Customer Reviews for

Bossypants

Average Rating 4
( 2379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1170)

4 Star

(666)

3 Star

(318)

2 Star

(112)

1 Star

(113)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

143 out of 151 people found this review helpful.

Laugh-Out-Loud Hilarious

First off, I'm not a huge Tina Fey fan. I don't watch SNL and the only other shows I have seen her in are Date Night and Mean Girls. I don't hate her and I don't love her, she's somewhere in between. I was in Borders and I was completely book-less (a very sad state to b...
First off, I'm not a huge Tina Fey fan. I don't watch SNL and the only other shows I have seen her in are Date Night and Mean Girls. I don't hate her and I don't love her, she's somewhere in between. I was in Borders and I was completely book-less (a very sad state to be in) and just as I was about to leave the store, on a whim, I grabbed her book and bought it. And let me tell you, I'm glad I did.

She chronicles her life with humor, dry wit (by the way, I never knew what that meant until I read Bossypants), and complete honesty. She talks about her family, her teen years, her job at the soul-sucking YMCA, her first OB/GYN visit, her almost fatal honeymoon, breast feeding, the creation of 30 Rock and so much more. It had me laughing out loud constantly, and thinking what an interesting life she's led.

I really don't think you have to be a hardcore Tina Fey fan to enjoy this book. Bossypants was a hilarious and heartfelt book about life and its many weird/scary/fun and crappy adventures. I think most people can relate to her experiences in one way or the other. All in all, it was a blast reading about her life. I strongly recommend to anyone who likes autobiographies and comedy.

posted by writingirl_15 on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

For hardcore Fey fans only

I adore Tina Fey. This book could have been 300 pages of calling me a fat, spinster trash heap and I would have found it witty and insightful. But will this book appeal to anyone who doesn't already love Ms. Fey? Absolutely not. The awkward growing-up stories are run of...
I adore Tina Fey. This book could have been 300 pages of calling me a fat, spinster trash heap and I would have found it witty and insightful. But will this book appeal to anyone who doesn't already love Ms. Fey? Absolutely not. The awkward growing-up stories are run of this mill and didn't make me laugh. The book picked up when talking about the SNL/Sarah Palin/30 Rock days but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone but the most devoted Fey fans.

posted by mitochondrialeve on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 666 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh-Out-Loud Hilarious

    First off, I'm not a huge Tina Fey fan. I don't watch SNL and the only other shows I have seen her in are Date Night and Mean Girls. I don't hate her and I don't love her, she's somewhere in between. I was in Borders and I was completely book-less (a very sad state to be in) and just as I was about to leave the store, on a whim, I grabbed her book and bought it. And let me tell you, I'm glad I did.

    She chronicles her life with humor, dry wit (by the way, I never knew what that meant until I read Bossypants), and complete honesty. She talks about her family, her teen years, her job at the soul-sucking YMCA, her first OB/GYN visit, her almost fatal honeymoon, breast feeding, the creation of 30 Rock and so much more. It had me laughing out loud constantly, and thinking what an interesting life she's led.

    I really don't think you have to be a hardcore Tina Fey fan to enjoy this book. Bossypants was a hilarious and heartfelt book about life and its many weird/scary/fun and crappy adventures. I think most people can relate to her experiences in one way or the other. All in all, it was a blast reading about her life. I strongly recommend to anyone who likes autobiographies and comedy.

    143 out of 151 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Tina, you rascal!

    Let me start by saying I'm a huge Tina Fey fan. So, as soon as I heard about this book, I immediately downloaded it. I laughed through most of the book. I could go on and on about the parts I like, such as her answers to her internet naysayers, or her lifelong retorts to homophobes. But, if you got this book, you already know she's pretty funny. Here is my ONLY critique of a book I truly loved. She is waaaay too nice and gracious. Do I think Lorne Michaels gave her a great start and believed in her? Certainly. Do I think Alec Baldwin was a huge boon to her show and a mentor to her? You betcha. But the consummate "thank you's" and accolades to the big shots got long in the tooth for me. I preferred her praise of other writers, unsung heroes, as it were. That being said, I respect her very much and her right to tell her story in her own way on her own terms. This is merely my personal opinion, and not a cheap shot. So I'll wait till she's older and hopefully writes her memoirs - they always seem to provide a bit more insight into the person. I got a lot of "Tina Fey - Funny Lady" and would have preferred a little more insight into the "Tina Fey - Actual Human Chick".

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Amazing. Funny.

    Tina has the type of character on tv that makes you laugh and want tk be frends with her Liz Lemon persona; this book shows that not only ks Liz Lemon funny and personab, but Tina is as well. Funny. Good read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    enjoyable sunday read.

