Customer Reviews for

Bound by Night (Moonbound Clan Vampires Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

This new series is tantalizing, fresh and hypnotic. This is a great new series that rates up there with the BDB series from JRWard. I am hooked and can't wait for the next chapter (can't wait for Myne's book)

posted by sd223 on September 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It was an OK read for me as well.   It took about 35 pages befor

It was an OK read for me as well.   It took about 35 pages before I could feel commited to continue, I almost gave up.
I do love Ione's books, but this was very predictable for a new series.  You can read other reviews for the storyline.
It does have interesting concept...
It was an OK read for me as well.   It took about 35 pages before I could feel commited to continue, I almost gave up.
I do love Ione's books, but this was very predictable for a new series.  You can read other reviews for the storyline.
It does have interesting concepts, but overall the plotline (different but predictable) and characters (stereotypical) fell flat.  How many times did we have to 
hear the internal dialogue of each character whining about their feelings and miscommunications?  I felt like I was in a bad romance novel.
OK, we get it already....With Ione's extertise, you'd think she'd be able to come up with other conflicts for the characters to mull over.  It also seems like Hunter will be the next book, and then perhaps Myne.  Hunter wasn't interesting on any level, and Myne was only slightly more interesting.  This is not a good start for a new series I can wait to read.  This is not a series on my can't wait  until  the next one list.   

posted by Luv2readNYC on September 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Awesome!

    This new series is tantalizing, fresh and hypnotic. This is a great new series that rates up there with the BDB series from JRWard. I am hooked and can't wait for the next chapter (can't wait for Myne's book)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Major squueeeaaaaa! Another kick-butt book by Ms. Larissa Ione.

    Major squueeeaaaaa! Another kick-butt book by Ms. Larissa Ione. This woman is like one of my favorite authors EVER!!!!!!!!!!!! She's got another book coming out later this year (Reaver's story) that I'm aching to read, but let's focus on this book, shall we?




    Bound by Night is the first book in Ms. Ione's new Moonbound Clan Vampires series, a totally different world from the one created for her Demonica/Eternal Riders series. In it, vampires are known to humans and are pretty much second class/slave-class citizens. There's a movement to free all vampires, but they haven't gotten there yet.




    Nicole was born to a human family who created much of the vampire-controlling technology and drugs out there. When she was a child, her family's vampire slaves rose up and killed everyone but her, and even she was savaged by one of them. Understandably, she grew up totally anti-vampire, yet she focused on them in her biologic research.




    Riker's wife once belonged to Nicole's family. He was never in love with her as it was a clan marriage, but he understandably has some definite hatred for Nicole and what she represents (she's recently become CEO of the entire corporation her family owned, over her half-brother who's not very happy about the situation).




    This book does a lot of world-building, getting to know the environment for which characters will move. There's the evil corporation that's doing research on unwilling vampire subjects (it's technically illegal to kidnap/research on vampires, but what the law doesn't know......), opposing vampire clans, all along a very interesting take on how vampires came to be.




    Nicole and Riker are thrown together when Riker kidnaps Nicole in hopes of rescuing a rival clan's healer. She quickly learns there is more to vampires than the savagery she witnessed as a child, and that the vampires are much more than simple savages in need of being domesticated. Nicole is smart and brave, even compassionate toward one who she believes killed her beloved nanny in childhood (Riker, who of course turns out to not have killed the nanny at all).




    The plot is complex and incredibly rich. I totally love this new world of Ms. Ione's and will eagerly be waiting for the next book in the series! 5-star rating without a doubt.




    Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    I couldn't put it down. Just as amazing as BDB. Can't wait for t

    I couldn't put it down. Just as amazing as BDB. Can't wait for the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Excellent!

    Love Larissa's books and this one is a fantastic start to a new series. Excellent book that you won't want to put down. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Fantastic

    Great twist on vampires. Excited for more stories!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    I read a lot of vampire novels. Sometimes I get tired of the sa

    I read a lot of vampire novels. Sometimes I get tired of the same old thing - a lot are the same type. This book was refreshingly different. Vampires enslaved by humans. Just different. Enjoyable read that I would definitely recommend.
    Thanks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Real page turner

    This is a great book•It keeps you wanting more•I am looking forward to the next book in the series•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2014

    To say that I am surprised that this is a great book is a comple

    To say that I am surprised that this is a great book is a complete and total lie! I have read every book in Larissa Iones Dominica series and have been patiently waiting for her next book to come out in December. I have received this book as an ARC from Netgally for my honest review.

    At 8 yrs old Nicole Martins life came crumbling down when her family is massacred during a rebellion her families vampire slaves. Barely making it out alive she has used the experience to help her focus on creating a vaccine against vampirism.

    Riker, a member of the wild vampire Moon Clan, has hated the Martin family for years because the Martins kept his wife as slave. When Riker tried to help her escape his wife and unborn child were killed. When the Moon clan finds out the Martin family has something they need or all hell will break loose; Riker will stop at nothing to get back what his clan needs.

