Customer Reviews for

Bouncing Off Guardrails: Somewhere in Life Between Victorious Triumph and Horrific Annihilation

Average Rating 5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    This book is a must read. First off, unlike most autobiographies

    This book is a must read. First off, unlike most autobiographies, it's a tell-it-like-it-is account. Axe spills the beans. He was a wild man back in the day. Gettin' blackout drunk, meeting plenty of good-lookin' women, and going full bore the whole time. Axe realizies this may need to change though, when he realizes he needs a heart operation. After getting through the operation, Axe realizes it's time to change. His life does change, and the biggest driving force in the move for the better is Axe himself. He realizes that he needs to turn a 180 compared to his old self, and makes a continually conscious effort to do so. At the end, Axe is happy to realize that he is in perhaps the best shape of his life, and things keep getting better and better. As Axe undertones, you can be the change you want in your own life. Get up and make an effort, and stuff will change for the better! It's very inspirational, and you'll find that Axe seems like an old friend after reading it, and like any old friend, you'll be rootin' for him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Wow, so many good things about this book. It is not written like

    Wow, so many good things about this book. It is not written like a book or even like a journal but more like just a couple of guys talking about family and girls and bikes and life. Axe brought just enough from the past to explain the today without judgment. This book could be enjoyed on many different levels from a party 'till you're stupid training manual to a rather deep intellectual study of society and philosophy. A great read and I am not a book person but I found many things I could relate to in this one.

    triker

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    Great book! I saw myself in his old ways and I, too, have quit

    Great book! I saw myself in his old ways and I, too, have quit drinking and carrying on, so I know where he is coming from, in that sense. Axe seems like a genuine person who has come a long way from his surgery. I am happy to know that he is living his life to the fullest and doing it in a healthy manner. I sure hope this becomes a movie because I would really love to see it. I told Axe that Vin Diesel needs to play him, lol. Would definitely recommend this book to anyone that is going through struggles, or anyone period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    It takes a strong person to open up and reveal the details of th

    It takes a strong person to open up and reveal the details of their life...the good and the bad. Axe tells his story without reservation, showing  what has driven him to become that person that he is today. Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Axe opened up a two year window of his life to reveal a man head

    Axe opened up a two year window of his life to reveal a man heading to a place that many of us would never want to go, but he did, and he survived it. There are huge amounts of honesty, raw honesty in his words. Axe told it as it was and held nothing back. This book is revealing and isn't for everyone, but if you can handle the honest truth about a person that is coming apart and manages to pull it all back together for all the right reasons. Then I highly recommend this book because once I started reading it, it was hard to put down. You can't lose buying "Bouncing off Guardrails"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Awesome book, highly recommended read! Very entertaining and ed

    Awesome book, highly recommended read! Very entertaining and educational look into the mind and life of an addict, and through the stuggles that come with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    BoGRs is a must read! Raw and gritty, Axe apologetically tells

    BoGRs is a must read! Raw and gritty, Axe apologetically tells us the story of his life. Its like watching a train-wreck and not being able to look away, but we can all learn something through Axe's almost certain self-destruction. It will make you laugh and cry, and you don't have to be into bikes or rock n roll to enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Axe writes from the experiences he's had in his life with a flai

    Axe writes from the experiences he's had in his life with a flair that most writers miss! Once I started the book I was into page 201 before I knew it and living Axe's life and memories thru his eyes and mind. A great book about life, not just motorcycles as some might think! A must read for anyone facing their mortality and having to look back to see where they've been!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Fascinating book. As someone who lives life on the conservative

    Fascinating book. As someone who lives life on the conservative side, I found this book to be exhilarating. I kept wondering what Axe was going to do next. What crazy idea would he have and then have the ability to follow through?

    Once I was past the "R rated" language, there were many passages where I stopped to think, ponder and debate. Axe was able to find some thought provoking meanings to his various life experiences and was able to express those clearly to the reader. Like another reviewer said, if I read this book again in five years, I will have a different perspective.

    Thanks Axe for giving me something to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    For a person who doesn’t like to read anything but drugs,

    For a person who doesn’t like to read anything but drugs, sex and rock n’ roll books this was right up my alley. Axe keeps you entertained with his descriptive stories and does a phenomenal job at making you feel like you were at the bar or on the operating table with him. From his words and emotions, his highs and lows, Axe makes you appreciate life through someone who had everything but then taking away so quickly. Axe was given a second chance. Life is not about what we have but who we have in our lives and what we’ve experienced to get us to that point.

    As to personally have met Axe and have had the pleasure of hearing a wild story or two direct from the source, this book was a joy to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    This is a powerful book that reminds us just how valuable each d

    This is a powerful book that reminds us just how valuable each day is. But also how it feels to get a second chance at life!

    The book kept me on edge, I did not want to put it down! Highly recommended if you ride motorcycles, or wonder what living a fun life and getting that second chance feels like and that there is hope for the rest of us or you enjoy hearing it like it is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    "Lessons Learned" to coin a favorite phrase from the o

    "Lessons Learned" to coin a favorite phrase from the office...
    While I had to read this book in chunks because Axe is such an intense guy and I was too nervous half the time, I really enjoyed reading it and living vicariously through him. This "diary" gives the reader insight to someone who's truly lived live to the fullest and has learned a lesson or two along the way. Interesting getting to know Axe in this light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    If you’re over 40, don’t buy this book. But if you&

    If you’re over 40, don’t buy this book.

