Customer Reviews for

Born to Darkness

Average Rating 3.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I have a hard time finding an author I enjoy reading so when I find one I stick with him or her and read everything they write. I've read all of the books from Brockmann's seal team series and thoroughly enjoyed them. I enjoy futuristic books also which this series is. ...
I have a hard time finding an author I enjoy reading so when I find one I stick with him or her and read everything they write. I've read all of the books from Brockmann's seal team series and thoroughly enjoyed them. I enjoy futuristic books also which this series is. I read to escape and this was a good book to escape with. I enjoyed the characters and cannot wait to see want happens next with them. I've read all of J.D. Robbs futuristic crime series and love those too. I hope this helps you, I dislike writing reviews.

posted by FlamingoLady on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not up to her standard

I really enjoyed her Tall, Dark and Dangerous and Toubleshooters series, but not this one so much. Why is it that so many authors portray the future as being dark, dangerous, and corrupt? I know that she still loves her son, so I don't mind the homosexual stories, call ...
I really enjoyed her Tall, Dark and Dangerous and Toubleshooters series, but not this one so much. Why is it that so many authors portray the future as being dark, dangerous, and corrupt? I know that she still loves her son, so I don't mind the homosexual stories, call me a prude, but I really don't need to know about their open mouth kisses. I have also learned not to purchase via pre-order. I was expecting this book to come out in paper back, like her others, there fore I was really disapointed to find I paid over $12 for this book, to me it was more likely to be a $7.99 book, but I still think I would have over paid at that..

posted by minimum91739 on September 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Good read

    I have a hard time finding an author I enjoy reading so when I find one I stick with him or her and read everything they write. I've read all of the books from Brockmann's seal team series and thoroughly enjoyed them. I enjoy futuristic books also which this series is. I read to escape and this was a good book to escape with. I enjoyed the characters and cannot wait to see want happens next with them. I've read all of J.D. Robbs futuristic crime series and love those too. I hope this helps you, I dislike writing reviews.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book....perfection

    My Review:
    When I first started this blog, it was because I was completely immersed with Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooter world and NEEDED to share that passion with someone...and so a book review blog was born. This is her first book she's released since she finished the Troubleshooter series and I wasn't sure how it would go. Why did I ever doubt this author's brilliance? I'm a little scared to say it, but I could maybe just love this world even more than I loved the Troubleshooters. OMG, this book was so good!!!

    What surprised me most is that there is a paranormal aspect to this series and I absolutely LOVED it. This world is set in the near future...and the future isn't so great for most people. Jobs are scarce, basic services like healthcare and police protection are non-existent unless you are part of the very exclusive rich. In this new world, it's been discovered that people can use more of their brain power. Some have the capability to do it naturally, called Greater-Than's, and other's use incredibly expensive, addictive, and dangerous drugs, called Destiny, to do so. Not only is the drug dangerous, but it has to be made from the blood of those who can naturally use those extra parts of their brain so there is a very lucrative slave market for those people.

    There is a whole team in this book who are from the Obermeyer Institute. The OI is a privately funded organization which is made up of Greater-Thans who work to find the Destiny distributors and do their own research into these new skills.

    The bulk of this book is about Mac and Shane. Mac is one of the top 3 Other-Than's at the OI. Her power is empathy and she can switch everything about her aura and appearance to appeal to others. She uses this skill to draw in men...both on missions and when she needs an extra boost. She's discovered when she's hurt, she can boost her healing powers by having sex.

    Shane is a former SEAL who's been dishonorably discharged for doing the right thing within a corrupt government. As a result, he's been blacklisted and has no opportunities for other employment. He came on OI's radar as a potential Greater-Than and is slated to go in for testing which requires a lock-down and loss of freedom. As a result, he decides he needs one last fling and meets Mac just when she is in need of some healing mojo. When they get together, literally sparks fly and it turns out Shane does more than just boost Mac's healing power. At the time, she has no idea he's slated to become a new OI potential. And that's the way it starts...

    Whoa! OMG, this book was so good. Not only do you have these two incredible characters with Shane and Mac. Mac is scarred and wounded from the chaos her powers have wrought. Shane is just...YUM, incredible. Mac keeps pushing him away and he just keeps pushing her right back. He refuses to give up on her and their relationship no matter how many times she pushes him away. Gah, he was awesome!!!

    Then there are the other amazing characters in this book:

    *Bach- who is the most powerful Greater-Than at OI. He is such an amazing being, but so freaking vulnerable. I think his scenes in this book are absolutely the most emotional. My heart just ached for him...over and over again.

    *Diaz- he shares second in command with Mac. He's been with OI for 15 years and unlike Mac has taken all their edicts to heart...including their push towards abstinence...15 years, people!!! This was an absolutely fantastic story line becau

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book. Shane was my favourite character. I couldn't stop re

    Great book. Shane was my favourite character. I couldn't stop reading and was sad when it was finished

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Got this one at the local library after quite the wait. lol Born

    Got this one at the local library after quite the wait. lol Born To Darkness is dystopian futuristic paranormal romance, for lack of a better category. Its US is a dark and dreary place; the US in which these events happen is one I can see coming, and hope like hell I'm wrong about.

    I loved this! Brockmann's other books about the SEALs had kinda reached a point where the number of people who merited at least a brief mention was getting just a bit unwieldy. I look forward to seeing more about some of the main characters (I do love my military men and my Troubleshooters!), and it still seems like she's reached a pretty decent resting place for now. It might be interesting if at some point in the future of this series, she's able to tie it back in some way to previous characters.