    When you throw two wounded souls into situations were it boils down to help each other or die if you work alone Riker and Nicole know that it is a no brainer what the decision will be. Together Riker and Nicole do the unthinkable, but can they ignore the pull of the full moon, the pain of the past and the uncertainty of the future.

    The book is sexy, heartbreaking, and undeniably a great start to a new series. Great job Larissa Ione!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Wonderful!

    I just loved this book. There was so much suspense in every chapter. All the characters were great and the story was a real page-turner. I couldn't put it down. It was easy to read and I was sad when it was over. Starting the next one right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2014

    Great New Series! This is the first book a new series by Lariss

    Great New Series! This is the first book a new series by Larissa Ione and I loved it! It has a great twist on the Vampire lore and what would REALLY happen if humans found out Vampires were real. It follows a woman whose family made billions on turning vampires into the perfect "servants". She paints a fairly realistic picture of how humanity as a whole has acted in the past and will in the future. Ms. Ione has done a good job with building a world with characters we are going to want to see more of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Bound by Night  By Larissa Ione Bound by Night is a new twist on

    Bound by Night 
    By Larissa Ione
    Bound by Night is a new twist on the urban legend of Vampires. It is a dark look into the human psyche, looking into the dark reaches of man mind and how they treat those different from themselves.  Vampires live among us, born as legend says from Native American tribes over 400 years before this book takes place.
     The legend states that two warring chiefs killed each other and Crow and Raven fought over their dying bodies, creating the first vampires. But this is not the thrust of the story, humanities reaction to the growth and divergence of vampires has changed many things. First it was a threat, and then it was a desired ability or resource. Then the Martin family found it to be a trade, to trade in vampire slaves.  People that were captured and acquired that were vampires were considered a different breed. They could be defanged and used as slave labor, either as manual labor, for the home or business or for the sex trade. This monopoly gave the Martin family power. Power that corrupted like it always does. 
    Nichole is the surviving daughter of the Martin family. She had watcher her family die in a slave uprising that nearly claimed her life.  She survived because of the scientific development of a serum against vampirism.  But her body rejected the serum in strange ways. At her majority when she was beginning to find her way into the family business, things began to crumble. She was blamed for the deaths of vampires at one of her facilities, she was kidnapped. Both incidences brought her to the realization that she did not know what she was getting into.
    This is a great start to a series that may rewrite the whole idea, and mythos of the vampire genre. Bound by Night is a great story that will change how people look at vampire stories, and what our world is like. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Loved this novel

    I am in love with these characters and the fresh take on vampires
    Gimme a girl with spirit and will power over any damesel in distress
    Can wait for the next in the series I have alreay pre-ordered it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Wow

    One of my most enjoyable reads of the whole year! Cant wait for the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly recommended-you must check it out.

    Very steamy vampire story. Kept you totally engaged and could not put it down. It just took me three days to read the whole book. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    OMG. COULD. NOT. PUT. IT. DOWN. I've had this on my TBR shelf fo

    OMG. COULD. NOT. PUT. IT. DOWN.
    I've had this on my TBR shelf for a while and just wasn't up for vampires.....what an idiot!
    I started this book after work today and only put it down long enough to race to the bathroom periodically and then still thought about taking it with me.
    A whole new look at vampires and seriously intense and HOT! Without the sex it would have been great...with the sex scenes it was blockbuster! I like this world very very much and CANNOT wait to see what happens next!!!
    KUDOS LARISSA!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Highly Recommeded - a must read

    One of my new favorite authors. Couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Awesome

    I was a little hesitant to start this series because I love her LOD & Demonica series so much, but this was an awesome read and I am really looking forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so good, I couldn't stop reading! And after readin

    This book was so good, I couldn't stop reading! And after reading the epilogue, I'm desperate to get the next book!

    Larissa Ione, author of Bound by Night (The MoonBound Clan Vampires) has a different idea of vampires, which I found to be refreshing. The story begins with an 8 year old girl whose family's business is to capture & sell vampires as slaves to humans. The family company does research on vampires as if they are animals or aliens. But, the vampires rebel against the family, leaving 8 year old Nicole barely alive... 20 years later, we see Nicole all grown up and has a head full of what vampires are. Throughout the book, Nicole comes to some realizations about her family and the creatures she's been studying. I found myself hoping that Nicole would be turned into vampire. She was, but not when I thought she should or even how I thought she would. Ms. Ione built a great foundation for her characters and the world they lived in. It was an odd sort of believable to me.

    One thing I would like to have had a better understanding of would be how vampires were subdued. How were they captured? It's not really made clear here. It's obvious that vampires are stronger, faster, formidable predators. So, how did they fall into slavery? Am I left to my own imagination? Perhaps, this will come out better in the next books in this series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!!!

    So amazing!!!! I was constantly on edge about what was going to happen next! i just couldn't put the book down. I love Larissa Ione and her characters! they have such depth and passion that you feel like they are part of your family! This is a must read for anybody who loves vampires and werewolves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Great!

    This story was fascinating and I can't wait ti read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3