Customer Reviews for

Boston Jane: An Adventure (Boston Jane Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Amaze!

    This is the best book u will read! J L. H is a genius!:):):):)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is one of my favorite books!

    this is a really great book that I would recomend to preteen girls. this book captured me and I did not want to put it down. I seemed to feel every emotion the characters felt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    Love It!

    I totally believe there should be more than just three of these books!! Please write another, I loved the Boston Jane books soooo much! Its the perfect mix of adventure and romance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    AWESOME

    I didn't really like historicals until I read Boston Jane, after my seventh grade English teacher told me about it. Though what she said didn't even begin to describe the GREATEST book I have ever read. I have read it so many times, I can't even begin to count! If you like historicals, or just romance, you MUST read this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Best of the Boston Jane Series

    I absolutely LOVED this book! I definitely think this is the best book in the series and highly reccomend it to anyone. Jane Peck is a character you can fall in love with, and I did! The only parts I didn't like were the unnecessary and frequent references to Miss Hepplewhite & the 'proper' thing to do. In spite of that, this is a great book, with a fast-moving plot and well-devoloped characters. You'll sympathize with Jane when her betrothed is nowhere to be found, be upset when she turns away Jehu and be longing to read the next book and find out what happens!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    A wonderfully crafted trilogy! If you are looking for a gift for

    A wonderfully crafted trilogy! If you are looking for a gift for a pre-teen reader and would like to avoid cheesy diary-monologue or vampire canoodling, consider Boston Jane a perfect alternative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Love!!!!!

    I only read the sample, and I really want to read all of it!! It's so great, even from the first 16 pages. Definetly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Infinity.

    Boston strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Boston Jane's spunk and attitude lighten the atmosphere, as she

    Boston Jane's spunk and attitude lighten the atmosphere, as she attempts to find a balance between her survival instincts and her desire to be a lady. The romance is sweet and far from the focus of the plot despite Jane's engagement being the reason for her arrival in the Washington Territory whereas most YA books nowadays are filled with passionate love scenes.

    The trilogy follows Jane as she struggles between her desire to present herself as a lady and the growing desire within herself to be the spunky girl that her father took pride in, the girl that a certain sailor finds attractive. Her misadventures are a delight to follow, first as she grows into life surrounded by Indians and rowdy men, and then as she fights to protect those that she cares about and learns to open her heart to another man.

    Boston Jane is about being yourself and opening your heart to those who care about you. It is about taking responsibility and seizing chances, rather than depending on luck or others to help you. It is about the comradery that forms in an environment where man cannot survive alone. I would definitely recommend this book to middle-grade readers and for older historical-fiction readers looking for a light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    I loved this book! I like the little romance with Jehu! Romantic

    I loved this book! I like the little romance with Jehu! Romantic but exciting. Love it!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Charming

    Something fresh with very endearing characters for young readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Book review with annie paul(may12 2012)

    This is a fantastic book. The story is always suprising at the end of the chapter. Jane peck was my role model when i just finished reading it. To all youn readers out there read BOSTAN JANE! Igive this story an A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Amazzzzing!!!

    This book is one of the best books I ever read. About a girl who goes through all these things to find the person who she thought was her true love, but ends up finding out that he didnt truly love her and wanted her to his wife. I dont want tell you anything else before you read it. Make sure you read the other boston jane books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Great Story!

    I could not put this book down. I read this in only 2 days. Fantastic story! When you get to the end it will really break your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Boston Jane: An Adventure

    I received this book as a gift several years ago, and I still read it to this day. The first time I read this book, I thought it was a nice story. Having just read it a few days ago, I now understand the sublte depth Holm provided the characters, and also the hints of foreshadowing that I once overlooked. The thorough story line and realistic actions of the characters make Boston Jane a thrilling story, with both the ups and downs that come in life. Boston Jane is a story of the ages, and it has often captured my imagination, wondering what became of Jane after Holm's final words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The BEST book I have ever read!!!

    This has to be the best book I have ever read!I love that it is romantic and funny at the same time .I must have this book like 5 times!!!Jennifer Holm has GOT to write more than just 3 books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    wow i don't usly

    ushly i don't read books twice but this book, i read it 3 times. i still crave the writeing. one of the best novles ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    Miss Peck starts her adventure here!

    With her heart set on Shoalwater Bay, Miss Jane Peck has a long and unbelievable adventure ahead of her. Little does she know she will be breaking an engagement, capturing the heart of a sailor, meeting odd friends, dangerous falls, and discovering what magic really is in the wilderness. Here, far from finery and corsets, Jane makes her way and finds what being a true lady is all about. This and a misunderstanding relationships with friends make this book something more exciting than anything you can imagine!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    An Unbelievable Book

    Jennifer Holm wrote a book that will be just awesome. If you want to read a book that will take you into a new and different world then I would greatly suggest this wonderful book. I loved everything about the book and the second book and I can't wait to read the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Awesome book

    This book was full of adventure, romance, and excitement. It was a great read. Boston Jane is a great book for people who love good romantic stories. The sequal is just as good. I definatly recommend them both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2