. That said, Zarya was the one that was able to bring Darling back from the brink. And when I say brink, I mean holding onto the edge by the nail of his pinky finger brink. Darling was a man who seemed broken beyond repair. It took the love, compassion and undeniable regret of the woman he loved with all his being to bring him back.

Darling also had a very unique relationship with his best friend, Maris. Forced to live the lie of being gay, it was Maris who helped Darling pull off the charade. Maris was the only person who knew Darling Cruel for his true self and would go to any lengths to ensure Darling was happy. While Darling loved Maris as a brother-in-arms, Maris was in love with Darling. Darling knew of Maris' feelings, but never exploited them. He was the one person he trusted and would protect. So it wasn't a surprise to find that while Darling skirted on the edges of sanity, it was Maris who could still connect with Darling and Maris who knew that it would be Zarya to save him. I loved Maris for knowing exactly what to do to save that man that he loved, even if what would save Darling wasn't him. It was a truly selfless act.

This was, by no means, an easy book to read. The storyline had dealt with prejudices and abuse that would have pushed a less stronger person over the edge well before it did Darling. The prejudices by the people that Darling has sworn to protect are probably the worst. Not only do the subjects of his governorship resent him and believe the lies spread about him, so do his family. The name calling and disregard for privacy are very, very hard to take at times. The abuse Darling suffered was just as gut wrenching. It truly demonstrated the strength of Darling's character that he was able to survive and become the born leader he was at the end.

An absolutely fabulous read. It won't be easy to get through, but the journey Sherrilyn Kenyon takes us on it well worth it. As with all the other Sentella members, Darling has to scrap bottom before he can get his happily ever after. His bottom was truly horrible, but in the end, it made his happily ever after well worth it.

posted by shannschoice on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Merry Go Round

Okay I love Sherrilyn Kenyon and have read her books for years. Unfortunately this is the same plot as the last five of her books that I have read. Emotionally compromised bad boy meets heroine who saves him. Same old same old.....and seriously, maybe it's time to la...
Okay I love Sherrilyn Kenyon and have read her books for years. Unfortunately this is the same plot as the last five of her books that I have read. Emotionally compromised bad boy meets heroine who saves him. Same old same old.....and seriously, maybe it's time to lay off the teenage male on male rapes. This is really getting old.

posted by ArmyKate on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Merry Go Round

    Okay I love Sherrilyn Kenyon and have read her books for years. Unfortunately this is the same plot as the last five of her books that I have read. Emotionally compromised bad boy meets heroine who saves him. Same old same old.....and seriously, maybe it's time to lay off the teenage male on male rapes. This is really getting old.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was excited to get this book. I thought, "Finally! Darl

    I was excited to get this book. I thought, "Finally! Darling's story." Little did I know that Darling's story was going to be one of the absolute toughest books I've ever read.

    Sherrilyn Kenyon has a gift in writing characters and storylines that absolutely rip you to shreds before you see the light at the end of the tunnel and know there's a happily ever after. With Darling's story, it's about a man who is forced to live a lie to help protect a family he feels doesn't care one iota about him. A man who finds the one person who makes him feel like he's the man he's supposed to be only to have that person devastate him in the worst way possible. Finally, a man who must learn that what you see at face value isn't what the people who matter most use to judge you.

    Darling had a very hard, very cruel life. Forced to grow up when he father was assassinated by his uncle, Darling did what he had to in order to protect his mother, brothers and sister. They all, in their own way, resented Darling for what he did or the lies he was forced to live, but only because of their impact on them...not necessarily what it meant Darling gave up for them.

    Luckily for Darling, the one thing he was ever grateful to his uncle for was hiring Nykarian Quikades to protect him. The moment Nykarian discovered what was happening behind closed doors to Darling, he brought him under his wing and he joined the Sentella as a founding member. Under the identity of Kere, he became an outlaw and protector of those like his alter ego. It was while fighting the good fight with the Resistence battling his uncle's rule that Darling met the woman that would bring him the greatest pleasure and the ultimate pain of betrayal, Zarya - leader of the Resistance. He loved her and wanted to marry her, but he hoped the truth about his identity (something he hoped to reveal to her after his attempt to win his freedom from his uncle) wouldn't cause her to leave him.

    I didn't think Zarya would ever be redeemed, in my eyes, after what happened to Darling. As Darling fought for his life and then begged for his death, it was Zarya laughter on the other side of a door that was his ultimate undoing. It was Zarya lack of follow up on what her people were doing with their prisoner, that caused the biggest issue for me. If maybe she had bothered to ask what they were doing she may have found the person she spent five months trying to locate and negated all the truly horrible, horrible, horrible (I can't say it enough...horrible) things that Darling had to endure. While Zarya doesn't deserve all of the blame in what happened, she does hold a lion share of it just because she never stopped to ask what was happening. That said, Zarya was the one that was able to bring Darling back from the brink. And when I say brink, I mean holding onto the edge by the nail of his pinky finger brink. Darling was a man who seemed broken beyond repair. It took the love, compassion and undeniable regret of the woman he loved with all his being to bring him back.

