Customer Reviews for

Bountiful Container: How to Create Container Gardens of Vegetables, Herbs, Fruits, and Edible Flowers

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    Excellent Reference/Good Results

    This book is now my favorite garden reference. It makes easy gardening realistic for all of us, whether we have a full yard or a tiny patio. It is a practical, well-written book, and gets results. Whatever your favorite fruits or vegetables, they totally instruct what to do from planting to harvest. If you are going to grow and tend plants, why not eat what you grow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    This book has started me on my way to a great containder garden

    The call this book "the bible for small space gardeners" for a reason. I use this book frequently. I am new to container gardening and this book has started me on my way to a successful container garden. Also has helpful ideas on plants that compliment in each other visually for appealing containers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Wonderful for a newbie like me

    I have just started the process of learning more about gardening--vegetable gardening in particular. This book was wonderful for me. They give you ideas for questions to ask yourself as you go through the steps of planning a good container garden. My one problem is that I live in Arizona which makes general books like this to follow to the letter--our summers are not like the ones typically discussed in this book. So I am still looking for information about vegetable gardening in Arizona in particular. But for what I needed--general information about vegetable gardening in containers--this book was spot on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    I LOVE this book!

    This is really the 'Bible' of container gardening. It's packed with tips and creative ideas, as well as facts about soil, pH, sun/water requirements, soil depths, etc. for a wide number of plants. They even tell you cultivars that are more appropriate for container gardening and whether certain plants should be started indoors 'and when', bought as plants or started as seeds, how to trim roots and prune trees/plants, how to transplant, feeding schedules, how to mix custom soil for your specific plants, how to make your garden aesthetically pleasing, etc. etc. etc... Very, VERY helpful book with inspiring ideas. I only had it for about 3 weeks from the library and now I am buying it. Great read, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    WOW! Terrific for newbies

    This was one of my first container gardening books and it is destined to be my last! Everything you could ever want to grow (and eat) in a container is in this book. The authors give fail proof direction from planning which containers and plants to use to what is the best soil and container placement for maximum results to...just everything. I haven't found a hole yet! Great for the newbie container gardener!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Comprehensive & Worthwhile

    I'm an avid gardener who gave this book to help a beginner get started. The book was informative and would be a worthwhile addition even to my own library. I try to keep my library small; but this book is worth it's space.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    The Bible for Container Gardeners

    This book is awesome! If you can't learn to grow a veggie garden with the help of this book you might want to try another hobby! The information is written everyone, beginners to old pros. Easy to read and full of useful tips with a bit of humor thrown in for everyone's enjoyment. Thank you Rose Marie and Maggie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    If you are just getting started....

    this is the book for you. I live in a condo and want to start growning some of my own veggies. This book had all the info I needed. Very comprehensive! I highly recommend this book if you are just getting started in container gardening. I can't wait for summer; let the experimenting begin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    A handy reference book

    this book is full of helpful information to use everyday in storing and using your garden harvest. I use it often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1