    I would recommend it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    great read! if you like tina's sense of humor and comedy, it's j

    great read! if you like tina's sense of humor and comedy, it's just like listening to a smarter liz lemon be very blunt and funny. i cracked up reading it outloud... on a 5 hour flight... and the other passengers were pissed. i did not care one bit. Tina, you are awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Bossypants is a novel by Tina Fey, explaining her childhood, and

    Bossypants is a novel by Tina Fey, explaining her childhood, and how she got to where she is today. The major message of this book is to encourage people to keep chasing their dreams. Tina's humor is present throughout the novel, which made it entertaining to read. While reading this book I didn't have many dislikes except for a few stories which dragged on. The overall rating of this book form one(poor) to ten(amazing) would have to be an eight because it was a fun read and interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Tina Fey's humor or to those who just want a funny book to read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    A fun, quick day's read

    Tina Fey is not just another cable-box comedian these days. Bossypants defined and developed Fey as an ordinary adult with real problems -one who also happens to have a very cool job! Though the book is not extremely personal, Fey details how she navigated the awkward fazes of adolescence into a life of a comedian, wife, and mother. The book seems a bit jumpy for an autobiography because she adapts a reserved persona whilst writing, not wanting to reveal the secrets, if any, of her jobs and family life. Instead, Fey picks the funniest and sometimes trivial aspects of her life experiences to tell her story. She draws from 30 Rock and Saturday Night Live lines, family quotes, Internet fans (or "haters"), conversations with Amy Poehler, Tracy Morgan, and Oprah, and advice from influential figures such as Lorne Michaels. Most of Fey's chapters are also devoted to her job experiences; she gives great advice about working with or being the boss, collaborating with coworkers, females in the workplace, and picking and choosing the right opportunities. What I really admired about her writing was that it was funny yet helpful at the same time. Though Bossypants is a hilarious autobiography, Fey was still able to present the morals that she got out of her experiences. The organization of the book is not fluid, however; her book starts at a young age, but somewhere in the middle chapters she goes awry and jumps between different ages of her life. The conclusion of her autobiography also seemed a bit sudden, making me feel like there was more that Fey could have said. But perhaps that was me just wanting more. Her book was a laugh-out-loud riot. Any Tina Fey fan, or just someone looking for a fun read, should somehow get a hold of her book as soon as possible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Highly Recommend and Hilarious.

    Though Tina Fey's cover of her bestselling book, Bossypants, seems silly and honestly, slightly disturbing, it is a fair sample to Tina's attitude, humor and most importantly, what the reader is to expect past the cover. Bossypants is a witty and well written book that anybody looking for a fun read, should definitely check out. Most people know Fey from what she has accomplished in her life but by reading Bossypants, the reader develops a whole new level of respect for Fey and what she has done. Fey describes her life as a director, writer, and actor and how she got her success. The reader's journey with Fey starts with her awkward young life of growing up in a very Greek household to becoming one of the most respected women of comedy. In her career, Fey has accomplished being a writer on Saturday Night Live to being an actress on SNL, and even producing her very own show, 30 Rock. Fey does a wonderful job of speaking out and encouraging women to be confident bosses and because of her past in comedy, where women are hardly respected, she has room to talk. She explains that men except you to fail as a woman boss, but to become successful, you have to prove the judgmental men wrong. The only downside is that Bossypants is all about Fey's life from every little detail, to interesting stuff. Unless you are a diehard Fey fan, the little details can get a little dull but her humor does keep it going. It is a shame that Fey doesn't have other books but if she did, I am certain that they would be just as successful. Even if you aren't in anyway related to or interested in Fey, Bossypants still is a hilarious and easy read that I recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Tina Fey book a good --interesting --read--more substance and depth than you might expect

    Not sure what to expect when I bought this, but it was read by the author, and that made it more interesting--I got the audio version. It was funny, and compelling and showed Tine'a career progression, even how the Sarah Palin paradoy came about and how Tina came to be playing her. This is not an easy business and that's apparent from Tina's story. You'll get a good sense of this business--it's hard, and you work hard--and how Tina came to be where she is. She's really a writer and comedien, and she's been very successful compared to many who take this track on. Tina gives some good insights --or not so good--on some fellow writers. All in all this is an enjoyable read--with more depth than you might expect.

    I advise to buy in audio. You really get a sense of who the person is, when they read the book. And you listen while you drive or play facebook, or work around the house. I use these books for commuting. I liked Tina after listening to her book. Not so in other audio books whose authors have read their own story--I came away not liking Sarah Palin or Reba McIntyre personally--while I admire professional contributions. Tina I liked and respected as a result of this book and how she came across.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The humor and wit of a woman will now be a Tina Fey.

