BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Born to Rock

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Born To Rock

    As a rock (as in music) loving fan I would possibly read anything with rock in it so when I saw the cover it spoke to me. Born to rock is an interesting title and the idea of putting a Mohawk on a baby's head goes with me. Just the cover itself grasped my attention so I decided to read it. Born to rock is about Leo Caraway (future Harvard student and president of the Young Republicans). Leo has his whole life planned out but in a matter of seconds it all goes down the drain. To make things even worse for Leo, he finds out that his biological father is King Maggot (lead singer of punk/rock band, Purge). While trying to get money out of his "real" father, Leo gets more than he asks for. Born to rock is full of action, suspense and a little bit of romance. I highly recommend this book to any rock loving fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    Born to Rock

    The book I am reviewing is Born To Rock, by Gordon Korman. This book is narrated by the main character, Leo, who is a senior in high school. The main plot of the story takes off when Leo learns his father is the lead singer of a legendary rock band from the 80¿s called ¿Purge¿. ¿Potbellies and receding Mohawks notwithstanding, they were still the angriest band in America, capable of raising a roof in a place that didn¿t even have one.¿(Korman).<BR/>The author wastes no time on moving through the plot, and keeping the reader engaged. This book was defiantly directed towards teens because they can best relate to the characters in the story, and to some of the problems. The character I can mostly relate to has to be Melinda. I relate to her because I used to be like her and I went through some very similar transitions. The author was defiantly trying to purvey an arrangement of messages when he wrote this book. I believe that one of the main messages purveyed is; even when you think no one cares about you, the most unlikely person shows you that they do. I enjoyed this book very much; I found it humorous and engaging. I also enjoyed many of the puns made and the twist in the end which did bring the story line together. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys comedy and rock music. I give this book five stars.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Hardcore,Funny,Caring Book

    a teen figures out his father is a punk rocker,his soon to be girlfriend is punk and his father is her idol!!!! READ THIS BOOK IT IS GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    Born To Rock is such an outstanding book

    Born To Rock by Gordon Korman is so Awesom. When I first saw the cover and the title, it looked kind of good but not really. I looked around the library and I didn't find any good books, so I just picked up Born to Rock and started to read it. I was expecting this book to be so stupid and non-exciting. I even thought that I would rate this book an one out of ten on my rating scale, but I didn't. After I read the first chapter, I was hooked on this book. To think that Leo Caraway - this straight A, young republican leader that's set to go to Harverd - could be related to the leader of the angriest band in America of the 80's is just out of this world. Born To Rock is a very exciting and suspencful book. All of these events and twists and turns make this book so good. I felt as if I were watching a movie. This book made a great change in my reading 'career'!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am A high school student who generally hates to read, but being that I had a project for English'was do to today but I have until tomorrow now' I took this book out and read it. It only took five and a half to 6 hours to read the whole book. The book it's self was great, and being that I am into real puck-rock, metal, and hardcore, so I really like the story. It reflects Leo Caraway. He is a future College student destin to go to Harvard University from a scholarship. He is a senior, and president of The Young Republicans Club. So the young man Leo has his whole life planned out, but one thing inside of him grows. An evil, angry, mean thing which in the beginning of the story is known as McMurphy. When he was a young boy in elementary school he was going on a class trip to Montreal. He needed his birth cetificate to go get across the boarder. When his mother brings it and hands in. He sees that his last name is McMurphy and he sees his father's name was not signed where it said ' Father's Name.' When he asked his mom and dad why this is they get in an argument with or not to tell him the truth. They eventually tell him that his father is his father, but not his bological father. He finds out the his mother and current father got married while he was still a baby. Also while he was on the trip he learned about his McMurphy side when he ran on to a cement rail on the overpass of a highway and started tap dancing on it. He did other things on that trip that he doesn't remember, but the elementray school does and are legendary in the teachers lounge at the elementary school. Even though he was a Young Republican he didn't really care for the kids as they were kind of snobby, but he was really good friends with one of them and he was known as Gates'nickname'. He had a crush and Leo's long time friend Melinda. Who was an opininated, gothic, puck rock girl. Gates tells Leo that while he was surfing the schools internet file and using a serch word from Melinda's account and found Graffiti Wall-Usa. Here website. She post blogs about her thoughts and hates of society. One day Melinda makes Leo tutor her friend Own. After tutoring him they take an exam. during the Exam Owen was seated near Leo. Leo noticed that Owen was at the part that Leo tiredlessly tutored him on. So Leo whispered a hint that would jog Owen's memory so he could remember. He was caught by an assisnant princapal. Who told him if he wasn't cheating then Owen was, and Leo said no, and that no one was cheating. The assistant princapal said if Owen that he needed to tell the truth and if Owen did it to tell him so they could suspend Owen. The assistant princapal hated Owen for one reason and the reason was because Owen was gay. Leo finally let a small bit of his Mcmurphy side out on the assistant princaple. The princapal said Leo was giving him a zero and before Leo walked out before his Mcmurphy side would do/say something he would regret. Every now and then Leo would check on Melinda's website. While reading here post he saw she posted a report she did for one of her classes, and while reading it he read something about one of the legendary punk rock bands and 'The Angeriest Band in America' in the eighties which was the band Purge. He read about Marion X. McMurphy better know as King Maggot. After seeing the name McMurphy he remembered his last name on the birth certificate was McMurphy. So now he knew who his biological father was. He was horrified none the less that his fater was a crazy, dirty punk rocker. One day his sapposive 'cheating' came back to haunt him. One day he got a letter in the mail saying that the company the was supporting his scholarship drop their support because cheating came up on his record. So know with Havard on the line Leo had to find $40,000 for tution. So know somewhere down the line Melinda says she is bringing him to a press confrence for the Concussed Tour in which Purge w

