Customer Reviews for

Born to be Wild (Others Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Ebook Hello???

    Why does Barnes & Noble insist on making me regret picking the Nook over the Kindle???

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    Weird

    Someone I work with gave me this book to read. It was a little weird but okay! If you have an imagination you would probably enjoy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just okay

    I'm a big fan of this series so I felt a little let down by this book. If this were a movie, I would say that Eli and Josie just lacked chemistry. The romance portion simply did not have the sizzle of her previous novels. The mystery plot started out well but was lacking at the end and the last few chapters just did not have the power to keep me up reading so I went to sleep instead. I did finish the book and will purchase her next novel in hopes that it will deliver more than this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    WHERE IS IT?

    WHERE IS THE EBOOK? I don't understand.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Doesn't live up to the series

    I have really enjoyed this series, but I was a bit disappointed by this addition. It almost felt as if it had been written by a different author. The characters weren't really developed and the plot lacking. If this is your first by this author, don't let it be your last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It.

    i am glad i read this book despite all the bad reviews. I thought it was a great story line with wonderful characters. Took me no time to read at all as i could not put it down. It had just the right amount of drama and romance combined and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i like it

    if youre a fan of her works, Keep reading!! Tis all good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Think twice before buying from this author....

    I recently purchased this book at B&N and I'm returning it and another one I got of hers. It's called "you're so vein". This "series" is a VERY BORING read. Nothing happens and when it does it's very small. There was nothing about her books that drew me into the storyline OR the people in the book... I should have looked on here before buying at my local store.... I loved the thought of it being set in Oregon but the story is SERIOUSLY lacking. I have the J R WARD series & Twilight and those books are ones that's hard to put down and has been read over and over agian...

    I will not be buying any of Ms. Warren's books in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Born to be Wild

    I enjoy this series & enjoyed this book. The story & characters were good & overall it was a good read. I look forward to the next in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Others world expands!

    The newest in the Christine Warren's world of the Others is a great page-turner. I couldn't put it down, except to take care of my 5-month old. This book introduces us to new members of the Others that are just as bold and daring as the characters in her earlier books.
    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but not great!

    I was upset with the book a little, while the story was good there were a lot of errors. I had to go back and reread a lot because there were a lot of him and her errors. I don't know if they rushed through the editing or what but I execpted better. I still look forward to the next one. Overall the story was good and I don't regreat buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Born to Be Great"!

    "Born To Be Wild" is the most recent addition to the "The Others" series and is a great stand-alone read where you don't need to have read the previous books to enjoy the rich, complex world of The Others, which consists of werewolves, vampires, demons and fae. The setting of this novel moves away from the congested world of The Others in Manhattan to the small town of Stone Creek, Oregon, where nothing is at it seems. Take a sleepy town, add some feral werewolves locked up in a vet's office, and throw in some human supremacists and you have the making of a very, wild ride. The heroine, Josie Barrett, is that wonderful mix of intelligence and quirkiness that you come to love in all Christine Warren's books. And the hero, Eli Pace, is the alpha male you can't live without. The sidekicks are fun and the pace of action just keeps building until the very surprising end. Whether your tastes run to adventure, intrigue, steamy romance or to just "I didn't see that one coming", this is great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the New One

    I have really enjoyed Christine Warrens The Others Series. This book was just like the others. It's romantic without going over the top. It blends thills, and sci fi fantasy nicely. If you like shape shifter books you will like these. I couldn't put the book down. I'd been waiting awhile for a book to come along like this. I've had a reading dry spell lately. This books keeps the pace going. If you were like me you'll be guessing till the end. I like that this series is tied together, but yet each book stands as its own read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Blah! Bland and no passion.

    This book had a good story but I didn't feel enough emotion. It sadly lacked passion. The characters need more personality and more conflict. Everything just seemed to fall into place too easily. There were many edit blunders. Its bad if I have to stop and reread to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unable to finish and still waiting for a reason to continue

    I read about a fourth of this book, skipped to the end and couldn't find any desire to find out how they got there. I've read other books by this author and enjoyed them. This book didn't excite my interest. In fact, it is laying on a table waiting for me to pick it up and it has been at least a month since I put it there. Dinah has been the only creature to move it and she doesn't read, only barks and eats.
    I may finish it; but it isn't high on my priority list. The plot isn't exciting; it is very much traditional. The characters are not interesting. The promotional blurb was the best thing about this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not quite as good as it should have been

    This book should have been better than it was. There's some really cool bio-terrorism things happening, strange and terrible things are happening to the local wolf shifters, a good-looking sheriff who just happens to be a lion sometimes. All the elements are there for a good book. The problem is that it wasn't that good. It wasn't bad and I didn't hate it, but it fell a little shy of my expectations.

    Josie is a good female lead-she's smart, determined, forthright. Eli is a perfectly nice guy. He's good looking, responsible, protective. He has no past trauma, no torture. Here's the thing, though. He was nice. I mean, I could meet this guy in town and have a nice conversation and go away thinking, "Wow, he's such a nice guy. I bet he'd help me haul out that old couch in the living room." I wouldn't go away thinking, "Wow, what a sexy, intriguing man. When can I see him naked?" Also, he was a lion shifter. One of the things that is so exciting about shifters is their relationship with their animal half-is it a struggle? how well do they incorporate their animal instincts into their human lives? etc. And he's a lone lion shifter living in a town full of wolf shifters, yet there's no cat-dog rivalry or animosity there. He even only changes forms twice-though at least the first time it was kind of cool and dramatic.

    And their relationship was just a little too pat. They've lived in the same tiny town for three years, have seen and spoken with each other on a few occasions, but not until there's a weird wolf medical emergency do they look at each other and feel any attraction. Then it's instant attraction which leads to instant love, with no build-up or explanation.

    The action and plot moved really well, building the tension and suspense. As I said above, there was some pretty cool bio-terrorism thing going on. The problem, like the romance, the ending was just a little too pat. To put it into perspective: ten pages are dedicated to making out on the couch (and I'm talking no intimate touches, no missing clothing, just kissing and minor groping) and five pages is all it took for the final confrontation with the bad guys-from sneaking onto their property to taking care of the bad guy. There's just something about a quick, last minute tie-up of loose ends that annoys me.

    And, sadly, there were way, way too many typos-misspellings, missing/wrong words-for a published book. Usually I don't notice such things-my brain will just convert whatever is there to be whatever it was supposed to be-but this time I was pulled out of the story several times due to editorial mistakes.

    I love Warren's Others series. I do. This one, though, was a little disappointing. Despite the negative comments, I would like to say that it wasn't a bad read. Like Eli, the story was just nice. Not exciting, but okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Liked but wished the core characters were involved.

    I love Christine Warren's "Others Series." This was another good addition. While I did like this book, I regretted that it did not deal with the central New York characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    what happened

    I have every book she has wrote, but what went wrong with this one. Leading lady was boring and all she did was complain she is over worked. Lead male had no passion ( he is a lion, he should have had a lot). The sex scenes I could have slept through. Best part of the book was Bruce(loved him). Still hopeful for coming book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    Born to be Wild

    I've read and LOVED all the books in the Other's series and couldn't wait
    for the latest installment! But I have to agree with Anonymous and say that this wasn't up to her normal standards in many areas: plot, too abrupt an ending, and far too many very obvious grammatical, spelling, and mechanical errors. I did enjoy the book but when I compare it to the rest of the series, it was just lacking. Everyone has their "off" times, so I will still look forward to the next book in the series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6