Customer Reviews for

Bound by Night

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good

I love this book. So hard to put down and I would reread it again.

posted by thecollector0 on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sorry I paid money for this.

Based on the reviews, I shelled out $5 for this. Was it a teen romance? - it reminded me of the formulaic Harlequin romances I used to read ages ago. Overall, nothing new here. On the plus side, you can finish it in an hour or so by skim reading.

posted by Catahoula_Mama on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    I love this book. So hard to put down and I would reread it again.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    A must read!

    Could not put it down. Solid characters. Great plot. Leaves you wanting more. Would highly recommend. Can't wait for the next one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    readers will enjoy Bound by Night

    Drake the vampire purchased Wolfram Castle four centuries ago. Although he has modern devices like an IPOD and better facilities to stay at he never modernized the rundown castle; he comes here when he needs quiet time alone.

    After her parents died, Elena Knightsbridge moved in with her Aunt Henrietta, her Uncle Alfred and her cousin Lucinda. Henrietta has since died and Lucinda eloped. She fears her uncle who has been caressing her and insists they marry as they are not blood related. Elena flees to the haunted castle as ghosts are better than her uncle. Elena falls asleep on the couch. Drake knows a human female is inside. He tastes Elena and decides her blood is sweet. While Alfred searches for his niece, Elena wakes up in a bed near naked. Later she meets Drake who invites her to stay. Elena asks Drake to marry her in name only and he accepts her proposal. His brother Stefan informs him their sire demands he return to the Fortress for the first time in centuries. Drake tells Elena she will be safe at the Fortress though he will be punished as vampires do not marry humans.

    The Ashley vampire world is fascinating though with today's social networking I have doubts a community of human sheep and drones could be hidden from society though one could argue cults do that very well. The lead couple is a solid pairing even with her being a victim of her uncle, her host, and her husband's family. The support cast is excellent as the sheep are unsure what freedom is. Although the lead couple pulls several Houdini tricks to stay out of trouble too easily, readers will enjoy Bound by Night.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Sorry I paid money for this.

    Based on the reviews, I shelled out $5 for this. Was it a teen romance? - it reminded me of the formulaic Harlequin romances I used to read ages ago. Overall, nothing new here. On the plus side, you can finish it in an hour or so by skim reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Ok

    It was okay, I think I lost a few brain cells reading this book. But I will say it was entertaining and a nice little break from reading the classics.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    disappointing...

    Shallow and predictable story line....minimal character development.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    5 stars

    I absolutly loved this book! I have already read it several times and i only bought it a week ago.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    OK Concept, Weak Female Lead

    Overall this book wasn't terrible. I thought it was well written and for the most part the plot moved along well for me. However, I was diappointed by the female lead. She seemed relatively weak to me. She would always go along with what the male lead said and rarely stood up for herself. It's hard to get behind a character who is so down on herself.

    With that said, did enjoy the strong male lead, but I think he could have had better interactions with a stronger female lead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Didn't expect it!

    Didn't expect this book to be good at all. As a fan of paranormal romance novels-you get some good ones...but you get a LOT of bad ones. This one was great! Couldn't put it down! I'll be ordering the next in the series, and reading more of this author in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Intriguing new series!

    Bound by Night is a sensual tale of old school vampire lore, filled with burning passion and the hurdles lovers will endure to keep it. Elena Knightsbridge is a young woman who has had a hard life. After the death of her parents she is relocated to Romania to her Aunt's home. Years later and after more loss in her life, she is isolated and trapped with her Uncle who has just proposed marriage to her. With nothing to her name, she does the only thing she can do to escape - RUN! Drake Sherrad has lived for over 500 years. Times have changed and he is starting to question his existence. On the night he finds Elena in his home, he is intrigued with her. He has something new and challenging to discover not to mention tasty too. Panicked and scared, Elena runs out into the night to the only place she can go for the time being, the abandoned Wolfram Castle. The castle is far from abandoned. Drake returns home after a night of hunting and finds the alluring creature in his lair. Their attraction is immediate, but is cultivated slowly over time. Their love is forbidden and riddled with challenges. As we venture into the secret world of vampires we are taken on a journey of unbridled passion, deception and change. The story had a familiarity to it, but yet felt unique. Drake had abilities that fell into the mysterious category and these vampires really did have an old world feeling about them. Elena is a modern woman, but she grew up old fashioned due to the remoteness of rural Romania. Bound by Night is very sensual. The sex is obvious but not described in details. The acts of seduction and kissing were more in depth. Your imagination has the ability to soar and blossom under Ms. Ashley's storytelling. Her new vampire universe has some incredible twists and turns in it, along with the warm comfort of the familiar. The potential of the series is fascinating and will be a pleasure to read. I'm ready to dive right into the second book in the series - Bound by Blood - available now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love story.......

