Customer Reviews for

Born to Run

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exciting action-packed legal thriller

    In his fifties, Vice President Phil Grayson loved hunting so he went to a private land to shoot alligators while officially looking into the reported threat of pythons destroying the adjacent Everglades. Instead he dies when a humongous gator tips the boat and he falls into water filled with alligators and pythons.<BR/><BR/>President Keys informs former Florida Governor Harry Swyteck that he is on the final list to replace Grayson if he is interested. Harry says yes and asks his son Jack to serve as his chief lawyer; Jack reluctantly agrees as he prefers to remain in Florida but will go to DC. However, Jack hears rumors that Grayson¿s death was not a freak accident, but a homicide. He investigates finding ties back to an incident in 1960 Cypress and a cover-up in 2008 Florida and Washington.<BR/><BR/>This is an exciting action-packed legal thriller that grips the audience once the Veep dies and never slows down as Jack begins to unravel a murder conspiracy. The story line is action, action, and more action that has readers caught up with all that is happening. Fans will relish Jack¿s latest tale that also strains his improved relationship with his dad and his significant other.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Great book for the times!

    I had never read the author before, but after "Born to Run" I will certainly read another one. The story line was good and it kept you guessing about the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    This is a good read

    James Grippando knows how to write a novel. This one is a thriller from start to finish.

    The characters are believable and not too much larger than life. They manage to get caught up in all kinds of problems which are trying to be solved but do not get solved until the very end.

    You will not figure out the answer to this mystery before the author tells you about it.

    It is another good read about the lawyer Swyteck.

    J. Robert Ewbank, author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Born to Run

    I recently read this book and found it hard to put it down. I like seeing the progression in the characters. It seemed that Mr. Grippando's writing had matured from some of the previous books I'd read. I look forward to seeing more of the father/son relationship being explored in future books. Until then, I'd recommend this book for people that like to be entertained by a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    One of my very favorite authors and he does it again with a supurb thriller.

    Loved everyone of the Grippando's novels and read them all. Fast moving plots and characters you want more of. Can't put his books down and can't wait for the next one to come out. Continue Jack Swytect character and these action packed thrillers and write faster Mr. Grippando.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    your rnorn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Review

    I cannot get enough of this character and look forward to more..I love this character .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    O th TTT

    Ok im here what do u wnt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Jennykit

    Bye till Fool's day, sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Jennykit

    Hey Zivakit. You on?6:53p.m.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Zivakit

    Hey jennykit. Me and micakit thought you quit. How was ur Easter? 6:51

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This fast-paced yarn about a secret that the President is willing to kill to keep quiet is fun.

    It has been a long time since I read a novel by James Grippando. Well, before his Jack-Swyteck series. He's a good solid writer from here in Florida...but he seemed to be repeating himself. So I took a break. Chalk this re-visit up to the "separation is good" side of the ledger. As you know, a political thriller can almost never fail to engage me -- and this fast-paced yarn about a secret that the President is willing to kill to keep quiet is fun.

    Grippando keeps the secret long enough to be a surprise at the end but the cost in growing incredulity is pretty high. From fleeing the Russian mob to Jack's dad being considered for VP while Jack worries that his dad might also be the murderer of the former VP -- all requires a good embrace of your gullible side. Yet, it works! Have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    Very good book!

    This is the first book I've read by this author. It was interesting and the style of writing is great. Easy to read and kept my interest at every intriguing turn. Highly recommend to anyone who loves a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Another Grippando Favorite

    Another great Swyteck adventure! Keeps your interest throughout the book and is a nice quick and easy read. Can't wait for the next release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Great Mystery

    When I read the synopsis of the book and the cover page wasn't sure I wanted to read it; but I have enjoyed Grippando's other books so went ahead and bought it. Was not disappointed had a lot of twists and turns and kept me interested right to the end. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Keeps your attention

    This is my first time reading a James Grippando book and I look forward to reading more. There are touches of humor interspered to even out the suspense but you are always focused on knowing what really happened 46 years ago. There are lots of twists and turns so you can't always be sure you've got the ending figured out (always a plus when reading action adventures).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A COMPLEX, COMPELLING THRILLER

    "Run" is indeed the operative word in this intense page-turner by top flight thriller writer James Grippando. Although born in Cyprus a man is called the Greek, and he is running from enemies who would take pleasure in killing him, preferably slowly. The current president of the United States ran for his office, won it, and will do anything to keep it. How the two intersect is sizzling reading. <BR/><BR/>A former trial lawyer himself Grippando has imbued his stalwart series lead, Jack Swyteck, with all the on-target attributes that make Swyteck one of the most believable protagonists in print. Add some very human characteristics and you have a likable, affecting character with whom readers identify. Those who wait for another Jack Swyteck adventure will be both pleased and surprised with what they find in Born To Run. <BR/><BR/>Grippando opens with a grabber - the Greek has been married to Sofia for but 11 months when their apartment was broken into by Sicilian thugs. The Greek fled, running through alleys, and to a rooftop six stories up with nowhere else to turn. He was caught and thrown, "He didn't hear himself scream, or the Sicilians laughing, as his body collided with the cobblestone below." <BR/><BR/>Skip to the Florida Everglades some 46 years later where Vice-President Phil Grayson is hunting alligators. But, he tumbled from his boat, "...headfirst into the marsh." As he sank into the muck, the pain became too much. "His body became stiff and unresponsive. His only choice it seemed, was to respect nature, to become one with black water, to be the third and weakest leg in a bizarre and deadly triangle. One angry gator. Untold pythons." <BR/><BR/>Harry Swyteck, Jack's father and a two-time Florida governor, is asked to be the new Vice-President. Looking ahead to his confirmation hearings he asks Jack to be his lawyer. Not about to turn his Dad down, Jack accepts only to find that Washington, D.C. is not all like the Miami playing field with which he's so familiar. It's darker and deadlier than he could have ever imagined. <BR/><BR/>Grippando has pulled out all the stops in Born To Run, and in an election year at that. It's a complex, complete thriller that races to a humdinger of a conclusion. <BR/><BR/>- Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2