    But if you’re between 17 and 39—and you think you have life all figured out; if you think you know the trajectory of your life from now until old age; if you think the fabric of your life is carefully stitched together—then you might consider learning a thing or two from this book.

    The book is not about motorcycles, or booze, or women or money. But when these things are combined in the life of anyone who makes un-informed, stubborn, rebellious, immature and dumb decisions (like lots of people in the 17-39 range), the volatile brew can make a mess of one’s life. So what is this book about? It’s about learning to use a little moderation in life.

    The author of this book, Axe, is a highly intelligent mechanical engineer who graduated from a good school and thought his life would be just dandy. Smart, good job in his early 20s, plenty of money and friends…..what could go wrong?

    Plenty went wrong, as he discusses in his book. Eventually, he came to realize that most of these things went wrong because of him and his lack of moderation about booze, women, money, friends, and motorcycles and cars. Full throttle, all the time, no limits either up or down. Or sideways for that matter, as I’ll explain in my final paragraph.

    The name of this book is “Bouncing Off Guardrails”, which is clearly a metaphor for his wild younger life….much like a lot of us have been through in our 20s. At the low point of his life (early 30s) he met an older, wiser guy who was much like himself decades earlier, but had avoided most of the disasters of life. This guy told Axe that if he would just stay between the yellow lines on the highway of life—moderation—then things might just work out okay. And as the book concludes you can see that he did wise-up, and began to enjoy his wild life even more by toning it down a notch or two and by thinking about the consequences before doing something stupid. Before that, he had been crossing those yellow lines and touching those guardrails. If that describes your life…read this book. You might grow up earlier, or ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    AWSOME!! Axe has lived life to the fullest, from one extreem to

    AWSOME!! Axe has lived life to the fullest, from one extreem to the other, good, bad, he has expierienced it all. Some live in a boring "safe mode", but not him. Full of "Don't try this at home" stories and life lessons, this book is a great read for anyone! Great job Axe, now get out there and do some more crazy stuff, so you can write another one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Great read. I enjoyed the book, and I think anyone would find th

    Great read. I enjoyed the book, and I think anyone would find the book interesting. I have had a few experiences that I share with the author that made it very personal to me as I journeyed through the book. Life is precious, and you have to do what makes you happy. Awesome book Axe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Author does and excellent job of keep the reader engaged. Some

    Author does and excellent job of keep the reader engaged. Some would judge the experiences of Axe but most should just realize it's a form of honesty that is lost in this day and age, "real honesty". Axe not only puts his experiences in this book but also pens what he is thinking, again not something that is commonplace with anyone these days. This would be a performance for most but in the authors case it's the life he has chosen to lead, live and love. I can only admire his sense of brutal honesty calling it how it is and not worrying about the politically correct or impression of judgment others may place on him. A must read for anyone who experiences life at this level or would like to ride along as Axe revels in his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Very Good and entertaining book. Gives you the perspective from

    Very Good and entertaining book. Gives you the perspective from someone who's truly lived life to the fullest and "maybe" grown from it and is wiser for the scars. Absolutely worth the read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    A very enlightning book. It was like getting to read Axe's diar

    A very enlightning book. It was like getting to read Axe's diary in the way he writes about his inner most thoughts and ideas. He tells it like it is, and with no need to sugar coat his opinions. It is a great read to understand the life of a man that is literally going from one side of society to another. I would recommend this book to my deliquent friends and my Grandmother. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Very forthright & candid portrayal by author Axe who "p

    Very forthright & candid portrayal by author Axe who "pulls-no-punches" in expressively telling it like you’ve never read before.
    “Entertainingly audacious” as the Axe takes you into various entanglements you’re easily able to relate to through your own parallel life experiences.
    A must read for those looking for shocking enrichment!!!…

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    “Bouncing Off Guardrails” is a curious work, defying

    “Bouncing Off Guardrails” is a curious work, defying description. Although I was able to wrap my mind around it, I find it difficult to describe its complexity, woven by the weft and warp of vignettes. I also found it to be very personal, because, in spite of Axe’s disarmingly honest and profane confession that offended my public sensibilities, it struck a chord within my alter ego. It was as if I was reading two books at once, one biographical and one fantasy, and I simply couldn’t put them down!

    Through his recollections and the introspection they have inspired, Axe has found the synergy of intellect and spirit; each strengthening and giving purpose to the other. At times, his observations and conclusions cut to the quick of public values in American society, laying bare the pretense of propriety and shining a light on the basest and most honest motivations. Simultaneously, though, Axe’s hard-earned wisdom causes the reader to examine his own values, and either defend or adjust them through an honest introspection of his own.

    Ultimately, though, through Axe’s triumph over certain death, the reader is inspired to dust off dreams and set to work achieving them in the precious hours of life remaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2