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    READ THIS BOOK!!

    This book is a great read. The main character Leo Caraway, finds out that he is actually Leo McMurphy, and his real dad is actually a Punk Rock legend. Leo (with the help of his friend Melinda and future friend Owen) sets out to find all about his real dad Marion X. McMurphy. McMurphy's punk name is 'King Maggot,' he is the angriest man on the planet, and front man for the band PURGE. Leo first discovered this situation on a field trip to Montreal, he then attributes the ticking time bomb inside him to that fifty percent of his DNA. Leo was a star student, junior republican and destined for Harvard. When he is taking a test that he helped Owen study for, he whispers a code word (that isn¿t an answer) and gets in trouble for cheating. For cheating he gets his scholarship taken away and decides to ask his newfound father for the money. After meeting his real dad, King Maggot invites him on the bands reunion tour as a roadie. He's not really punk rock material, but after touring with the band and meeting up with Melinda and Owen halfway through the tour, he starts to get it down. Along the way he learns some important things about life (but never really turns punk). Being a punk myself I thought that this was a good story with a punk rock twist. Gordon Korman does a pretty good job of illustrating the eighty¿s punk scene, and the general anger and the gritty reality that is punk rock. I definitely recommend this book to any rock fans, particularly punk fans. It is a good read with a pretty good ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    aewsome book

    this is my most recent favorite book !!! it kept me with questions and suspense that made me read on . i have read it 3 times !!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    A real page turner

    this book was great and i couldnt stop reading it. I read it on vacation and i didn' stop reading it the entire plane ride (which in fact was 12 hours). It has a great plot and i really liked how everything fit together. Hope for a sequel!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    It's Ah-MAZING!!

    Pick up this book. It is not a waste of your time. Being a Gordon Korman Mega-Fan (!), I read this book. And I luved it. I can relate to Leo, the main character, who finds out his dad is a Punk GOD!!! Found 'cheating' on a test, Leo gets his scholarship taken away and ends up touring with his dad's band, PURGE. Along the way Leo learns some tuff life lessons & learns a lot more about himself. 5 STARS!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    GREAT BOOK

    i dunno how to Xplain it, but it was fantastic, suspenseful, and a real page turner! Hope There's a sequal!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Totally awsome

    I swear, this book has given new meaning to punk rock everywhere. Highly reccomended.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1