BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen

Average Rating 4.5
( 925 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(613)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A great book!

This is an extremely well written book. I bought this while travelling in Dublin and was impressed with every line. This is a must read for anyone who is serious about running or understanding runners. This is the sort of book that readily inspires young and old alike t...
This is an extremely well written book. I bought this while travelling in Dublin and was impressed with every line. This is a must read for anyone who is serious about running or understanding runners. This is the sort of book that readily inspires young and old alike to rethink everything they have been taught and to just "get out there and run for the joy of the running". What a novel concept.

posted by richd484 on May 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Born to Run by Cristopher McDougall

Although I am 71 and NOT a runner, I couldn't put this book down and have already given it as a gift. Having talked to many young runners about it, I have the feeling it has become a "bible" to them. The Indian tribe in the Copper Canyon that inspired the author and o...
Although I am 71 and NOT a runner, I couldn't put this book down and have already given it as a gift. Having talked to many young runners about it, I have the feeling it has become a "bible" to them. The Indian tribe in the Copper Canyon that inspired the author and others run barefooted and win all their races. It was SO inspiring that I almost felt like putting on my walking shoes and getting out onto a track to actually run. Alas, that was not to be; however, as I read, I could feel the sun beating down on my head, the wind in my hair and my bare feet no longer in pain!
The book also points how how the Running Shoe Industry has conned everyone into buying more and more expensive and complicated shoes in their pursuit of running faster. As a result, feet have suffered. This reminded me of the cigarette industry and how they duped the public.

posted by Gingy on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 933 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 47
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    I had forgotten how wonderful pure running can be!!

    An absolute delight!!!! As a 65 year old, middle of the pack, marathoner, I am going back out to run barefoot - just for the fun of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Amazing

    Fantastic book!!! Interesting with alot of different information I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Read this if You Want to enjoy Your Running More

    The author is a writer for out-doorsy-type magazines. This book covers a lot of territory, none very thoroughly: The sport of ultramarathoning, and the men and women who participate in it; the Tarahumara, a reclusive, native American tribe living an isolated existence in the Copper Canyon in Mexico, a canyon larger than the Grand Canyon, who were persuaded to participate in a few ultramarathons in Colorado in the 90's; the history of running, describing scientific inquiry into whether man evolved to run long distances; and, also the science of running, techniques particularly whether running shoes hurt or help the modern runner.
    The book focusses on and the climax of the book describes a race in the Copper Canyon between Tarahumara runners and a few Americans who made the trek there to participate. The race was conceived and primarily organized by a man known as Caballo Blanco, the "White Horse", a real odd-ball, long distance runner and former boxer, who has been living in the Copper Canyon among the Tarahumara was many years.
    I found the book to be very entertaining, even if it left me wanting alot more information on all of the topics that are touched on. If you were not already a runner, this book will convince you to try it, or nothing ever will. I already run. Not the distances described in the book, but more than the average.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    Fun to read, inspiring

    "Born to Run" is a fun read. It is better as entertainment than true research material, but that's okay. The books starts out as a the story of the author as he tries to find a cure for the pain he get in his back when he runs a few steps. His journey takes him to a remote canyon in Mexico, where he meets the Tarahumara Indians and a legendary figure known as the Caballo Blanco. The Tarahumara Indians live in true isolation by choice and run everywhere within their territory on thin sandals made of tires. The author comes to the conclusion that the solution to everyone's running injuries is to not wear shoes, or to wear the shoes that are mimic barefoot running as closely as possible. He goes on to talk to experts in archaeology and other fields who feel the same way about the natural way to run. Definitely an inspiring book for a runner, as it makes it seem like almost anybody can run 50 miles in the hot desert sun. The science behind his claims may be questionable, but as long as they are taken with a grain of salt, this book is enjoyable, light read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Human endurance and eclectic personality

