Customer Reviews for

Born to Bite (Argeneau Vampire Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(222)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Argeneau Novel with a bit of mystery

Born to Bite is the 13th book in the Argeneau series by Lynsay Sands. This book takes place immediately after the Rouge Hunter with (I think) part of them coinciding.

Eshe, one of the Enforcers for the council, is sent to investigate Armand Argeneau in the deaths of...
Born to Bite is the 13th book in the Argeneau series by Lynsay Sands. This book takes place immediately after the Rouge Hunter with (I think) part of them coinciding.

Eshe, one of the Enforcers for the council, is sent to investigate Armand Argeneau in the deaths of his previous wives as well as the death of his son's wife. Armand is told by his brother Lucian that Eshe is in need of protection as a way to get Eshe in the door. While Eshe begins her investigation she discovers that there are many who care for Armand, including the town-folk where he lives, the families of his deceased wives and his second (Cedrick).

Born to Bite is not exactly the typical Argeneau novel, Eshe and Armand are already both immortal and have both previously had a life mate. There is no adjustment to learning about the immortals and the possibility of lifemates. Rather this book focus on discovering a mystery that has plagued Armand Argeneau for many years. I really enjoyed this addition to the series, getting the chance to get to know Eshe and Armand was a treat!

posted by jopmav on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I'm getting really bored with Lynsay Sands and this series. The story is always the same, only with different characters and occasionally, a different setting. But there is always the inevitable staking with which the lover will revive them with plenty of blood, blah bl...
I'm getting really bored with Lynsay Sands and this series. The story is always the same, only with different characters and occasionally, a different setting. But there is always the inevitable staking with which the lover will revive them with plenty of blood, blah blah blah. Always the same, never changing. And the predictibility is just ridiculous. I'm ready for something new and exciting, which thankfully I have found in other authors. If you've read one argeneau novel, then you have read them all. Don't waste your time or money.

posted by lizzy350 on January 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Argeneau Novel with a bit of mystery

    Born to Bite is the 13th book in the Argeneau series by Lynsay Sands. This book takes place immediately after the Rouge Hunter with (I think) part of them coinciding.

    Eshe, one of the Enforcers for the council, is sent to investigate Armand Argeneau in the deaths of his previous wives as well as the death of his son's wife. Armand is told by his brother Lucian that Eshe is in need of protection as a way to get Eshe in the door. While Eshe begins her investigation she discovers that there are many who care for Armand, including the town-folk where he lives, the families of his deceased wives and his second (Cedrick).

    Born to Bite is not exactly the typical Argeneau novel, Eshe and Armand are already both immortal and have both previously had a life mate. There is no adjustment to learning about the immortals and the possibility of lifemates. Rather this book focus on discovering a mystery that has plagued Armand Argeneau for many years. I really enjoyed this addition to the series, getting the chance to get to know Eshe and Armand was a treat!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring

    I'm getting really bored with Lynsay Sands and this series. The story is always the same, only with different characters and occasionally, a different setting. But there is always the inevitable staking with which the lover will revive them with plenty of blood, blah blah blah. Always the same, never changing. And the predictibility is just ridiculous. I'm ready for something new and exciting, which thankfully I have found in other authors. If you've read one argeneau novel, then you have read them all. Don't waste your time or money.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Vangtastic read

    Exactly what you would expect from Lynsay Sands. Funny, Sexy and thrilling to read. I could not put the book down and the way she discribes their first tast of food again would make you think that Lynsay is a vampire herself. Great book and series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Happy resolution.

    Nothing better than resolving cliffhangers in a very satisfying way. And needless to say, Ms. Sands accomplished that easily.
    As always, I thoroughly enjoyed Lynsay's latest. The chemistry between the H/H was fabulous and kept me reading way, way passed my bedtime. Absolutely loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    I liked it, but....

