Customer Reviews for

The Borrowers

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

97 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

Read all of them

As a child in the 1950's, I read the original Borrowers in 4th grade. I read and re-read the one in the school library, til school closed for the summer. As luck would have it, I found the book and it's subsequent additions that summer in a book store. They were the onl...
As a child in the 1950's, I read the original Borrowers in 4th grade. I read and re-read the one in the school library, til school closed for the summer. As luck would have it, I found the book and it's subsequent additions that summer in a book store. They were the only thing I ever BEGGED my mother to buy me. I took home The Borrowers, The Borrowers Afield, and The Borrowers Afloat, and I still know parts of them by heart. When I was 18, the Borrowers Aloft came out, and my mother sent it to me at college. I was 36 when the Avenged came out, and I RAN to the bookstore. The stories are as fresh today as the first time I read them. I'm now in my 50's, and I can't imagine a life without Homily, Pod and Arriety Clock. Homily who is courageous, even though she'd really rather not be. Pod, who is a simple man, taking care of his family. And Arriety, 13, ready for life, ready for adventure, a young Victorian Feminist, if there ever was one. She wanted to learn to Borrow, which was only for men. She needed to learn to Borrow, because her family was the last one left in the house, and what would happen to her if her parents died? She taught me that a girl could be anything she wanted to be. They bravely faced a daunting world, and they're only 6 inches tall. I now own well over a thousand books, and really believe that it was this small family that led me to my love of reading.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Ok book

Im still in the beging of this book but all i know is that it is raelly hard to under stand the most info ive got so far is from the back but all my friends are in love with it

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    Read all of them

    As a child in the 1950's, I read the original Borrowers in 4th grade. I read and re-read the one in the school library, til school closed for the summer. As luck would have it, I found the book and it's subsequent additions that summer in a book store. They were the only thing I ever BEGGED my mother to buy me. I took home The Borrowers, The Borrowers Afield, and The Borrowers Afloat, and I still know parts of them by heart. When I was 18, the Borrowers Aloft came out, and my mother sent it to me at college. I was 36 when the Avenged came out, and I RAN to the bookstore. The stories are as fresh today as the first time I read them. I'm now in my 50's, and I can't imagine a life without Homily, Pod and Arriety Clock. Homily who is courageous, even though she'd really rather not be. Pod, who is a simple man, taking care of his family. And Arriety, 13, ready for life, ready for adventure, a young Victorian Feminist, if there ever was one. She wanted to learn to Borrow, which was only for men. She needed to learn to Borrow, because her family was the last one left in the house, and what would happen to her if her parents died? She taught me that a girl could be anything she wanted to be. They bravely faced a daunting world, and they're only 6 inches tall. I now own well over a thousand books, and really believe that it was this small family that led me to my love of reading.

    97 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    BUY ALL BOOKS IN THIS SERIES!

    all the books in THE BORROWERS series are TOPNOTCH!!! reading these books makes being a borrower a reality! yep, it's THAT GOOD!

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    Wow. This is a great book. The only thing I have to comment on is the plot. Truthfully, until the very end of the book, there is no problem! There wasn't any specific problem in the plot at all. Also, for young children, parts of this book are hard to underdtand. Many terms that are used are unknown completely to children of this generation, same with many items, like blotting paper. Most children have no idea what that even is.

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    wonderful story!

    This book was one of my favorites as a child. When I saw that it was the 50th anniversary (and only $1.99), I had to have it! Still an enchanting tale. I highly recommend it!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    awesome story

    these are better than the movies

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great children's tale, even big kids!

    I grew up loving this book (and even the movie was cute). I hope that kids will continue to read and enjoy it as well.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Memories Relived

    I am a mother of 2 boys, almost 27yrs old myself. I remember reading Mary Norton The Borrowers series as a YOUNG Child and it was and still is one of my favorite childrens authors. I am now buying all of the books so that I may share Mary's adventures with my children. I loved these books so much that I told myself as a child to always remember Mary's name so that I could grow up and buy them myself. Guess what I am now doing it and they are at reasonable prices as well.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Imaginative

    Very good book with a great concept

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    cute

    this book is so sooooooo cute i read it and i am 12!!

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Rjdjdidkdjdj

    Yay! A book that makes sense!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Ok book

    Im still in the beging of this book but all i know is that it is raelly hard to under stand the most info ive got so far is from the back but all my friends are in love with it

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Wonderful

    Its so good i do not blame disney for makeing a movie on it

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Thumbs down!

    Its so slow and boring im halfway through the book forcing myself to read it thinking eventually something interesting will happen but no! This book is very boring and not entertaining DO NOT BUY!!!!

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Borrowers

    Such a good bookeveryone loves it!!!!! <_>…

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    ZV5

    Best BookEver

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    ARRIETY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The movie looks good so the book must be better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ARRIETY ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Borrowers

    My daughter 9 years requested the purchase of this book; she said that the content made her interested because it was at her school and it peeked her curiosity.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    Hopefully the movie was better

    This book was alright not the average person kind of reading. It was slow and only had 1 or 2 dramatic and suspensful views. I recommend this book to young teens. Adults i dont think you'll enjoy this one.If you like Little house on the prairie and Anne of green gables maybe you'll enjoy this book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Kool

    Its awsome

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11