Customer Reviews for

Bound (Mastered Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I love Lorelei James!  She's always an automatic buy for me!  Sh

I love Lorelei James!  She's always an automatic buy for me!  She didn't disappoint with this book either!  I love her characters. Amery is like one of my girlfriends, who just happens to have such a HAWT bf.  Btw, his name is Ronin Black, who is soooo alpha, I get goos...
I love Lorelei James!  She's always an automatic buy for me!  She didn't disappoint with this book either!  I love her characters. Amery is like one of my girlfriends, who just happens to have such a HAWT bf.  Btw, his name is Ronin Black, who is soooo alpha, I get goosebumps just thinking of him. Yes, I have lost sleep reading this bk.  Yes, I've thought of the characters during my work day.  And, yes I have rushed home just to continue reading.  I love the characters and storyline.  Totally will await the next installment!  

posted by emanonlu on February 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

Did you this is a two book story? Ive read all of Lorelei's books. Absolutely love her stories. This one? Not so much. Of course it had an abundance of passion. But this book didnt feel like a Lorelei book. This read like every other commercialized erotic book out there...
Did you this is a two book story? Ive read all of Lorelei's books. Absolutely love her stories. This one? Not so much. Of course it had an abundance of passion. But this book didnt feel like a Lorelei book. This read like every other commercialized erotic book out there; with the trend of having to read more than one book to finish it. Didnt feel as pure as all of her other books. Im so disappointed. I can no longer buy her books just bc i see her name.

posted by 8113876 on February 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    I love Lorelei James!  She's always an automatic buy for me!  Sh

    I love Lorelei James!  She's always an automatic buy for me!  She didn't disappoint with this book either!  I love her characters. Amery is like one of my girlfriends, who just happens to have such a HAWT bf.  Btw, his name is Ronin Black, who is soooo alpha, I get goosebumps just thinking of him. Yes, I have lost sleep reading this bk.  Yes, I've thought of the characters during my work day.  And, yes I have rushed home just to continue reading.  I love the characters and storyline.  Totally will await the next installment!  

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    A Must Read!!

    I absolutely loved this book! I read it in one day as I could not put it down. The charactors are intense and the story is unique. The sex and chemistry between Ronin and Amery...OMG! I can't wait for the conclusion of Unbound in March.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    4 1/2 earth moving stars! I don't think that it's possible for L

    4 1/2 earth moving stars!
    I don't think that it's possible for Lorelei to write a book that I wouldn't absolutely love. Strong characters with lots of layers and depth. Ronin and Amery literally scorch the pages of this book. Their chemistry is beyond hot. He is, or course, a typical closed off man. Unfortunately, he's keeping a lot more secrets than most - and not willing to share. They meet at his dojo when she is a last minute addition to a self defense class she was tagging along with for support of her friend. Their connection is instant and only heats up further as the book progresses. In addidion to the fabulous sex, the bondage scenes practically transport the reader to the same happy space Amery is in and makes you crave the ability to let go and find your own release. When the bondage using ropes first appears, Amery says quite a few hurtful things to Ronin due to shock and fear. They actually discuss this as mature adults after each have calmed down. It's not glossed over as if the reader won't realize. There is an impromtu rooftop dinner party, a run-in with her ex at an exclusive event, an attempted robbery, a woman who bares her heart and soul and a possesive man afraid to let anyone in. After Amery's last minute business meeting, things do come to blows and there is quite a bit of tension. I'll have to wait until next month to find out what happens. This does end on a cliff, but not one so drastic that you want to throw the book across the room. I actually read that part 3 times and am very proud of Amery for holding herself together and getting it all out there. One of the reasons I love Lorelei's books so much is that she writes a story as if you are actually seeing it unfold in front of your eyes - like a movie. I can't wait for more!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Wow! Great start to the Mastered Series!  I wasn't sure what to

