Customer Reviews for

Bound by Night (Moonbound Clan Vampires Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

This new series is tantalizing, fresh and hypnotic. This is a great new series that rates up there with the BDB series from JRWard. I am hooked and can't wait for the next chapter (can't wait for Myne's book)

posted by sd223 on September 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It was an OK read for me as well.   It took about 35 pages befor

It was an OK read for me as well.   It took about 35 pages before I could feel commited to continue, I almost gave up.
I do love Ione's books, but this was very predictable for a new series.  You can read other reviews for the storyline.
It does have interesting concept...
It was an OK read for me as well.   It took about 35 pages before I could feel commited to continue, I almost gave up.
I do love Ione's books, but this was very predictable for a new series.  You can read other reviews for the storyline.
It does have interesting concepts, but overall the plotline (different but predictable) and characters (stereotypical) fell flat.  How many times did we have to 
hear the internal dialogue of each character whining about their feelings and miscommunications?  I felt like I was in a bad romance novel.
OK, we get it already....With Ione's extertise, you'd think she'd be able to come up with other conflicts for the characters to mull over.  It also seems like Hunter will be the next book, and then perhaps Myne.  Hunter wasn't interesting on any level, and Myne was only slightly more interesting.  This is not a good start for a new series I can wait to read.  This is not a series on my can't wait  until  the next one list.   

posted by Luv2readNYC on September 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Awesome!

    This new series is tantalizing, fresh and hypnotic. This is a great new series that rates up there with the BDB series from JRWard. I am hooked and can't wait for the next chapter (can't wait for Myne's book)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bound by Night is the first book in a brand new series by Lariss

    Bound by Night is the first book in a brand new series by Larissa Ione. It takes an interesting and very unconventional twist to the vampire/human story.




    Nicole Martin watched her family brutally murdered in a slave rebellion in her home. Now 20 years later she is given the reins to a company that thrives on the exploitation of vampires. Unhappy with many divisions of the company, Nicole sets in motion plans to dismantle controversial departments of her families business holdings. Many on the board are unhappy by this turn of events. Nicole finds herself framed for ordering 20 vampires to be “inhumanly” destroyed(murdered).




    Riker is a vampire and a member of the “wild” MoonBound Clan. Watching his mate die as a slave in the Martin family home has fueled his hatred for humans for years. When a situation with a rival vampire clan causes Riker to infiltrate the Martin home, he finds himself in a bit of a dilemma...to obtain his goal he must kidnap Nicole...when he'd rather just kill her.




    Now enemies are face to face and soon discover that they aren't much different. They are both fighting for their lives and their very survival lay in each other's hands.




    This is a great start to a new series. 




    Ione did what she does best...created totally new parallel environments with her dark and gritty world building...made great snarky and witty characters...fabulous secondary characters that you can't wait to uncover their stories... I am looking forward to reading more in what is sure to be a sexy and exciting new series.




    I received this ARC copy of Bound by Night from Pocket Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication September 24, 2013.




    Written by: Larissa Ione
    Series: The Moonbound Clan Vampires
    Sequence in Series: 1
    Paperback: 400 pages
    Publisher: Pocket Books
    Publication Date: September 24, 2013
    ISBN-10: 1476700176
    ISBN-13: 978-1476700175
    Rating: 4
    Genre: Dark Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
    Age Recommendation: Adult

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Major squueeeaaaaa! Another kick-butt book by Ms. Larissa Ione.

    Major squueeeaaaaa! Another kick-butt book by Ms. Larissa Ione. This woman is like one of my favorite authors EVER!!!!!!!!!!!! She's got another book coming out later this year (Reaver's story) that I'm aching to read, but let's focus on this book, shall we?




    Bound by Night is the first book in Ms. Ione's new Moonbound Clan Vampires series, a totally different world from the one created for her Demonica/Eternal Riders series. In it, vampires are known to humans and are pretty much second class/slave-class citizens. There's a movement to free all vampires, but they haven't gotten there yet.