    Darling also had a very unique relationship with his best friend, Maris. Forced to live the lie of being gay, it was Maris who helped Darling pull off the charade. Maris was the only person who knew Darling Cruel for his true self and would go to any lengths to ensure Darling was happy. While Darling loved Maris as a brother-in-arms, Maris was in love with Darling. Darling knew of Maris' feelings, but never exploited them. He was the one person he trusted and would protect. So it wasn't a surprise to find that while Darling skirted on the edges of sanity, it was Maris who could still connect with Darling and Maris who knew that it would be Zarya to save him. I loved Maris for knowing exactly what to do to save that man that he loved, even if what would save Darling wasn't him. It was a truly selfless act.

    This was, by no means, an easy book to read. The storyline had dealt with prejudices and abuse that would have pushed a less stronger person over the edge well before it did Darling. The prejudices by the people that Darling has sworn to protect are probably the worst. Not only do the subjects of his governorship resent him and believe the lies spread about him, so do his family. The name calling and disregard for privacy are very, very hard to take at times. The abuse Darling suffered was just as gut wrenching. It truly demonstrated the strength of Darling's character that he was able to survive and become the born leader he was at the end.

    An absolutely fabulous read. It won't be easy to get through, but the journey Sherrilyn Kenyon takes us on it well worth it. As with all the other Sentella members, Darling has to scrap bottom before he can get his happily ever after. His bottom was truly horrible, but in the end, it made his happily ever after well worth it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    I give very few books five stars, I save it for my absolute favo

    I give very few books five stars, I save it for my absolute favorites and this is one of them. I've enjoyed all the othe League books (far better than the Dark Hunter ones in my opinion) but this one is my absolute favorite. Darling is so not perfect that he's perfect! I want one of my own!!!!!!! I just wanted to wrap him up and take care of him. And through everything he's so brave and strong that I want him to wrap me up and take care of me. I was up past midnight and only got 4 hours of sleep before work reading and rereading this book. This is a book that I'm not loaning out to friends; my copy is not leaving my sight! Friends will have to either purchase their own copy or wait until I'm able to purchase one for them. Fantastic!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Her worst book

    I've read all of the League Series, as well as her entire Dark Hunter/Dream Hunter series, and The Chronicles of Nick. This story could a have been comfortably told in half the pages. I actually skipped ahead here and there, which I've never done before. The main character's history of abuse and torture was over the top; Not make-you-feel-horrible over the top, but omg-enough-already over the top. Then the emotional roller coaster was repetitive and somewhat ridiculous. I usually enjoy her books and Pre-ordered this, but I was very disappointed.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A very talented author. I enjoyed the story. loved the character

    A very talented author. I enjoyed the story. loved the characters and the ending

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    I picked up this book because many people recommended the author

    I picked up this book because many people recommended the author. I enjoyed the beginning but the story just got stuck and repetitive. It just goes on and on about how Darling has suffered. He is constantly getting hurt and suffering while everyone one else goes through repeated revelations to his suffering. I couldn't do it, it was too much. The characters where all tortured souls with no other dimensions. The story could of lost a hundred or more pages and it wouldn't matter to the plot. In short I felt this story was repetitive, drawn out with a big dose of immature angst. I am disappointed. Why do grown people read this crap? I couldn't get more angst if I had read a teenage girl's diary.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Really Great

    I almost took a pass on this book because of some of the reviews. That would have been a big mistake. I loved the story. Yes it has some dark and painfull moments but I think it added to the story. This story was great and the author handled Darling's changed character very well. Can't wait for her next League release.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Worth waiting for

    Definately some dark material in this book but, what a great ending.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    The overall story is good. The only drawback is that Kenyon seem

    The overall story is good. The only drawback is that Kenyon seems to be trying to make Darling comprable to Ash and it is not working out so well. It is too over the top, every bad thing that could ever happen to someone happens to Darling, to the point that it becomes unbilievable. Other than that, its a nice story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book, next to Acheron, Darling is my fav

    I absolutely loved this book, next to Acheron, Darling is my favorite of Kenyon's characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I cant wait to actually read this book! im so excited! I have lo

    I cant wait to actually read this book! im so excited! I have loved every one of the league books and i cant get enough! this book should be no exception to that and i will probbaly read it over and over again. I def recommend her books. ALL the series. :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Loved it!!!!!!!

    I have read all of her books and they just keep getting better. I started out reading her dark-hunter books and i have to sayi LOVED every one of them and have even gone back to re-read them. This book like all the others in the league books is amazing. I recommend it to any one into romance. The author really brings you into the storiy and connects you to the characters in a way the you feel like they are your best friend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    I have loved everyone one of her books... the best

    I have loved everyone one of her books... the best

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Review 1335704121246

    This is a really nice book! 1335704121246

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    Repeating another great read!!!

    I know I sound like I'm just repeating myself but I don't know what else to say but another Great Success for Kenyon!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Not good

    Kenyon really needs to stop with her male leads getting raped all the time . I reall loved her her books, but the last few of them i have read have all been the same shes just going way to far with the rapes and torture. Kenyons books are getting to the point where i dont want to read them anymore. She used to be my favorite authour

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Torture

    This author can do better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Mega writer

    Great stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!

    She is one of my favorite !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8