    I have been reading a lot of heavy books lately and I needed something light and full of humor. Luckily, I still had Tina Fey's Bossypants to read. And boy, what a perfect time for it!

    When I first picked up the book, I had to do a double take at the cover. I mean, how could you not love the different hands with her face? I thought that the cover had a Charlie Chaplin-esque feel to it. And in that regard, I believe that Tina Fey is a Charlie Chaplin of our era. I feel that she is one of the most creative and influential personalities in comedy today. Whether it's through her quick wit, her smarts, or her slap-on-your-knee comedy, I feel that telling her life story with the start of this cover did the job right.

    Fey begins the book with comedy. She doesn't hold back, and within the first five pages, she will have you laughing out loud. But fare warning, it is not for the faint of heart, weak, or sensitive. She is blunt, vulgar, and in-your-face. If you love 30 Rock or even the humor during her time on SNL, then this book will be perfect for you.

    Fey talks about all of the awkward events growing up. She talks about the reality about trying to fit in when you already feel so left out in this world. She brought some feelings about my childhood that I didn't think about. And when she spins it in a humorous way, it doesn't seem so bad anymore. She also talks about her early career with Second City, the foundations of comedy, and the rules to live by in stand up.

    She doesn't just talk about her past, she talks about her future as well. Fey talks about motherhood and gives us a look into her personal struggles juggling being a mother and a business woman. She does a fantastic job capturing the realities of life, not only for a mother but for a successful career woman.

    I must say, it was hard to find any real faults because I admire her so much. She had me laughing through this book, whether the situation called for it or not. But isn't that the way Tina Fey is? Look at her work in comedy. She brings out the upside of a situation, no matter how dire it is. And that is why, you'll enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Even the cover makes me laugh (man hands)!

    As a general rule, I don't read books by celebrity "authors" but I made an exception in this case because I was genuinely interested in what Tina Fey had to say. I thoroughly enjoyed every page of this book, including the crazy lists and the photos she was brave enough to include (and a description of the smell of baby formula that made me laugh out loud). I highly recommend this collection of clever, witty observations from the smartest woman in comedy! Tina Fey gives details of her life and recounts some of the experiences that helped her to become such a comedic genius. Of course, she shares stories from Second City, 30 Rock, and her SNL days (and speaks of what she learned about being "the boss" from Lorne Michaels). She also communicates her thoughts, in the quirky, self-deprecating manner that we all love about her, on the normal struggles of life that everyone can relate to: career, parenting, in-laws, marriage, and life balance. After reading her book, I have even more respect for her talent and her accomplishments. She is an amazing role model for young women, and I will be waiting anxiously to see what she does next. Bravo, Tina!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Fun

    This was a humorous easy book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    I couldn't stop laughing reading this book. It was such a good b

    I couldn't stop laughing reading this book. It was such a good book, but it was really more from a career perspective. It had some things on her personal life and preferences, but around the last 3/4 was about her on SNL as Sarah Palin. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys SNL, Mean Girls, or anything Tina Fey-related. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Hilarious and very well written. Highly recommend to anyone!

    I did not think I would love this as much as I did. Worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Great book

    Funny. Great strory telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Perfect read for an imperfect airplane trip!

    This was the perfect read for a recent flight I took to Bangor. It's wonderful to channel Tina Fey's voice while the announcers at US Airways interrupt your reading every 15 minutes to inform you that your plane is delayed due to its being in "maintenance" (and they don't tell you that the plane is actually being "maintained" in another state and there is absolutely no chance that you will ever stick one toe on that plane) and they eventually put you on another plane headed to another airport where yet another plane is delayed (ostensibly while also being "maintained") and when you finally arrive in Bangor late that evening and your rental car company is closed for the day, and you wait for your good friend to rescue you, you are grateful to Tina for distracting you with her wit and candor, thereby allowing you to have "maintained" your patience and good humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Good Not Great

    I enjoyed this book, but I felt like the reader would need to be between my age (27) and my mom's age (56) to really appreciate it. There were some funny and relatable parts and I thought the sections about her personal life were interesting, but most of the pop references were lost on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Funny and smart

    She keeps it real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Great light summer reading. READER BEWARE!! You will be rolling

    Great light summer reading. READER BEWARE!! You will be rolling with laughter and if you're like me you will get some weird looks if you read during your commute on public transportation. The only downfall to reading it on my NOOK was I couldn't tap on the * to see her side notes. Had to wait until the end of the book and forgot most of what she was referencing so I skipped that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Funny

    She's a riot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 666 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 34