Customer Reviews for

Born to Kvetch: Yiddish Language and Culture in All Its Moods

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Lionclaw

    Never mind. Go back to wix

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    an indepth book

    didn't realize how in deptch it would be still good tho

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Oy!

    First off, I must confess that I'm not a Jew. I can't speak Yiddish and the four semesters of German 101 that I took didn't help me much here. However, I have since added a lot of Yiddish to my vocabulary -- and that causes a lot of confusion when delivered with my native Texan drawl.
    I'm not sure what first attracted me to this book -- the New York Times review or the cover picture of the cranky kid, but this is one of the most enjoyable reads I've had in the past 10 years. Wex's humor is incredible and insightful, and he draws upon American pop culture references that even a Goy like myself can get, mixing them up with Jewish culture and history into a big, tasty Kosher gumbo (I realize that gumbo probably isn't Kosher, but I enjoy mixing metaphors here). I think I learned more about what it means to be a Jew from Wex than I ever did from Elie Wiesel, Isaac Bashevis Singer or Barbra Streisand. His jokes are certainly funnier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    I speak Yiddish fluently, having lived in a Yiddish-speaking community in Brooklyn for 20 years or so. I must say that this book is really wonderful. It brings the REAL Yiddish as it is really spoken by real people to the fore, unlike so many of the YIVO-ish Yiddish books out there or some of the others (including Leo Rosten's classic, which I didn't find accurate). I highly recommend this book for people who want to know something about the real Yiddish. On the other hand, it is more scholarly than the cover would indicate, and it is a bit more than "light reading" - but well worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    A Yiddish National Treasure by a great author.

    I grew up hearing Yiddish, but I never realized the complex and colorful background that this language had until I read this book. It is scholarly, but funny. It is intricate in explanation, but simple to understand. Born to Kvetch will cause you to laugh out loud in places and will cause even a rabbi to have headaches in others when we get into the complicated explanations of how each word and term evolved over centuries. This book is a keeper. I even plan to give it to some of my goyisher friends this coming holiday season. Please, please make a CD of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    Humorous and well researched

    Michael Wex provides a hilarious guide to the Yiddish language and culture and much needed insight for assimilated Jews. Born to Kvetch is a fascinating book that should appeal to most people with an open and inquisitive mind, particularly when many of the phrases, the thought processes, and the humor which connects them have been used for so many decades. Kvetching, complaining so to speak, is more than a word, or a statement...it represents a way of thinking, a necessary reflex, a defense mechanism to gain advantage on an issue or an argument.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    Insightful and funny

    As a native Yiddish speaker born post - Holocaust I never understood why my world view was so different than that of my friends. This book explained it to me and made me laugh at the same time. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1