    Nicole was born to a human family who created much of the vampire-controlling technology and drugs out there. When she was a child, her family's vampire slaves rose up and killed everyone but her, and even she was savaged by one of them. Understandably, she grew up totally anti-vampire, yet she focused on them in her biologic research.




    Riker's wife once belonged to Nicole's family. He was never in love with her as it was a clan marriage, but he understandably has some definite hatred for Nicole and what she represents (she's recently become CEO of the entire corporation her family owned, over her half-brother who's not very happy about the situation).




    This book does a lot of world-building, getting to know the environment for which characters will move. There's the evil corporation that's doing research on unwilling vampire subjects (it's technically illegal to kidnap/research on vampires, but what the law doesn't know......), opposing vampire clans, all along a very interesting take on how vampires came to be.




    Nicole and Riker are thrown together when Riker kidnaps Nicole in hopes of rescuing a rival clan's healer. She quickly learns there is more to vampires than the savagery she witnessed as a child, and that the vampires are much more than simple savages in need of being domesticated. Nicole is smart and brave, even compassionate toward one who she believes killed her beloved nanny in childhood (Riker, who of course turns out to not have killed the nanny at all).




    The plot is complex and incredibly rich. I totally love this new world of Ms. Ione's and will eagerly be waiting for the next book in the series! 5-star rating without a doubt.




    Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    It was an OK read for me as well.   It took about 35 pages befor

    It was an OK read for me as well.   It took about 35 pages before I could feel commited to continue, I almost gave up.
    I do love Ione's books, but this was very predictable for a new series.  You can read other reviews for the storyline.
    It does have interesting concepts, but overall the plotline (different but predictable) and characters (stereotypical) fell flat.  How many times did we have to 
    hear the internal dialogue of each character whining about their feelings and miscommunications?  I felt like I was in a bad romance novel.
    OK, we get it already....With Ione's extertise, you'd think she'd be able to come up with other conflicts for the characters to mull over.  It also seems like Hunter will be the next book, and then perhaps Myne.  Hunter wasn't interesting on any level, and Myne was only slightly more interesting.  This is not a good start for a new series I can wait to read.  This is not a series on my can't wait  until  the next one list.   

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    I couldn't put it down. Just as amazing as BDB. Can't wait for t

    I couldn't put it down. Just as amazing as BDB. Can't wait for the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Excellent!

    Love Larissa's books and this one is a fantastic start to a new series. Excellent book that you won't want to put down. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Fantastic

    Great twist on vampires. Excited for more stories!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    I read a lot of vampire novels. Sometimes I get tired of the sa

    I read a lot of vampire novels. Sometimes I get tired of the same old thing - a lot are the same type. This book was refreshingly different. Vampires enslaved by humans. Just different. Enjoyable read that I would definitely recommend.
    Thanks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Bound by Night follows Nicole Martin and Riker, a human and vamp

    Bound by Night follows Nicole Martin and Riker, a human and vampire, as they try to right wrongs of both of their pasts while also trying to survive. As a young girl, Nicole’s family was killed by rioting vampire slaves and she was left scarred both physically and mentally. Now she is the president of her family’s company that performs experiments on vampires to help with medicine and science. Riker had lost his wife to Nicole’s family, making him hate all the Martins and wanting revenge on what they did to her. Now he needs her to help save a fellow vampire from being killed. As they start working together, Nicole and Riker start developing a relationship that neither of them can explain, and the more they dive into her family’s company, the more they realize how corrupt it is.




    Will Nicole betray her family’s company and side with the vampires? Or will she betray her new love and help go back to performing unethical experiments?




    The author does a great job giving all her characters a unique voice and attitude. I love her scientist vampire and how “off” he is at times, reminding me of some of my professor in college. She can easily make you terrified with the creatures she created, but later have compassion and love them as well.