    The cast of this book is fairly large, too, with eightish main characters and nearly a dozen secondary/supporting characters. The characters were written in such a way that they interacted with each other frequently enough that getting to know the characters (and not just as couples) was easy and the transitions between events were mostly seamless. The friendships were wonderfully-written.

    Establishing the couples as couples was a bit rushed, particularly in the case of Dr. Z and Diaz. That one went from less than zero to eighty in a matter of seconds, it seemed like. Despite this, each of the couples was believable to me, and I want to see where they go from here. The sexual/physical intimacy these couples experienced was a little off for a Brockmann book. Not that the chemistry felt forced, as another reviewer mentioned, but not as hot as I've come to expect. I think this was due more to the need to build this world and these relationships, and I'm willing to be in this for the long haul. I truly believe that the chemistry will build with subsequent stories as the characters deepen their emotional connections with one another.

    Brockmann subscribed to the strength-through-adversity school in creating her heroines, as each has faced and triumphed over some dark and scary stuff. Having said that, those women still have ISSUES, which are bound to come up in future books. I like that these women are real for the future in which this is set, not for today's US or today's science; they are not one-note perky pollyannas but complex women.

    Fair warning: there is frank sexual abuse, sexual intimacy without emotional connection and male/male sexual interaction. If any of this bothers you, move along. Born To Darkness does not give us a happily ever after. When it's done correctly, I sometimes prefer the happily enough for now which we get in this book.

    It's apparent to me that there will be more to this story, and I for one am looking forward to it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Born to Darkness

    Very good book. I enjoyed reading it and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys books with a futuristic twist to a romantic suspense. This book will keep you in suspense till the very end and leave you wondering what will happen in the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Shane and Mac

    I really enjoyed the trip through this book. Shane is true to the navy seal image. Mac is very special. If you are a suzanne brockman fan this is a winner. If you have never read her books this is a great one to start with.

    Imagine a future where big corporations rule the government. Funding is cut for social services. Drugs are readily available. Birth control is banned in most states. P

    Yet at the pause (end of this book. Not the end of the story).
    Good wins over evil.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    SUPER!

    I loved, loved, loved this book!!! What an exciting start to what, I hope, is a new series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    was a great book...kept me on my seat....would love to have some of the stuff they are able to do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Waiting for Sequel!

    Had never read Brockman as had not been interested in military books. Adding the paranormal gave it just what it needed to make it ongoing. Hope to see the sequel soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Best ending ever

    Had the bet ebding for the short story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Great book!

    I wasn't sure, after reading some reviews here, if I'd like this book. I wasn't sure if I'd like the futuristic aspect, but I 'm so glad I gave this book a chance! I loved the Troubleshooter series and this is really very similar but with a futuristic/paranormal twist and I loved it! So many great characters are developed in this story and once you get past the first couple chapters where I think its necessary for Brockmann to lay the foundation of the story with OI, etc. you can't put this book down! Can't wait for the next book in this new series, she opens the door to a few possible storylines in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Wonderful

    I wondered how this book would turn out since this book plot was so mich different than Brockmann's other books
    , but she did it with not losing any of the passion and ture to life charaters(minus super-powers) that make her books so great. I can't wait till the next book in the series comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Welcome to the future with Suzanne Brockmann! Imagination required!

    Although I haven't finished "Born to Darkness" as of this writing, I must say that I can't wait to find out how it ends! I am a big Suzanne Brockmann fan. When I purchased this book, I had no idea that it was futuristic. I bought it because it was by Suze!! I did not think I would like it, since it is not typical Suzanne Brockmann. I started reading to see what it was like. I couldn't put it down! I love the fact that Suze made one of the main characters a Navy Seal, since those books are among my favorites. I like the way she has brought such imagination into the technology and life that could very well be in the future. I would not recommend this to anyone under the age of 18 due to sexual content and graphic images our minds can picture. Brockmann touches on some very real matters that people are dealing with today, but it sounds like these matters may actually be dealt with better in the future. I am hoping for a sequel to "Born to Darkness" so I can find out more about Mac, Shane, Elliot, Stephen, Bach, Anna, and what the future holds for them. If you like using your imagination while reading, lots of action, and romance too, this book is definitely for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Really enjoyed the story, characters etc. Really hope this is go

    Really enjoyed the story, characters etc. Really hope this is going to be a series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Recommended

    This was wonderfully written. Not a book I would have read. I was not expecting this storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Great Book!

    This is a great book, I love everything I have read by Suzanne Brockmann and this looks to be the start of another great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    A great read!

    Suzanne Brockmann's new book is terrific! As always, wonderful characters, lots of action and great story line. I wondered if I would like it after her SEAL Team books, which I just loved, but didn't have to worry. This one is a winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    I have not received this book, still waiting on shipment.

    I have not read Born to Darkness yet. But I love Suzzane Brockmann's work. I fell in love with her and her work the moment I read her dedication in "Hot Target" to her son Jason. It made me cry, it filled me with some much respect for this women. I am not gay but I respect everyone right to be who they are, who made intended them to be. Suzanne Brockmann work is first rate, she hits all your emotions, love, hate, fear and anger, she make me laugh and she can make me cry and that is what I look for and expect of a good author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great start to a new series!

    NT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Love!!

    Well I love shopping from Barnes nobles I have no problems. At all loved all my books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2