    Let me begin by saying I love this series and I did like this book, however, Armand and Esche really did not have the sizzle of the couples in the previous books. I agree with the reviewer who said everything between them was "accepted and expected". Armand does at first try to send Esche away to protect her from the fate of his wives but he doesn't try very hard or for very long so no real sexual tension gets built up. Having said this, I am glad the mystery that left me hanging in the previous novel was cleard up and even though I thought I had it figured out early on, there was a twist I didn't expect. I still remain a fan of the series and will jump on the next novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    Not up to her usual.

    One of the reasons why I love reading Lynsay Sands is because her novels always have a great sense of humor and make me lol. This book has no humor at all. Too bad Lynsay lovers. This is her worst effort.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific atypical entry

    Vampire Armand Argeneau is stunned when his lifemate and two other women close to him all died mysteriously accidental. The Council sends undercover Enforcer Eshe d'Aureus to investigate the farmer as the brass wonders if Armand is a spousal serial killer. His brother Lucien enables Eshe to get onto Armand's farm as he tells his sibling that she is hiding from Leonius Livius the second who wants her dead.

    As she investigates her host, she and Armand are shocked to realize they are life mates. Neither is pleased with this revelation as she fears she loves a psychopathic murderer and he fears the three women he cherished were murdered by an unknown adversary who probably will make his fourth female he holds dearly the next target. When the incidents begin, Eshe wants to believe a third party is causing them, but she still has niggling doubts about her beloved as all evidence seems to point to him yet everyone who knows him including his in-laws think the world of him.

    The latest Argeneau urban fantasy (see Bite Me if You Can, Love Bites and A Quick Bite) is a terrific atypical entry in which the story line is more of a super investigative thriller rather than the vampire romance though the latter is a key secondary subplot. The story line is fast-paced and contains amusing interludes especially when Eshe drives Lucien crazy. Series fans will relish this wonderful tale while newcomers will also appreciate the vampiric whodunit.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Yes

    I love the way lynsay sands puts her plots together. Well read, easy to follow, another series I can not get enough of. I can not see how I missed any of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Armand seemed to be plagued with the worst luck in the women dep

    Armand seemed to be plagued with the worst luck in the women department. Losing 3 wives and a daughter-in-law, he finally decided,
    even before his son list his wife, to stay away from family members, but especially the female's. This of course led to a very lonely life
    and at the top of the councils suspect list. Lucian brings in Eshe to find the truth, and what results is a great mystery along with the two
    discovering they are life mates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    A really good series!

    Immortals, really good looking immortals, that fall in love with mortal women. Comedy and danger come into play to make this a fast page turner or on a nook a quick page swipper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Amazing series....I will be truthfully sad when I am through wit

    Amazing series....I will be truthfully sad when I am through with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Excellent read.

    Sands has created human characters that are far from Stoker's nightmares. There is much humour, tenderness, and a mystery plot that rides to the end.
    As with the preceding novels in this series, I highly recommend the Argeneau vampire series for light, and yet, some semi-serious reading entertainment.

    -------Leonard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Justin

    Played with the ring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Sarah

    Hello?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Most action packed

    I really do enjoy this series. Note that you should read them in order. I started on 15 and then grabbed the first book on my nook at a discount. After reading book one I couldnt put it down. Born to Bite has been my favorite with action and drama. I even shed a tear at the end a true sign of a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    highly recommend

    awesome books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Keeping true to the series Lynsay delivers yet again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Excelent

    Love it! you will like this book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Great book

    Anyine whi strting to the read the series will enjoy this book since its giving answers to the pervious book...thats lynsay sands style in a way leave yiu hanging till yiu buy the next book to explain how and why its fun and entertaining...if you dont like well thats to bad...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    I LOVE TO LAUGH!!!!

    LYNSAY IS TRULY FUNNY WITH A ROMANTIC TWIST! SHE ADDS A LITTLE MYSTERY AND WRAPS IT ALL UP WITH FAMILIAR CHARACTERS THROUGHOUT THIS SERIES

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21