    I really enjoyed Riker as a character, more than Nicole, due to his depth and what he was willing to do for what he felt like was his duty to the clan. He is also drop dead gorgeous and sexy, like a lot of vampires I know…




    As for Nicole, there is some things I don’t think she would do that Larissa Ione has her do, such as falling in love with this vampire so early in the book. I think could have been more interaction leading up to it, especially after the traumatic experiences she had as a child. She reminds me a bit of Buffy mixed with Jesse Reeves from Queen of the Damned…




    The novel has a very gripping plot, with many ups and downs, surprises and twists. One problem I did have, though, is the change of view midway through the book to a different character other than Nicole and Riker. This only happens once or twice and really breaks up the flow of the story. This and some of the flashbacks made the story feel less connected and could have been stronger if they were executed better.




    So I give this novel a 4.0/5.0. I really enjoyed it and found the story to be fascinating, but there were a couple of things that I thought could be better.




    Original review posted on A Bibliophile's Reverie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Real page turner

    This is a great book•It keeps you wanting more•I am looking forward to the next book in the series•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2014

    To say that I am surprised that this is a great book is a comple

    To say that I am surprised that this is a great book is a complete and total lie! I have read every book in Larissa Iones Dominica series and have been patiently waiting for her next book to come out in December. I have received this book as an ARC from Netgally for my honest review.

    At 8 yrs old Nicole Martins life came crumbling down when her family is massacred during a rebellion her families vampire slaves. Barely making it out alive she has used the experience to help her focus on creating a vaccine against vampirism.

    Riker, a member of the wild vampire Moon Clan, has hated the Martin family for years because the Martins kept his wife as slave. When Riker tried to help her escape his wife and unborn child were killed. When the Moon clan finds out the Martin family has something they need or all hell will break loose; Riker will stop at nothing to get back what his clan needs.

    When you throw two wounded souls into situations were it boils down to help each other or die if you work alone Riker and Nicole know that it is a no brainer what the decision will be. Together Riker and Nicole do the unthinkable, but can they ignore the pull of the full moon, the pain of the past and the uncertainty of the future.

    The book is sexy, heartbreaking, and undeniably a great start to a new series. Great job Larissa Ione!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Wonderful!

    I just loved this book. There was so much suspense in every chapter. All the characters were great and the story was a real page-turner. I couldn't put it down. It was easy to read and I was sad when it was over. Starting the next one right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2014

    Great New Series! This is the first book a new series by Lariss

    Great New Series! This is the first book a new series by Larissa Ione and I loved it! It has a great twist on the Vampire lore and what would REALLY happen if humans found out Vampires were real. It follows a woman whose family made billions on turning vampires into the perfect "servants". She paints a fairly realistic picture of how humanity as a whole has acted in the past and will in the future. Ms. Ione has done a good job with building a world with characters we are going to want to see more of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Realy good.

    Otiginal idea and excelent writing.are definatrly the high point og this novvel.mm The relationship between the two main characters
    ?.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Vampire at meah

    Lets jusrpt use 3 for now cause u naughty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Text me if u dare

    Write more wat it is about pl?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    I'm a huge fan of Larissa Ione's Demonica series, so I didn't ex

    I'm a huge fan of Larissa Ione's Demonica series, so I didn't expect anything less than an action packed, paranormal romance with extremely likeable characters plus an amazing plot, and that's exactly what I got!




    The Moonbound Clan Vampire series is about a group of warrior vampires that are trying to live their lives without being captured and used as slaves by humans, Riker second-in-command has a big problem with humans, stemming from twenty years ago when his mate Terese was caught and made a slave for the Martin family whom are responsible for creating the Daedalus labs that experiment and torture vampires, after her death Riker doesn't believe that there's good in any humans, so when he kidnaps Nicole the heir to the company (after most of her family were slaughtered by their vampire slaves when she was younger) in return for a female vampire Neriya , he discovers that not only will Nicole's brother (her last remaining relative) betray her, but just maybe he may find something in her that he has been missing since Terese's death.




    The interaction between these two is interesting, there's no insta-love here, at first they both hate what one another is for obvious reasons, and then a slow forming attraction gives way to sizzling chemistry and a passion that neither have ever experienced before,




    The concept and world-building of this series is what kept me unwilling to put down this book, I cannot wait to see what happens in the rest of the series.




