Customer Reviews for

Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Romance

Average Rating 4
( 589 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Well written-refreshing paranormal story

I would pay good money to read this story-well within the 9 to 10 $ range other stories in this genre run. A very well written interesting plot with great characters that i immediately wanted to learn more about. The story sucked me in from the first page and is so well...
I would pay good money to read this story-well within the 9 to 10 $ range other stories in this genre run. A very well written interesting plot with great characters that i immediately wanted to learn more about. The story sucked me in from the first page and is so well written i visualized the scenery. Highly recommend reading this story and this author is a name to remember. I look forward to reading the sequel and am excited i found a new great author in my favorite genre. (I recommend anne bishop,kelly armstrong,"trance",c.e murphy,kristen painter,j.f. lewis,nicky charles...)

posted by Nikki819 on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

I didn't like Bound!

It was cheesy and had no depth to the premise or the characters. The main character was such a two sided WEAK person, I doubt anyone can like her. The way she talks is like the one of a self centred child. It's all about me and me and me, Poor poor me!


What kind of...
It was cheesy and had no depth to the premise or the characters. The main character was such a two sided WEAK person, I doubt anyone can like her. The way she talks is like the one of a self centred child. It's all about me and me and me, Poor poor me!


What kind of friend is she if she thinks the worst of her "best" friend. She is so jealous of the other girl. Insecure. two-faced. A true friend would never be jealous the way she is. I can tell from the beginning the main character doesn't like her own best friend. So why is she friends with her? Does she hope to get something? her money? That's not a main character to root for!


I have nothing to say to those who want to read this book anyway, except DON'T
It was slow and not even in the least bit entertaining.

posted by charlosbl on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    396 pages and the ending dropped off. Now I am just pissed that

    396 pages and the ending dropped off. Now I am just pissed that I even started to red the book. If only I had known. I am glad it was free but I can not get back the time I lost reading the darn thing

    29 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    meh

    Arelia comes off as very immature and childish. If the description wouldn't say she is 16, I would have believed she is just 10. She would overreact to the smallest things and she does the most stupid mistakes that make her unlikeable. despite having heard spirits her whole life, she refuses to believe any of it. instead of having courage, Arelia shows having no backbone. When her best friend turns against her, she forgives her. What? This is a no no for me.
    I could not, for the life of me, understand this girl. As for Lucus, he was shallow. I didn't feel that there was an attraction between him and her. They all seemed very stiff; unconvincing. How I am supposed to enjoy a book when the character is already so whinny and weak. The second book didn't get better. I won't read any more books by this author.

    26 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Took too long to get going, seems like nothing but a set up for

    Took too long to get going, seems like nothing but a set up for a sequel. Unfortunately the second book was much worse than the first. Even if it is part of a trilogy or a series, the writer should take into consideration that each book, is just that, a BOOK and a full story should be contained within. And for pity's sake, please use an editor.

    17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    I was disappointed in this. The action is frustratingly slow and

    I was disappointed in this. The action is frustratingly slow and the plot all over the place. I wasn't even sure what her main theme was until at least halfway in. Wouldnt recommend it.

    15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Terrible. A pain to get through

    Terrible. A pain to get through

    13 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Poorly written. A lot didn't even make sense.

    Poorly written. A lot didn't even make sense.

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Not worth the time. Not even when free.

    Not worth the time. Not even when free.

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    please use a dictionary

    Very poorly written

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Meh

    A great deal could have been done with as deep subject matters as those touched on in the story. Class, race, unrequited love, voodoo??? I kept wanting to be excited but the writing was simplistic. Characters and plot points under developed. The writing reminds me of assignments I wrote in highschool (Half assedly). The main character is feeble minded, selfish and overall annoying. Her weakness is downright disgusting. As a female reading this book i was darn near infuriated by how she reinforced all the terrible things men probably already think about the female mind. Indecisive. Simplistic. Petty.....and ive written this review after pushing through 4 books of this series. I truly hoped it would get better. Id even re read these very same books if a DIFFERENT author re-wrote them......or this one took a few classes and tried again

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Blah so what

    It was okay. Although there is alot of books with this format and plot. There is a girl and she leaves home to a place she has never been before. Then she gets into some trouble and then she eventually falls in love. Who really wants to read a repetative subject.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Ugh

    Very weird plot, hard to follow with way too many turns and cheesy characters. Won't be reading any more of this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Ummm.

    Ew. Stupd.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    No plot whatsoever

    After reading all 402 pages of this ebook, I can honestly say there was only setup with no actual plot. Perhaps this sort of drivel appeals to a YA audience but the characters were shallow and the dialogue irritating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Eh...

    For the avid reader looking for good characters and a deep plot, i don't recommend. The plot is easy to see through and the charavters are kind of juvenile. It's good enough, but not amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    ?

    Not very good. Ending just stopped. Book was not good enough to waste money on a second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Eh.

    It was okay but very predictable....not gnna buy the next one not worth it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Incredibly immature read, terrible plot follow through.

    This book is insanely immature. The main character is as deep as a puddle. She's the poor, 'hard working', misunderstood pretty girl that doesn't know she's pretty with a rich spoiled best friend. The other main characters only get worse, from The Dumpty's to the tragic and hot Lucus who Arelia knows is mysterious but 'just can't put her finger on it.' Serioisly, this book and the writing is terrible. I have no idea how this is a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    are all the books in there i dont want to waste my money on only one book or too when i can have a different ome

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Not the best

    I couldnt really get into this one. I just got bored. i wouldnt pay for anymore of these books but it was alright for a free book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    I have never read a book with so many missed used words. I had t

    I have never read a book with so many missed used words. I had to reread many sentences to see what the author was trying to say.The grammar was horrible and there was no
    conclusion. It just ended. The plot was good and the characters were interesting. The main character reacted strangely to Lucas. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2