    Wow! Great start to the Mastered Series!  I wasn't sure what to expect from Lorelei James latest novel, BOUND. Even though its set in Colorado, there are no cowboys in this one!  There is, however, one very sexy, mysterious and secretive martial arts and Shibari master, Ronin Black.  I was instantly intrigued by Master Black and so was our heroine, graphic artist Amery Hardwick.  They meet when Amery  goes along to a self defense class to support a friend.  And sparks immediately fly! Something about the dominant and demanding Sensei Black compels Amery to act out of character, to be quite bold.  Raised in a strict  fundamentalist Christian family, Amery struggles to claim her sexuality and to be the bold, independent, strong woman she wants to be.  Sensei Black encourages  and accompanies her on her journey. 
    The two begin a relationship that is, at times, a challenge for Amery. Ronin's lifestyle is very different from anything Amery has known in the past.  She struggles to accept certain parts of Ronin, while also growing frustrated that he holds back certain parts of himself. Their differences do cause some conflicts, which I felt were very authentic and realistic.   One of my favorite things about Amery, and there are quite a few--I loved this character!--is that she doesn't just go along with Ronin.  When confronted with certain things that are a little shocking and foreign to her, she has questions and concerns.  She needs time to think things over. 
    I loved this book!  I'm going to be completely honest here--I'm not a fan of bondage.  Although I've read a number of bondage-themed books, none of them have ever made it interesting or appealing to me.  Ms. James history and descriptions of the art of  shibari and kinbaku were so vivid, that I could picture it in my head.  I still don't want anyone to tie me up, but I have a whole new appreciation for this artform.
    BOUND is just the first part of Ronin and Amery's story. Their story concludes in UNWOUND (March 25, 2014).  This book is a complete story.  It's just not the entire story.  It never felt contrived or padded.  I loved every word of it!!  Was I sorry it ended?  Hell yes!  I'm always sorry when a good book ends...but I cannot wait to read the rest of Ronin and Amery's story in UNWOUND!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Amazing read

    This was another fantastic read by Lorelei James. It has a great strong story line and depth in the characters! I cant wait for the next one in the series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    OMG! I absolutely loved Bound! Amery and Ronin had me hooked in

    OMG! I absolutely loved Bound! Amery and Ronin had me hooked in chapter one and I had a very difficult time putting the book down. Master Ronin can tie me up any time!! Miss Lorelei, I am so happy you took this book in a different direction than others similar to it. I will never look at someone in Gi pants the same way ever again!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    A definite MUST to read!

    Lorelei does it again!!! She takes us in a new direction, keeps your heart (and lady parts) pumping, and gives an adrenaline rush right up to the end!!!! Ronin is sexy, intense, frustrating, and melt-your-panties yummy! Amery may have issues, but she can definitely stand on her own, and she definitely makes Ronin reconsider himself. BOUND is so difficult to put down, yet you want to savor it slowly. And this will definitely be a re-read in anticipation of UNWOUND in March!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lorelei is one of my favorite authors and this book did not let

    Lorelei is one of my favorite authors and this book did not let me down.  I absolutely loved it.  Ms. James has another hit series on her hands.  I had to laugh when Amery first meets Ronin and throws her pants at him.  From that point on it was a roller coaster of emotions.  The sex in this book is amazing as is the chemistry between Ronin and Amery. There were times in the book that I seriously wanted to reach in and smack Ronin on the head.  When Ronin told Amery that the scar on her arm looked like the Japanese symbol for his name, I honestly thought to myself, see your meant to be together you hard headed fool! I will admit when this book ended I yelled.  I cannot wait for the next book in the Mastered Series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    really enjoyed this book

    I bought this book because it was book 1 in what I thought was a series only to find out it was just a 2 book story. It was somewhat Shades of Grey but better in my opinion. I read Bound and Unwound, the conclusion, one right after the other and thoroughly enjoyed both. The characters were interesting, Ronin, a very high ranking jujitzu master,Alpha to the max and Amery, a rediculously wholesome daughter of a minister from small town USA. The sex was hot with just the right amount of kink and the story line held my interest from beginning to end. I really hope Ms.James does a follow-up story on Ronin's sister Shiori.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This fabulous story is about Amery Hardwick, a graphic designer,

    This fabulous story is about Amery Hardwick, a graphic designer, and Ronin Black, an 8th degree black belt and owner of Black Arts, a martial arts training facility.  Oh yeah, he's also a Shibari and Kinbaku Master, which is Japanese rope bondage.  Beautiful rope bondage!  They both fall hard for each other but one thing holds Amery back.  He's got secrets.  A lot of secrets!  He's an extremely private man and she can tell he picks and chooses the details he allows her to know.  Rumors run rampant about the type of man Master Black truly is.  Will Amery be able to accept the lifestyle Ronin leads along with all the secrets he's not sharing?