    Larissa is an author you need to start reading a.s.a.p if you haven't already, this lady knows how to write great paranormal romances.




    A great start to this all new take on vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Bound by Night  By Larissa Ione Bound by Night is a new twist on

    Bound by Night 
    By Larissa Ione
    Bound by Night is a new twist on the urban legend of Vampires. It is a dark look into the human psyche, looking into the dark reaches of man mind and how they treat those different from themselves.  Vampires live among us, born as legend says from Native American tribes over 400 years before this book takes place.
     The legend states that two warring chiefs killed each other and Crow and Raven fought over their dying bodies, creating the first vampires. But this is not the thrust of the story, humanities reaction to the growth and divergence of vampires has changed many things. First it was a threat, and then it was a desired ability or resource. Then the Martin family found it to be a trade, to trade in vampire slaves.  People that were captured and acquired that were vampires were considered a different breed. They could be defanged and used as slave labor, either as manual labor, for the home or business or for the sex trade. This monopoly gave the Martin family power. Power that corrupted like it always does. 
    Nichole is the surviving daughter of the Martin family. She had watcher her family die in a slave uprising that nearly claimed her life.  She survived because of the scientific development of a serum against vampirism.  But her body rejected the serum in strange ways. At her majority when she was beginning to find her way into the family business, things began to crumble. She was blamed for the deaths of vampires at one of her facilities, she was kidnapped. Both incidences brought her to the realization that she did not know what she was getting into.
    This is a great start to a series that may rewrite the whole idea, and mythos of the vampire genre. Bound by Night is a great story that will change how people look at vampire stories, and what our world is like. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A new series by Demonica author, Larissa Ione, is a great read t

    A new series by Demonica author, Larissa Ione, is a great read that is more than just your usual flat romance/erotica novel.  I am a huge fan of her Demonica series, so when I seen she had a new novel out I couldn't wait to get my hands on it!   I received this ARC in exchange for a honest review.  Well, I can say I wasn't disappointed in the least and I can't wait to get the next novel in this series.




    This is the first novel in the MoonBound Clan Vampires Series.  Yes I said vampires.  Now, don't groan.  I know some of you are thinking oh yeah, just what I was waiting for yet another vampire novel.  Now I will agree, this particular genre has been a bit overdone especially since the Twilight/True Blood phenom.  But Ione has added an original twist to her vampire lore.  Ione has intertwined vampire lore and the Native American heritage in a way that is unique and very engaging.  




    In Bound by Night, there are no sparkly vampires or vampire night clubs.  Instead vampires are hunted and enslaved; seen as nothing more than animals fit only to serve humans.  Vampires are the new slave trade, and Nicole Martin's family has made a fortune selling and exploiting vampires.  That is until a slave rebellion changed Nicole's life forever.  




    Riker is a turned vampire.  Ex-military and commanding member of the MoonBound Clan, he hates humans.  His mate was taken and turned into a slave by the Martin family and he blames them for her death.  So when the opportunity arises to kidnap one of the last surviving Martins, who happens to be head of a vampire research company, he jumps at the chance.   




    The novel's characters are strong and engaging.  Each one has allowed their own prejudices to be the driving force behind their own lives.  But events force them to face their own preconceived notions throughout the course of the story.  One thing I enjoyed about this novel is that is Ione used paranormal romance to highlight greater societal issues.  The characters in this book are reluctant to believe the other isn't a horrible monster.  They are happy living in their own bubble of hatred and it isn't until they are forced to burst that bubble, to ensure their own survival, that they truly begin to challenge their own views.     




    The writing was well done.  The story moved at a pleasant pace, I never felt things were bogged down or moved too quickly.  The lemony scenes are tastefully done.  There is no slurping or squishy noises, honestly why do writers put those things in books?  This isn't a smut for the sake of smut kind of book, which have their place don't get me wrong.  The sex between the characters is important and serves as a turning point.




    I will go ahead and tell you, there is no cliffhanger but events are set in motion for the next book.  The next book is due out soon so you won't have long to wait for the next installment.  So happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Words fail me

    At this genre combo no receipes for blood building?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5