Customer Reviews for

Boundary Waters (Cork O'Connor Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

WOW! I could not put this down!!

I first met Cork Oconnor in Iron Lake and I enjoyed to book but when I got to Boundary Waters, I was hooked. William Kent Krueger writes one of the most gripping tales I have ever read. Usually, I can figure out 'who done it' part way through the book. Just when I th...
I first met Cork Oconnor in Iron Lake and I enjoyed to book but when I got to Boundary Waters, I was hooked. William Kent Krueger writes one of the most gripping tales I have ever read. Usually, I can figure out 'who done it' part way through the book. Just when I though I had it figured out, Kent would throw in another twist. I would recommend starting with Iron Lake to meet Cork then on to Boundary Water but hang onto your seat- you won't see the killer coming.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Not happening Nook!

Loved the first one but I guess I will have to go buy the paperback-not paying $12 for a book that was published 11 years ago!

posted by 4441672 on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Not happening Nook!

    Loved the first one but I guess I will have to go buy the paperback-not paying $12 for a book that was published 11 years ago!

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Ouch

    Liked the first in the series, but the cost of this one seems over the top....

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    BN must bee stoned again

    $12 for the ebook and $8 for the paperback? Another author loses a sale.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    $12, REALLY???

    I really liked #1, but not paying $12 for an ebook. Will skip it and move on to #3.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Crossing all boundaries with this nook book

    I just finished the first book in this series and really did enjoy it. I came on to download the next in the series but then saw the price. I guess I'll find a different book to read.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    WOW! I could not put this down!!

    I first met Cork Oconnor in Iron Lake and I enjoyed to book but when I got to Boundary Waters, I was hooked. William Kent Krueger writes one of the most gripping tales I have ever read. Usually, I can figure out 'who done it' part way through the book. Just when I though I had it figured out, Kent would throw in another twist. I would recommend starting with Iron Lake to meet Cork then on to Boundary Water but hang onto your seat- you won't see the killer coming.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Great

    Great book. Refreshing change from all the vampires and werewolves!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!  So glad I've started reading the Cork O'Connor series....2

    Wow!  So glad I've started reading the Cork O'Connor series....2nd in the series is even better than the first.   Kreuger really places the reader in the setting where this tale unfolds.  The plot is tight and holds the reader's interest throughout.  Just two books in and we see O'Connor is an "every man" - human, flawed, tough, devoted, and "that guy" who will do his best to protect and do what's right.   Supplementing him is an assorted mixture of returning characters, including his kids, wife (or ex-wife), her sister, local law enforcement and the Native Americans who populate the area.    Plenty of twists and turns here, doesn't suspend belief (well, not too far anyway!) and is exactly what so many fans of the Thriller genre enjoy.   Can't wait to keep reading this series and this writer.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Another "worth-reading" Krueger mystery

    I'm new to Mr Krueger's writing and now an avid fan. Being familiar with No MN, his portryal of the area definitely makes you feel your are really there. Enjoyed that our "hero" is not perfect either.

    Looking forward to next Cork O'Connor episode.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Excellent. You can almost smell the pines.

    Cork O'Connor is a common man thrust into uncommon situations. These stories will especially appeal to anyone who has spent time in the "North Woods". As a part-blood "shinob", Cork lives in the world of not fully "white man" or fully Anishinaabe and needs to view the world from both points of view. The story takes many twists and will hold you interest completely. After reading the first story in the series, "Iron Lake", I am hooked and working my way through the entire series. These will be read again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Too pricey!

    Not paying that much even though Ienjoyed the first book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    This is the second book in the Cork O'Connor series that I have

    This is the second book in the Cork O'Connor series that I have read, and I'll probably read others. I love the suspense and mystery Krueger presents in his novels. This book kept me wondering who the good guys and who the bad guys were throughout the book. Thoroughly enjoyed the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Much better then the first! Great job!!

    Although I knew that Cork was going to make it through (more books in the serier)you never knew what was going to happen next. I also like the Indian culture.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Loved this Book!!

    I started with #1 in series, Iron Lake, and am now on book #4.
    Will continue to read the rest of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great !

    Couldn't put this one down either. I knew there were a lot of lakes in Minnesota, but this was a good tour of the Boundry Water area. After the first two books, I had to just keep reading right in to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Read #1 and could not wait to start #2 and I was not disapointed. I could hardly put it down at night(I'm a bed time reader), so my sleep time was limited. I loved the suspence and surprises were awsome. Cannot wait to stsrt #3, and to see what Cork has in store for the readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    gripping from the start

    I have enjoyed all of the Cork O'Connor books so far and I have up to #7. like any mystery-cop book you get the story of the crime,but what I like is all the local flavor too.you get a lot of history reading this series.did I like it--- you bet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    W K Krueger does it again!

    Got into the Cork O'Connor series with #1 and just had to go for the second. Excellent writing, great book. I just purchased #4, 5, and 6, so that should say something! He really does bring the characters out and you end up sympathizing, getting mad, and definitely reading after you should be going to bed to find out what happens. WK puts just enough twist to keep you guessing. In this one, keeps you guessing what happens to young singer Shiloh as Cork and others all try to get to her first. The good guys, or is that the bad guys... get it, read it, and find out...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    I was unable to put it down.

    I loved the whole series from book #1 to book #11 which I just finished.
    These books havve action, nature, and intrigue. They took me away. Fabulous descriptive quality. You are there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Well Done

    Good, strong story. Can keep you up late at times! Main story is suspenseful, well plotted. Some sub-plots continue from 1st book, but it's not necessary to have read it to follow them here. You'll be 'read in'. Thought this might last me during a busy 2 week vacay. NOT! Ordered a second book for the second week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6