    Stories about elite runners called "ultra-runners" who go 50-100 miles through cross-country terrain, such as native Tarahumaras of obscure Mexican mountains, beat poetry loving party animals, a hermetic loner philosopher, and abarefoot runner. The author Christopher McDougal, similar to the trails and switchbacks through the mountians, leads us on tangents about human endurance, running injuries, running physiology, running injuries attributed to super-cushioned shoes from a certian giant footwear company.
    I am not a runner, but have been inspired to get outside and running.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    More about living than running

    My husband and I (who are not long distance runners) both loved this book and I've given several as gifts to both running and non-running friends. It is more about a philosophy of life than a sports book. It provides insight and education about a couple of little known cultures. One is the Mexican tribe of long distance runners, the other is the culture of extreme endurance sports in in the US. Both are fascinatingly foreign. The book also has a good dose of humor and suspense. Highly recommend this very fast read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    READ THIS BEFORE YOUR NEXT MARATHON!

    I picked up Born To Run after hearing several people in my tri club talking about the Tarahumara and their epic trail racing lifestyle. I truly was looking for some inspiration prior to running my first trail marathon and from the first page I was not disappointed. Inspiration is where you find it - and Born To Run is a must read before your next race!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    I love this book

    I recommend all runners and nonrunners alike read this book. It's amazing. The story is fantastic and so is the way it is presented. I feel like I understand the history of ultramarathons and almost see why someone would be crazy enough to try it. Fantastic book. I'm giving a copy to everyone I know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    An author's journey to discovering why we still get hurt when we run and the discovery of the running people.

    Christopher McDougall set out to discover why runners overwhelmingly get injured or hurt every year even though we have shoes with the highest technology we can afford. Along the way he discovered the statistical outliers of the ultramarathon runners and especially the Tarahumara people of the Copper Canyon - people who run in thin sandals as a way of life and do not suffer the frequent aches and ailments of the "better shod".

    I picked up this book because I had been turned on to the concept of barefoot running as a possible solution to my constant knee pain when running. The book conversationally describes the author's search for an answer woven into the story of his introduction to a man named Caballo Blanco and an ultramarathon race with the "Running People" of Copper Canyon.

    I found the book to be an interesting, entertaining, and inspiring read and I encourage others that found themselves no longer enjoying their regular runs because of an ache or two that seems to nag at them to read this book and think about exchanging your running style instead of exchanging running for a different sport.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    the spirit of running

    really, really helped with my running mechanics, and inspiration

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    GREAT Book!!

    Loved the book!!! Even tried barefoot running! Must read for any runner!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Read it!!!

    Have no doubts, read this book I'm glad I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Fantastic!

    I read this book and it is great. I thouroghly enjoyed the elements he included in his book such as the Idian tribe and the races

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Good story spoiled a bit by clumsy evolutionary explanations and excessive exaggerations

    Solid story about the Tarahumara indians and their ability to run. However, recurring exaggerations start making the reader doubt the full veracity of the tale. His attempted evolutionary explanations are so weak they are painful to read. They are called "just so
    stories" in science because the speculative story is there too make up for the lack of any hard evidence. If he had stuck to the story without giving in to his predisposition to exaggerating so much and leaving the evolutionary story out all together it would be a 5 star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    Great book on experience

    When I purchased this book, I thought it was going to be about the hidden tribes that live in Copper Canyon. It was a short subject on them, more about different running experience and running shoes. It is just an okay book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    If there is one book you read about running, one book you read a

    If there is one book you read about running, one book you read about the evolution of man, one book you read about sports, one book about the Tarahumara, let this be it. So much history and information and flat-out good story-telling is packed into this book. Truly a fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Great book.

    Amazing story, it may start slowly, but a must read for any runner or athlete.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    I was born to run!

    I love this book! Every runner needs this in their library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Running

    Love this book, couldn't stop talking about it for weeks. Recommend this book to all, even non runners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Read it

    Very inspiring as i am a runner got me to run every day instead of every OTHER day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 933 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 47