    Yes this is a real love story,no porn soft or otherwise.Read a lot of supernatural books this was better then most.Can't wait for my pre-order of Bond by Blood.Amanda Ashley my new favorite Bravo!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Very good book could not put it down

    I was very happy with this book. It has 258 pages so you no it wasnt a short short I hate those whats the point of writing a short story with an ending that doesnt have a end nut it ends!! Cant wait for the next one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Book Monster Reviews - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    BOUND BY NIGHT by Amanda Ashley

    Book Title: Bound by Night
    Author: Amanda Ashley
    Release Date: August 30, 2011
    Genre: Paranormal Romance

    A Vampire's Kiss Is Forever. . .
    Once featured in a horror movie, the crumbling Wolfram estate is said to be haunted by ghosts, witches, and worse. But Elena doesn't believe a word of it-until she spends the night and wakes up in the arms of a compelling stranger. . .
    Tall, dark, and disturbingly handsome, Drake is the most beautiful man Elena has ever seen. For centuries, he has lived alone, and Elena is the first woman to enter his lair-and survive. And Drake is the first man to touch her heart and soul. By the time she discovers who he really is-and what he craves-it's too late. Blood lust has turned to love, and Elena is deeply under Drake's spell. But forever comes at a price for each of them. . .
    "Bound by Night" is the first book in Amanda Ashley's new BOUND series.
    It starts off with Drake going back to Wolfram Castle to hide out from his family. Drake is the first born son of Rodin, Master Vampire of the Carpathian Fortress. Drake does not like the rules and ways of his people. Being the first born son to the Master Vampire, Drake is intended to take a seat on the Council and to marry a vampire woman of his father's choosing so he can breed and carry on the family line. Drake has been defying his father's wishes for over 300 years and runs off to Wolfram Castle whenever he wants to get away from his family.

    Emily Knightsbridge is currently living with her uncle, Tavian Dinescu. Her parents both died and left her in the custody of her aunt and uncle and has resided with them and her cousin Jenica since. After her aunt passed away, Jenica used to tell her horrible stories of how her father (Elena's uncle) raped and abused her. One day Jenica disappeared and the uncle told Elena that Jenica ran off with one of the boys from town. Now, uncle Tavian has decided that he wants to marry Elena and constantly tries to make advances on her. Elena, scared and horrfied runs away to Wolfram Vastle because she thinks it is abandoned and no one will think to look for her there. In walks Drake and the story unfolds..

    I really liked this story. Elena is an innocent and very kind hearted. She decides to put her trust in Drake because he is the only one who can stop her uncle from claiming and marrying her. Even after learning that Drake is a vampire and Elena sees firsthand why Drake does not want a part of the Carpathian Coven, she still sticks by him.
    Drake is bound by obligations to his father and his people that he wants no part of. He is constantly trying to look for ways out of it. He does not want to think of Elena and be with her but that's all he can think of anymore until he can't picture being without her. Drake finds himself stuck right in the middle of the Carpathian Coven and has no way out of it.

    There are so many things that happened in this story. I can't get into it without spoiling it so you're going to have to read it to find out. Everyone that has read Amanda's work before knows that there are no steamy and smutty sex scenes. They are more romantically told and not as visual but still just as great.

    I am definitely looking forward to the second book in the BOUND series, "Bound by Blood" which will be released on September 27, 2011.

    I give this book 4 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Great

    I just loved the characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Don't Waste your Time!!!!!!

    This book just drags on and on. Wish I had not wasted my time or my money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Fantastic read

    Already pre-ordered next installment!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    5 stars

    i really liked this book and agree that this is the way a vampire romance should be written

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    ok

    I love Amanda Ashley, but not to thrill with this book. I think it dragged a little bit.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Super!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great book!!!

    I took a chance on this book because i love reading vampire and supernatural books, although they are usually of the teen variety, not romance per se. I swear i could not put this book down. I was very caught up in the story. I think it was well-written and as far as the romance goes, tastefully done. I loved how sweet drake was. Melted my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8