Customer Reviews for

Bound South

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    compelling

    From the surprising twist that made me laugh out loud at the end of the first chapter, I knew that "Bound South" was about subverting the South's stereotypes. Here's a book that reveals the realities obscured by the carefully polished surfaces--the family secrets and scandals, the suppressed yearnings and emotions, the confidences trusted only to best friends. And yet this novel's characters feel "bound" by their Southern upbringings, which create a fascinating tension as they strive for greater possibilities in their lives.<BR/><BR/>The story switches back and forth between the first-person voices of three women: Louise Parker's creativity and individuality are hindered by the expectations of her as an affluent Southern matron. Louise quietly envies the greater freedom and opportunities open to her teenage daughter, Caroline, who seems overwhelmed by it all. And Louise's unexpected involvement in the life of Missy, her housekeeper's evangelical daughter, adds an "Upstairs, Downstairs" element to the tale.<BR/><BR/>"Bound South" is funny and charming, a compelling page-turner that's surprisingly moving towards the end. While it subverts the south's old pretenses, it also celebrates what's best in its changing culture.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    very disappointed

    I have lived in the South and nothing about this book resembles any experiences I had. According to this book everyone in the South is either rich or poor,no middle ground. Everyone is prejudice and just not that bright. Give me a break, this book was a waste of time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Should have stopped with the sample!

    This book started out on such a witty, comedic note that I just had to purchase it. Unfortunately, the best part was the free sample. There are so many holes, so much that is left for the reader to assume that it really isn't an enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    Great Little Book

    I found this to be a great little book written about three entirely different Southern characters. The author was able to weave their lives together in remarkable fashion. This book holds the reader's attention from the first page to the very end with touches of humor and sadness and with realistic descriptions which makes every character come alive. Wonderful gift idea for all your girlfriends and a great book club read--a discussion guide and a conversation with the author at the end of the book makes it perfect your book club!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    nice story

    I enjoyed it because I lived in Atlanta for several years, now live in CA and have been to SF many times, so the places were all familiar to me. The story was interesting and the characters were developed nicely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Don't buy.

    This book is terrible. Horribly written and offensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Outstanding!!!!

    I loved this book! Susan Rebecca White has become my new top favorite author! Bound South was so compelling and kept me laughing until the wee hours of the morning! Being I am from the south (Carolinas) and spent most all my life living in Atlanta – she was right on about stereotypes, old pretenses and the way they hide their true feelings.

    Each of the main three characters --- so real and loved the first person narrative from each perspective. Wow, family secrets, scandals, and lots of humor and plenty of growth from the characters. I really started loving Louise by the end and would love to see a sequel as want to hear more from Missy and her dad and the possible connection to this family. Great writing!!!

    I also love the tidbits of Atlanta as lived on Biscayne Drive off Peachtree in a high-rise- (south of Peachtree Battle area) and could walk to Houston’s on Peachtree where she mentions as their place for celebration at the end of the book to praise her mother-in-law’s life. Love Ansley Park and makes me want to move back (since I now reside in South Florida). Sure miss the Silver Comet Bike Trail!

    I would encourage readers to read all her books – I loved her latest – “A Place at the Table” (excellent). It has been sometime since I read “A Soft Place to Land’ so may need to re-read. Looking forward to much more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my first book by the author. I will admit that the book

    This is my first book by the author. I will admit that the book did have it's good moments, however at some points during reading I found myself getting a bit tired of the back and fourth action. I think this is mainlu because with every chapter there are months that go by with the characters stories. Theres simply nothing in the middle. With this book, you don't get to know that characters at a moment during their life rather, you read about them as they go thorough a span of time. Some moments were sweet, witty, and pleasant while others were tiring, a bit far fetched and tedious. But, I do feel this was a good book. C+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Funny in stretches

    but it also was tedious at times.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2