    Fantastic book!  I highly recommend this first book in The Mastered Series.  I know when I crack open a book written by Lorelei James, that it's a sure thing in my hands.  She NEVER disappoints!  The detail Ms. James goes into with this bondage is amazing.  The images pop into your head and you can actually see him performing these beautiful Japanese bondage arts on her.  He is a tortured soul and she is walking around living life to please every one else.  When these two come together, you can feel the pull between them.  With the first book I can tell this will be one of those series that you can read over and over and never get tired of it.  I am so excited to read the next book in this fabulous series, Unwound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Amazing

    I never write reviews on books I purchase, but this book had me glued. Finished it in a day. The charcters are well written and the story line is great. I am happy that the author didn't give us the story line of some pathetic woman so messed up that she couldn't be strong enough to.make her own decisions. I'm glad she made her strong willed. I'm so happy that I had other reviews to help me make my final decision on reading this story. Now I can bearly wait till the 25th for the upcoming ending to this story. I think I might have found a new writer to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    My Favorite Author Strikes Again

    From page 1 to the end I was enrapt
    My Nook was running hot and so was I
    I in knots waiting to see what twists this tale of love takes
    I can't wait
    Ps
    Mrs. James if you ever read this
    Give the tattooed bald brother a book he sounds like my kind of man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Wow!

    This book took me by surprise. Its so refreshing to find a book that pulls you in. Characters and story line were well developed. Literally could not put the book down. The sexual intensity between the main two characters--lets just say I fully could appreciate the saying, "I need a bottle of cold water to cool off" after reading this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Excellent Weekend Get A Way Read!!!

    Oh yes, another great series by Lorelei James. Wanted to add this to my weekend of relaxation. I just couldn't put it down to have it last through the entire weekend. After ending the last page I had to place my pre-order for Unwound. Don't pass this one up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2015

    Put your hands together, literally, for a great read! Lorelei J

    Put your hands together, literally, for a great read!
    Lorelei James takes a break from cowboy ropes and instead lassoes (too much?) us into a new story involving Japanese Shibari bondage. If you’re interested, there’s actually a Pinterest board devoted to it, so it’s pretty tame and is kind of an art. I’m a fan of Lorelei James, I like her characters, and think she does a great job of building really sophisticated tension between them. Their interactions seem honest, and they are generally just more self-aware than a lot of characters in Erotica novels. Bound is no different, continuing with grounded, realistic situations, atmosphere, and people.

    The book starts with Amery going to a local dojo with a friend, and smarting off to the employees about not being able to observe the class with her friend. Apparently, the rules of Ronin’s dojo are super rigid, and everyone obeys them without question. At this point, I was afraid that it was going to be an arguing type of novel, but Lorelei is too good for that. Of course, Amery expresses irritation at times with Ronin’s dominance, but she goes deeper and truly starts to explore his world in a way that was interesting. The thing about bondage and BDSM is there’s a built-in psychological component, and oftentimes, it’s super depressing and intense, but again, James does a good job of not turning those issues into insincere melodrama.

    As the book progresses, it’s the standard push and pull of Ronin not being entirely honest with Amery about his past, who he is, etc., juxtaposed with Amery’s own upbringing in an extremely religious family. While that doesn’t factor in the story in an invasive way, it does provide a backdrop for the tension between them. However, there are many moments of fun and lightness, and it’s done well, not just forced jokes that are supposed to be funny because the characters are laughing, but genuinely funny jokes. The supporting characters at the dojo are interesting, but Amery’s work colleagues weren’t my favorite and I mostly skipped those parts of the book. Nevertheless, Ronin and Amery keep you intrigued, and the story unravels at an easy, but not too unbelievable pace. I like that some time passes and we see the relationship build and grow.

    Overall, I thought this book was slow to start mainly because it took me a bit to really get a read on Ronin, but once I got into it, I was really into it. So much so that I bought the other book and started reading it at like four in the morning. Sure, there were times when Ronin’s talking was kind of stilted and unbelievable, and at times knocked me out of the mood of the book. At one point he says, “I’ve fantasized about having these silken tresses wrapped around my fist…” you get the idea… There’s not a dude I know who would ever say “silken tresses,” but there wasn’t too much stuff like that so it’s not nearly a deal-breaker. Another thing I liked about this book was the Japanese culture, which I don’t find much of in romance novels, and the fact that Ronin is not only a quarter Japanese, but also sort of a samurai. It was a pleasant departure, and I’m only halfway into the second book in the series (a girl’s gotta sleep), but it’s shaping up to be an equally great read! That said, I hope Lorelei James hasn’t given up on cowboys for good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    Mezmerizing!

    Mezmerizing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Want more like this

    Loved it series was great looking forward to more like this one thank you MS James for a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    Talk about a Master series, this first book has you hooked and &

    Talk about a Master series, this first book has you hooked and "tied". The twist and turns in bothe Ronin and Amery's past hook you, but the Hot "ties" hold you. Thanks Lorelei & Good Writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Anonymous

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Loved this book!

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4