BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bottled Up

Average Rating 5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    Amazing

    Honestly, I had low expectations for this book based on the writing on the inside jacket; it seemed like a cliched story plot. However, I was very wrong and this book ended up being one of my favorites. The writing is emotional and excellent, and it is just an enjoyable read all around. I now believe Bottled Up deserves more recognition than it received. Every reader should get a hold of this book and would not regret it at the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    Couldn't put it down!

    As a teacher of reading in high school, I am constantly searching for reading material that will appeal to my students and motivate them to read. Jaye Murray's first novel, Bottled Up will definitely be one of those books. She is right on target with her main character, Pip, who is struggling with keeping his life sane while dealing with a dysfunctional family. It is obvious that she has been around young people dealing with conflict in their lives. Her descriptons of Pip's interactions with his peers and the adults in his life are genuine. The relationship that Pip has with his younger brother, Mikey, is a key component in Pip's struggle to overcome his anger and figure out what it is he wants out of life. I started reading on a Saturday afternoon and couldn't put it down until I was finished. I look forward to more selections by Ms. Murray.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Nightwind

    Go to result two. They changed from the last time i checked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Mosstar

    Im here. BTW all toms LOVE me but ur the only one who GOT me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Poppytep

    Hello.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great read. Especially for junior high and high school ages.

    This book is a great easy, fast read. The reader can really relate to Pip and you want him find out of the mess that his life is in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    I was So Excited

    The Author of this book is my social worker/teacher in my school Van Nest Middle School in New York.So then one of her students were reading this book and i was just amazed. ''Is that Ms.Murray?!''I asked shocked at my discovery it was.The next thing you know I was reading the book in Recess! I could not out it down.The Principal Carol Ann Gilligan was supporting the right.As I keep my anonymous phase so I do not get into trouble,my classmates are getting more up to date in this book.Last week we met her daughter and I guess that was cool but yes.Keep getting at it Ms.Murray!My English teacher had that book and I thought it was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bottled up

    This book was amazing. The first thing that stuck out to me was the simple cover and title. I was in love with it from the beggining. It was emotional, tense, and I found myself crying at parts. I could relate so much to Pip, and I was amazed by how those simple "I want..." sentences could kill me and make me sob. The author is amazing, and takes you on a journey with Pip you won't soon forget. His little brother is the sweetest thing in the world, and I was so heartbroken when a certain part came up... He wants to be like Pip so much, and he wants his dad to stop... T_T Everyone in that family has a problem, this truly shows the emotional tragedy of a broken home.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    Bottled up

    Bottled up by Jay Murray was a sick nasty book which means a sweet book. It is about pip and who skips class and goes and smokes weed all thee time and goes to a lot of party's. This book affected me because I have had the same problem this kid had. Pip had to go to a counselor outside of school and he party's a lot which I use too. He has a younger brother that looks up to him as do i and the worst of all I would skip class to but not to go and smoke weed I would do that outside of school like everyday. My opinion has changed about Bottle Up because at first I thought it was going to be a boring and lame book but right away it turned out to be a really good book. The author shows the reader what people can be like in real life. There are some people who don't know what it like to live in a crappy life were your dad is an alcoholic or your mom. And they fight with you every night or every other. Some people have a good home life were there is no drugs or alcohol involved and so some people don't know much about the drug or alcohol life style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was absolutley fabulous!I got it from my school library yesterday and finished it this morning. This book tells about a boy that is hooked on drugs and his difficult life at home with an alcoholic father, and how that affects his own life.This is a great read and anybody who likes a book that they can't put down. this is definatley the book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    I really enjoyed this book and i recommend anyone to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Great Book

    This book is about a child who dose not get along with his dad. So he turnes to drugs and achocle. But when he gets theaened to get kicked out of school he has to start geting drug test 3 times a week. to see how it unfolds u will have to read it yourself. i give it five out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    wow!!!!!

    this book is so good its like if it was written for exactly your life style

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Life lessons

    I would recommend this book to anyone in high school. This book deals with the real life situations high school students have to deal with everyday. No matter where you live, you can still have a broken down household. Everyone has family issues but some are more serious than others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book is AMAZING. i finished it in 8 hours i think. it didn't take me long! this book is amazing if i haven't already said that. i fell in love with PIP and if you like stories about the average troubled teen, you'll LOVE this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    fantastic!

    this book was amazing i couldnt put it down. best book i think i ever read it was a good dipiction of a teens life with a chaotic family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    What a crazy life for a teen?

    So I had to read this book for my english class and my teacher was the one that told me to read it. I dont read much but as I read the first chapter it made me go on. I read the book within 3 days it had alot of suspence which made me love it.The book is about Pip which is the main charcter of the book all he does is smoke weed and drink. He doesnt quit smoking weed and if he doesnt he would be expelled he isn't scared of that. Hes scared of his crazy dad that is always drunk. Pip also has to take care of his younger brother which he hates doing. I should'nt say more or else I would give up the end. Then theres no point of reading it. The outsiders is a real good book also but this one is much better so just go buy the book and read it enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    this book

    i love this book! its good for my age like 16 17and 18 year olds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    WOW!

    Wow this book was so thriling. i mean i love the suspence that the author makes in every sentence by just telling every detail of the part the caracter is taking. i love how the author makes you think about certain stuff and i actually does keep you thinking about questions that even at the end of the book the author did not answer them so its like makeing an ending to the story all by your self just that in your imagination. i would recomended to people who are looking for real life situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    One Screwed Up Life

    Bottled Up is about a kid named Philip Downs, Also known as Pip he is a pot smoking, slack off kid. He skips school, never gets a hair cut, and always wears a tie-died shirt because he doesn¿t know what his favorite color is. His dad is very mean and hits him all the time. One day he gets kicked out of class and doesn¿t go to the office instead he goes outside and gets stoned. Later the principal, Mr. Girald, finds him and says he needs to go and get help he would expel him. Mr. Girald says all of this in a blackmailing way. So pip goes to this lady named Carrie and he has to talk about his life. Every time he goes he has to have a urine test done so now Pip can¿t get stoned any more. At the same time of trying to quit he has to take care of his brother, Mikey, Also know as Bugs, too. Well one day Pip forgot to pick up Bugs and there was this big construction hole was near where Bugs was waiting and he fell in a got hurt really badly. Pips dad was very mad and he was drunk too but Pip stands up for him self and chews out his dad. His dad stopped yelling at him after that for a little while. Now if I would tell you too much more about the book there would be no point in reading it. What I liked about the book was that I could relate to Pip in many ways. I liked how it told about how messed up Pips life is. What I didn¿t like about the book was that it was only one book not a series. I also didn¿t like how it when into his mind, it distracts you from what is going on. That is why I liked and diliked the book Bottled Up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3