Customer Reviews for

Boundaries in Dating: How Healthy Choices Grow Healthy Relationships

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

In depth and articulate

Cloud and Townsend examine dating issues in such a thorough and intelligent way in this book, I came away from it feeling extremely confident in my choices about relationships, dating and the single life. To their credit, they don't waiver from a solid Christian perspe...
Cloud and Townsend examine dating issues in such a thorough and intelligent way in this book, I came away from it feeling extremely confident in my choices about relationships, dating and the single life. To their credit, they don't waiver from a solid Christian perspective and their points were explored in detail. Very accessible and good examples were given to encapsulate their arguments. Number one on a list of five books I've read on this subject.

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not What I Expected

A friend recommended this book as a great tool - however, I was caught off guard by the number of biblical references and plugs for the author's other books. It was as if there were infomercials throughout.

posted by Anonymous on May 6, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    In depth and articulate

    Cloud and Townsend examine dating issues in such a thorough and intelligent way in this book, I came away from it feeling extremely confident in my choices about relationships, dating and the single life. To their credit, they don't waiver from a solid Christian perspective and their points were explored in detail. Very accessible and good examples were given to encapsulate their arguments. Number one on a list of five books I've read on this subject.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    very good book

    we got this for our daughter and I must say it was a steal at the cost.
    full of information I knew, but hadn't even thought of to mention. a real personal eye opener.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Cut and Dry

    I finished reading this. Now, I feel confidant that I'll finally meet a man that's a down to earth human being but a strong keeper sort. I may have to move to find one with lots in common on that, but still I think the authors notions to quickly recognize the one's that seems attractive but their more facade than substance when it comes to really caring about the relationship. When I finally found one that wanted to wait until marraige, I thought I'd found him, but after he forced a break up I saw that even degrees of too much affection without sex, can skip over fully developing a friendship. Then, though I publically say anything as it had to be non contest with my x threatening my life and to bully away custody to get money and a beautiful modern house against some unwritten promises, now I see that his mystery box ways of not not talking about serious things like chores, shared family responsibilities, bills were beyond my education to ask about religion, politics and family planning, and ended up with a little dictator who wasn't into well being, cooperating cordially about family roles, and even being very selfish about sex. I thought he had a rye sense of humor beforehand and was blinded by his straight A's in a modern high tech career and being a world expert in his stuff. Later, I saw that he was academically brilliant and careerwise something of a genius, but familywise cruel, selfish, and not a very strong keeper. Good grief, if I hadn't insisted on him sticking to the agreement to have at least one child, I wouldn't have been a mom at all. Nothing was perfect enough, all little faults where never forgotten, and never forgiven. He refused to listen to social and professional friends to stop picking on me, and refused to get involved in a church small group to get feedback on how to FireProof his marriage and instead became married to watching television, and being an extraordinary critique. I'd through in find out about the families culture. I didn't ask much about family background as I thought that true love is somewhat blind, but I thought wow, that explains a lot when I discovered I was married to the either the grandson or great grandson of the largest hacienda in his country, not to be specific, and I was called the pawn and he the King chess piece. He literally had me running errands sometimes 22 miles at a time, even when the baby came along, and trying to run a residence under such constraints with a staff of one dependable person, me not to brag, but it was humiliating. I do not know if I'll ever be able to use my summa cum laude high tech studies to do something really outstanding in the world, but I insist on the standards set by Christian dating to find a really solid keeper. To honor my ex, I guard my reputation and turn down any potential replacement that gets the dating gong as I say when he blows it and tries to disregard some sort of boundary whether it be married men making a pass, unmarried men making a pass or otherwise being irresponsible, I know I am very fortunate to have a child, many do not have that great blessing, and I won't blow my chance to be as best a mom that I can be on some heartless soul that would bring trouble to my family. Since I have smelled the decent roses and been blessed by such a union, I have a situation where I can rest easy on that forever developing laurel. It's lonely to go it alone, but better than loosing what I have.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    Healthy & Balanced Approach for Christian singles

    This is a great book of realistic boundaries for single Christians. It is a healthy and balanced Biblical approach to relationships. It is also sheds great light on the ultra-extremist viewpoints of Josh Harris' I Kissed Dating Goodbye. Boundaries in Dating should be required reading by all single Christians, especially those who have been exposed to the pharisitical approach of Josh Harris. Unlike Harris who wrote his book when he was barely out of his teen years, Cloud and Townsend are amongst the most highly respected psychologists and counselors of the modern Christian era. I am so greatful that this book was written. I wish someone would turn it into a video series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good reading.

    This is good reading for those of us who want to find someone special and not just someone new. I really liked it and enjoyed what the author(s) were saying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Great insights for us starting over and anyone dating

    This book really gives great insights into how we relate to each other and what to look for when we are dating or thinking about dating again. We all deserve God's best and this book can help us not settle for less than His best when dating. It helps to understand your weaknesses and strengths and see others as well. It will help you see the red flags and the green ones too when getting into relationships or trying to change the ones you're in right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    JZ

    Waits with his clothes off

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Wish I would have read it years ago

    Great advice in areas I've always wondered about. Should I say something if it bothers me or shouldn't I? After I say something, then what? Many common dating issues are covered. Using the advice, I can say, it helped. It isn't easy to take the first step in setting a boundary, but once taken, it does get easier, and can be rewarding. I highly recommend this book to anyone dating or planning to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Wonderful Book

    Must read this book. It is wonderful and shows the real way to respect your partener and have a healthy relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    You have got to read this book!

    This book was a good guideline for dating as an adult or for teens!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    This Is A Terrific Book!

    Boundaries! We all need them. Thank goodness that someone has finally written a book about boundaries in marriage as well as in dating. This is a great resource for the Church or anyone contemplating marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2000

    Move over Joshua Harris

    I highly recommend this book for any single christian looking for a mate. It gives practical suggestions for dating in a healty, christian way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2000

    A MUST FOR SINGLE AGAIN CHRISTIANS

    This book addresses all the issues of conflict we feel when we are newly single again and is also excellent for young Christians just beginning dating. If you feel confused by the world; any potential date; something is not right. This book will help you in truth and spirit !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1